We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic meal :-)”
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leominster
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were staying nearby and one night decided to treat ourselves to a meal out.

I'm so pleased we decided to go here - staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The food was amazing - we all commented that the food was very tasty. We all had starters and main courses - the portion sizes were very good so we were all too full to try a pudding.

If we are back in the area wouldn't think twice about coming here for a meal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Talbot Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Oh dear! We booked a two night stay through living social and left after only one night. Let's be fair here though- the problems are not the fault of the staff and are not the sort of things the staff can rectify. The noise during the night from drunks outside was both unbearable and relentless. In addition the floorboards from upstairs were so creaky that it sounded like a Heard of wilder east we're staying in the room above. The people in the room above we're totally inconsiderate and spoke loudly on their return to the room at 2am. They definitely had an excellent nights sleep as we could hear deafening snoring for the rest of the night.
The staff here however are lovely. We told the receptionist our reasons for leaving and she did everything possible to rectify the situation but we just wanted to go home.
The rooms are a bit shabby and not perfectly clean but to be honest the hotel is fine for the money it's just selfish and inconsiderate people both outside and as guests that spoil things for others. This hotel can't be held responsible for that.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My son's 21st birthday had been booked with large chain of restaurants on starting with a W and ending in spoons, at the last min they would nt cater for us as one of the 20 people celebrating my son's birthday was 17, even though that person was having a meal and drinking soft drinks they would not cater for us. We contacted the Talbot and with only 20 mins notice catered for the 20 of us, we had lovely food and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and nice, they saved my son's 21st birthday for him and all of us. Can not thank the Talbot staff enough :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here on a Groupon offer . Room 23 was fine . Enormous bed and quiet as it was at the back .Food both at Breakfast and in the bar was excellent as was beer ,So overall a good experience .Only gripe I had was when my wife requested an additional roll with her soup in the bar she was charged an additional 0.85 pence although over our stay we spent over £175.00

Room Tip: Back rooms .Go for room 23 !!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Staff were friendly but really badly trained: at breakfast I asked the waitress for marmalade as there was none amongst the preserves on our table, she cheerfully told me where I could get it for myself!! We left after only one night having booked two but could not face another sleepless night, the receptionist enquired if everything had been alright. I replied that the room was very uncomfortable. Her response was "Oh"
When you check in there should be a member of staff to guide you to your room if, as ours was, it is up 31 steps, through 6 doors and around 9 corners and one corridor so narrow you can't hold your bags beside you.
The room was moderately shabby. The wi-fi did not work. The bed was dreadfully uncomfortable. The towels were tired and not large enough.
The sound of drunks bellowing and vomiting lasted through the night until the traffic started.
We quite liked the dining room but with only two other tables taken and placed close to us and no background music (not always needed in restaurants) private conversation was impossible.
Parts of the Hotel smelt musty - must have been damp.
There was a nice, welcoming log fire in the lounge but at the adjacent bar I had to wait 5 minutes for a staff member to appear (outside having a fag?) and the selection of malt whiskys was pathetic. Well, you get the picture. Quite the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It is doomed.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We visited the hotel for lunch in the bar to earn some points on my Best Western card. The staff were friendly and efficient and there were quite a few locals in the bar. I had a wild boar and chorizo burger which I enjoyed. My wife had the steak and ale pie, but she found it lacking in filling and the pastry was too hard. If you accept that the pie may have been an exception the meal would have been good value for money. The bar looked as if it good do with a bit of refurbishment, but we could not comment on the rest of the hotel, The reception and toilets were pleasant and clean. I can now understand previous comments about the car park which adjoins the bus station and Co-op, although it does help to avoid the one-way system in the town. The town is worth visiting on Fridays (market day) when it is quite vibrant but it seems to be suffering the ills of many historic towns with a few empty shops and run down buildings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leominster
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
9.8 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
452 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
8.0 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
10.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Address: West Street, Leominster HR6 8EP, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Talbot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leominster
Price Range: £58 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Talbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Cancelon, LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leominster
Leominster Best Western
Talbot Hotel Leominster, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing