We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Stay”
Review of The Barr

The Barr
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leominster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Barr
Ranked #5 of 13 Leominster B&B and Inns
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We have just returned from a lovely weekend with Ruth and Tim. Their home is stunning set in a peaceful location with beautiful surroundings. Our little girls had a wonderful time playing in the garden and were fascinated with the hens, sheep and ducks and of course Bessie the dog! The house is immaculate with very comfortable accomodation, Ruth and Tim have thought of everything. Ruth kindly cooked an amazing dinner for us, followed up with a wonderful breakfast. She even sent us home with some gorgeous fairy cakes much to the girls delight! We enjoyed our stay so much that we have booked to return in a few weeks time. This is a very special place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

A family gathering meant we had to put a couple up at a nearby B&B and I am so glad we chose Ruth and Tim's home.Our guests were given a very warm welcome and had a beautiful room. Even after the family party upon returning to The Barr our guests were met by Tim who opened a bottle of his own wine to share and chat into the small hours.

A sumptuous breakfast rounded off a short but memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ph1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The Fords were dream hosts, having gone out of their way to accomodate our needs.
The B&B is beautifully kept throughout including spotless bedrooms & bathrooms and we were made to feel very comfortable throughout our short stay. Their friendliness & company was a welcome bonus too.
Delicious breakfast with fresh eggs from their own hens, would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank streamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had stayed at The Barr in the summer so when it came to finding somewhere to celebrate my other half's 40th birthday I had no hesitation in returning. We were joined by some friends so took over the whole pace for the weekend. We were greeted with homemade cakes, tea and warmth. Ruth had offered to cook for us in the evening and the meal was just amazing. All homemade and delicious. The pavlova for dessert was probably one of the nicest desserts I have ever had. Ruth had even gone to the trouble of decorating the table with banners and balloons. We all really enjoyed our stay. It was perfect - thank you Ruth and Tim!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed just the one night in September and had a simply magical stay. So sad it was such a short visit. Tim and Ruth are magnificent hosts and provide a warm and homely welcome. The cottage is cosy and extremely comfortable as was our bed. Ruth provided an evening meal which was first rate. We weren't planing to return to Leominster for some time but will have to find an excuse just to stay again. Fabulous, I think The Barr is possibly the nices B and B we've stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickinooScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The Barr is set in beautiful countryside and the house has a marvellous garden managed by Ruth. This really was as close to being made to feel at home as you can get. Ruth and Tim could not have been more friendly. Everything was thought of and nothing was too much trouble. Definitely the place to stay for relaxation, friendliness and an excellent breakfast. Bessie the dog is a character - a total focus on securing that next walk.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betweener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This place is a real find - I can't recommend it highly enough. The rooms are lovely and overlook the beautiful garden. Ruth and Tim are so welcoming and do their upmost to make you feel at home. During a power cut, Ruth even made breakfast on the bbq. My eleven year old loved it - he walked the dog and collected eggs for breakfast. We will be returning, very soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leominster
3.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lower Bache House
Lower Bache House
#1 of 1 in Kimbolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Hills Farm
The Hills Farm
#1 of 1 in Leysters
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#13 of 13 in Leominster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lowe Farm B&B
Lowe Farm B&B
#1 of 2 in Pembridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Burton Court
#1 of 3 in Eardisland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barr

Property: The Barr
Address: Stretford, Leominster HR6 9DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Leominster
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Barr Leominster, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing