We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“very comfortable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leominster
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very comfortable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

booked a one night stay over at the talbot hotel for a wedding ,nothing was too much trouble ,the receptionists were very helpfull ,room was large and the bed was huge and comfortable ,would stay here again .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davevally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    122
    72
    25
    15
See reviews for
29
168
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Following a morning browsing the antique emporiums in this delightful town, my companion and I were in need of a substantial lunch. There did not seem to be many restaurants/ hotels to choose from, so out best option seemed to be the Talbot Best Weston . Although the interiors were a bit tired , the staff were very welcoming , and we settled ourselves in a comfortable corner to wait for our Sunday roast. We had chosen to order the lamb meal. The meat was fabulous, very tender and tasty, and the waitress had brought a large dish with hand prepared fresh vegetables, which she told us was local produce . A first class lunch at a very reasonable price. I shall be taking more friends to Leominster, and will make sure that we are there for lunch. What a treat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marjorie112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Brilliant Hotel, great Reception Staff. Would recommend this to everyone. Being a town centre hotel, it is a bit rowdy in the bar area, and too many people smoking outside, but for our needs it was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
4 Thank 451DonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here on our way to the Wye Valley and wanted to see Leominster. The hotel was in the centre of the town and very noisy at night. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was clean but tired - the hotel was old so there was no lift and we had two flights of stairs to negotiate with our cases. Originally, we were being charged £87 for a room only which we felt was unreasonable, so we go breakfast included which seemed fairer. We had an evening meal - 3 courses for £17.50 which also seemed reasonable, but we were surprised to find that tax was added to this. I felt this was underhand, although I'm sure it was written somewhere in small print. We also paid tax on the drinks we ordered. I don't think we had value for money here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leominster hotels

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived weary from long journey to find car park full. The receptionist told us locals are a bit naughty and park there.. We could walk through co op car park and use local doctors parking round corner...?! So hotel - why not do something! A voucher and/or clamp system is so easy. Locals don't stay at the hotel and pay - returning guests will.

We read hotel can get some road noise however it does not say about clubs turning out between 2 and 3 in morning and constant chanting, swearing and just bellowing. The windows are not double glazed and noise kept us awake. Again, do something, just show you've tried - maybe secondary glazing. Anything to try and provide what guests pay for - a nights comfortable sleep.......

There was a door into our bathroom from hallway in addition to a room door. Obviously previously communal bathroom but it made us feel vulnerable as my daughter and I were travelling alone. It's unsightly and offers no security.. Should do something.

We had a meal in the bar and as the waitress put my plate down the chips fell off over me and on floor which she ignored, didn't apologise, and even though I just smiled, honest......, she then told me it was my fault for moving my keys and walked off...... Ok I'll do something... I'll pick up the chips!

To the lady cleaner in the hall who followed my daughter and i in the morning and watched us struggle down the stairs and open various doors with cases and bags.... You did say don't rush you had plenty of time.... So do something.... Help with our bags or at least hold the doors open!!

Finally, to the receptionist who checked us out.... Do something...anything.... Ask a question, smile, ask if our stay was ok, tell me you've slapped my invoice on the reception. .....

Ok I'm ranting - I realise the economy is tricky and I like supporting small business but this just makes me cross. You need to show you're at least trying. Oh, and if you want to do something else, might want to vacuum and dust under dressing tables to remove mounds of dust.

One good point - breakfast. The restaurant was so different to rest of hotel and food selection was good. Cooked breakfast was lovely but to the chip throwing waitress.. If a guest asks for a well done fried egg please serve a well done egg.... How hard can it be...?! Never had to return a fried egg before...... Got to smile.....

Just wish we had stayed in a premier inn as we did night before as they would have refunded us if we had our sleep disturbed...!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
236 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Most Best Western hotels I've stayed in are based upon old historical buildings and this is no mistake, the entire décor reminiscent of an antiquated stately home - wooden-panelled walls, brass fittings, heavily-patterned curtains and slightly uneven floors.

Access is from a main road that offers good visibility up and down the street - I had no issues but owners of large vehicles may find navigating the snake entrance into the car park around the back could be a bit tight if vehicles are improperly parked. The car park itself is somewhat small (10-15 cars or so) but opens out to a larger supermarket car park - I'm not sure if that can be used as an overspill.

Check-in worked fine, nice friendly service at reception who had all my details pre-arranged. Unlike other hotels you're not required to pay up front - there's certainly a trusting element here! The room appeared well-worn with older fittings but that's all in keeping with the overall feel of the place. I found it a bit draughty from the single-paned windows but kept warm from the classically-huge radiator on the wall.

I ate down in the bar both nights, which was cosy, quiet and tranquil: the TV is over to a separate room to the side so it doesn't disturb occupants of the other two rooms, many of which sat relaxing, reading books or using wireless equipment (WiFi worked fine there). Although drinks and meals are ordered up at the bar they're brought to your table - I found the service pleasant and unrushed, the meals tasty and sufficient for my needs.

Warm pleasant stay, will definitely return.

Room Tip: Front rooms could be noisy as they pick up car park/street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PreacherKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leominster
9.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
10.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
10.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#4 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
9.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
12.0 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Property: Talbot Hotel
Address: West Street, Leominster HR6 8EP, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Talbot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leominster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Talbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda and Superbreak UK so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leominster
Leominster Best Western
Talbot Hotel Leominster, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing