We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay ”
Review of Highgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leominster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highgate House
Ranked #1 of 13 Leominster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“What a great place to stay ”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times in the past. Lovely wee b&b in Leominster. Great rooms and bed is very comfy. So comfy you don't want to get up in morning. Breakfast is best bar none. Choice of cereals and fruit then a cooked breakfast that you can't fault. Will always stay here when Leominster.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Very many thanks for your lovely review ( mystery person) So glad you enjoy your stays with us and look forward to many more. Nice to know our beds are comfortable and our breakfasts are good as that is what we're aiming to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
49
16
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I could not have been more pleased with the quality of the rooms, gracious hospitality, top quality homecoming-holiday caliber of the food (and fresh baked welcome cakes). This is one of those rare B&Bs you find where the rooms are larger and better than pictured on the web. We also greatly appreciated the sincere interests of the hosts in our travel and the time-saving advice about directions for regional driving. A marvelous, excellent stay. A B&B we look forward to visiting again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Very many thanks for your wonderful review and your email, telling us all the interesting places you went to on your holiday in the U.K. I think you must have seen everything from London to,Scotland.
We would be delighted to welcome you to Highgate House should you choose to come again and perhaps spend more time exploring this lovely area. All our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston, lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

our first visit to Highgate House and we hope it will not be our last. Anyone visiting this area is recommended to the Highgate for a warm welcome, friendly hosts and delicious breakfasts.
My wife is on a gluten free diet and Margaret coped with it without any fuss.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 2 which is beautifully decorated albeit a little noisy at night with road traffic if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukholidaymaker91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
So glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and we would be delighted to welcome you back again.The Leominster area has lots of interesting places to visit including National trust properties, gardens , castles and " Black and White " villages. Your kind review is very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Many thanks to Margaret and Cyril. My mother and I came for a family wedding and had a really good weekend with lovely cakes and breakfasts made by Margaret .Cyril also helped us by driving us back from a couple of family gatherings .
Unfortunately my elderly mother took a fall during the night and broke her pelvis. Despite being woken at 3am, Margaret was brilliant and even brought a cup of tea to calm me down while the ambulance staff were busy. Thankfully my mother is now slowly recovering her mobility.
We would thoroughly recommend this B&B as an excellent place to stay with hosts who will do anything they can to help you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 132Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Cyril and I were delighted to find such a great review on Trip Advisor, especially as you'd already sent us a lovely " thank you card "

I don't think we'll ever forget your super Mum. She so enjoyed having all her family around and didn't she look great leaving for the wedding. She reminded me so much of "Nanny " who we list last year at nearly 103!!

So glad to hear she's on the mend and perhaps you'll both be able to make another trip to Leominster soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

From the warm friendly conversation when booking, to our three night stay everything was fautless. Breakfasts well cooked and a good choice of food. Surprise home baked cakes every day a welcome treat. Would recommend this B&B to anyone who appreciates spotless and comfortable rooms. One of the warmest welcome we have ever had when staying in accomodation throughout the British Isles.
Thank you Cyril and Margaret can't wait for an excuse to visit this lovely area again.

Room Tip: only three rooms all equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poolekiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Cyril and I were delighted to discover your wonderful review on Trip Advisor and want to thank you very much for taking the time to write it.
As you can probably tell, we really enjoy having all our different guests stay at Highgate House.
We like trying to get guests to interact at breakfast instead of everyone whispering quietly on their own tables. We also try to make sure they visit the most suitable places of interest and eat in our favourite restaurants.
It was lovely to meet you both and let's hope you'll be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

First impressions count, and mine was very positive from the time I called to make a booking and spoke to Margaret.
On arrival I was met by Cyril, who introduced me to Margaret and found them both to be a charming couple.
My room was comfortable and clean and well maintained.
Breakfast was cooked to order as well as offering a lovely fruit salad and all the normal trimmings.
In fact the breakfast served here was far superior then a recent breakfast I had while staying at a Hilton Hotel in London.
I will be travelling to Leominster on a regular basis and will always look for a vacancy with Cyril and Margaret first.
Highly recommended for a stay in the region.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docjay06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and we'll be pleased to welcome you back, next time you need to be in Leominster.

Can't believe our breakfast is better than the London Hilton-----perhaps they'll give me a job!!

Really kind of you to take time to do us a review as it's always useful to have guests feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Highgate House is not to be missed! Cyril and Margaret are the warmest hosts, and their rooms immaculate and stylish! Everyday Margaret surprises her guests with a piece of her magnificent home baked goodies, and their breakfasts are everything one needs to begin their day with! I have returned numerous times and feel like I am a part of their extended family now!

Room Tip: Every room is special! Sorry no favorites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
So nice to find out on Trip Advisor how much you enjoy staying in our B and B but we guessed you liked staying with us by the number of times you've been our guest. It's always a pleasure to see you and find out how you're coping in your various jobs. Here's to the next time and very many thanks for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leominster
0.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
304 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
11.5 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#13 of 13 in Leominster
12 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lower Bache House
Lower Bache House
#1 of 1 in Kimbolton
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate House

Property: Highgate House
Address: 29 Hereford Road, Leominster HR6 8JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Leominster
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 120 year old Victorian property, retaining many original features.There is rear parking and it's a 10-15 minute walk into town where you will find several restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highgate House Hotel Leominster
Highgate House Leominster, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing