We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect cottage in a wonderful location!”

Review of Owl Barn

First floor living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First floor living area
First Floor Bedroom mezzanine bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
First floor living area
First Floor Bedroom
mezzanine bedroom
The Luxury Kitchen
The Terrace
The Dining Table seats 12
The Large Gardens
The Stunning Fireplace
Fun In The Hot Tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Leominster, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Sonya828
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect cottage in a wonderful location!”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a really memorable weekend in Owl Barn. The converted barn was everything we hoped for - impeccably clean, spacious, light, cosy and beautiful. With two living rooms, a great kitchen and a long dining table, there were plenty of communal spaces for chilling, as well as comfortable bedrooms with en suites and brilliant power showers. The hot tub and the fireplace were added bonuses!! The owners welcomed us warmly and were extremely helpful - we couldn't have asked for more. We also loved the location - the Herefordshire countryside is peaceful and picturesque. We were lucky with the weather so we enjoyed walking and exploring a few local pubs.
A car is certainly advisable - taxis and public transport are quite hard to get hold of.
Overall, our stay was perfect. Thank you so much to the owners - I would certainly return and recommend Owl Barn to any large groups in search of blissful relaxation without a shadow of a doubt!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: owl barn itself - the wooden beams, huge windows, hot tub!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for being such charming guests....we hope we do see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments we are thrilled that you liked the barn so much and had such a great family break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sue L
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just Awesome”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We travelled to Owl Barn to celebrate my 50th Birthday and had wanted to rent a large high quality property for a long weekend, to be shared by 11 family members - 8 Adults, 2 teenagers and 1 child.
The Barn is nestled deep in the countryside down a single track lane and whilst it took us a little while to find the property, it was well worth the wait. It has real WoW factor and reminded us of something you would see on Grand Designs We loved the open plan nature of the Barn. All the bedrooms were beautifully furnished with really comfy beds and beautifully kitted out bathrooms.
The large upstairs seating area provided a great space for the whole family to gather in the evening and was very cosy especially with the wood burner lit. The kitchen was phenomenal - it had everything you could want or need. My only gripe was the small fridge space considering the size of party that the property can accommodate, but it was manageable. We loved the massive dining table which made meal times a real social occasion.
A real bonus was the hot tub. Even though it was freezing outside, once sat in the tub you were toasty warm and to sit looking up at the starry night sky was something quite special.
Becky the owner was really helpful throughout the booking process and was more than happy to answer any questions we had before arrival. Her son came over early evening to check that we had settled in and to answer any questions. The welcome basket of snacks, bread, wine, biscuits, milk and butter was a lovely touch as were the beautiful vase of flowers on the table and very welcome after our journey. We had groceries delivered by Tesco which turned up without any problems and with no substitutes or items missing.
I would thoroughly recommend Owl Barn - it is a real gem of a place and ideal if you are looking for a large property to share with family or friends or for that special celebration , believe me you won't be disappointed. We can't wait to return next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation and fixtures and spacious yet cosy warm feel
Liked least: Having to go home !!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review we really do appreciate your comments and we are just sorry that we missed you but glad that our son Alex was helpful. Hopefully we'll get to meet you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelsmith
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“blown away”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

absolutely class place to stay, never knew anything of the area before going to Owl barn , but the standard of accommodation, the welcoming of the owners and the whole ambience of the area has me thinking Ill be looking at going back, kids loved it especially the sky at night seeing the stars and above all the quietness of the place, no traffic sounds just peace

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: space and patio area
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Thank you so much it was such a pleasure to have you all really hope we see you again in the future!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mccluneym
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb property, beautifully finished, great hosts”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Rented for my Dad's 70th Birthday celebration. There were 12 of us at one point including 4 children between 4 & 10. Layout is superb, bedrooms & bathrooms are finished to the highest standard and the kitchen and dining area just lend themselves to having a great time!

Would recommend to anyone for a great getaway venue and worth every penny.

.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to review Owl Barn and so glad you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epask2005
Hassocks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect In Every Way - Ideal for Family Get Togethers”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My Brother and I hired Owl Barn as a suprise venue for our Mother's 70th Birthday. We were a party of 9, inlcuding a 3 year old. There are not enough superlatives to describe it. The pictures on the site do not do it justice, it is huge, all the rooms and attached bathrooms are a great size, with lovely white duvets and towels. The kitchen is vast and fully equiped with quality china etc. We cooked large meals every night which was a pleasure, I could happily live there. The owners have left everything you could ever need from candle holders to outdoor hurricane lamps. Upstairs is a truly amazing space and perfect for family or group get togethers. It was not a prob with a 3 year old and the garden and hot tub were the icing on the cake and we even managed to eat outside for 2 nights!
The owners even left a very welcome basket of bread, wine and tea! We will definately be back. Ludlow is a very nice town close by. The owners even sent all my underwear back that I'd managed to leave in a chest or drawers! We really did have a great 4 days so thank to Becky and her husband.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Space and quality
Liked least: The small fridge space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
So glad you had such a good time and thank you for such a lovely review...glad you received the parcel!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sableux
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gob smacked, a rare jewel that delivers the dream getaway you always wished for!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Immaculate, spacious and spotless. It was like walking into Grand Design or Restoration Man. The initial wow factor all of us got from the kerb appeal and the first step in never faded and lasted from the first day till the last. The original barn beams can be seen throughout owl barn and is beautiful to behold. The barn is very well converted, complete with a fully equipped spacious kitchen with lots of work surface and underfloor heating on both ground and top floor. Seriously, this is the first holiday let I have been in with underfloor heating and a kitchen that is FULLY equipped with full sets of CLEAN glasses, crockery, utensils, beautiful pots and pans, mixing bowls, serving platters, colander, huge sieve, top grade cooker and in built oven and grill etc. The lovely hosts even went as far as to prepare a lovely basket of welcome wine, bread, and snacks, there was even a pint of milk in the fridge and fresh flowers in the vase on the spacious long dining table. There are plenty of seating on the ground and first floor, and functioning TVs on both. Oh and before I forget, fully functioning dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. The bedrooms have clean linens and each one has a unique tartan throw at the end. There are lots of storage in all the bedrooms and fresh face and bath towels are provided as well. There are even soap bars and shampoo and lotion in the 2 bathrooms and 1 shower like a hotel would. I have to point out that there are also shaver sockets near each sink which many holiday letters would not bother with. Besides that, on the ground floor there is a cupboard with toys for kids and some for adults like badminton. On the first floor there is a huge wooden trunk of boardgames for everyone in the family. There are loads of novels, cook books, dvds, maps and brochures of things to do and restaurants for food so there is always something to do. And the hot tub! Clean and easy to operate so you can chill in it while your friends play on the lovely manicured lawn. Plenty of parking and most importantly friendly owner who pops over first and last day and always available for a nice chat.

The only criticisms are a lack of bin & recycling bags and cleaning cloths. The trash and recycling bags were insufficient as we used one each day and there was only one trash bag in the bin and a spare one in the cupboard. We wanted to keep the place clean but there were only two tea towels which we also needed for drying, so we ended up getting some disposable cloths in Morrisons. However these are all quibbles and insignificant in the grand scheme of things.. Ultimately we fell in love with the place and would definitely return and recommend it to our own friends and family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet idyllic surroundings, hot tub and splendid kitchen
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Oh wow thanks for such a great review ...and in so much detail!! Bin bags and T towels really easy to address ( you should have asked us for more) anyway so glad you loved it!! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing