We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be closed down”
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Oak
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leominster
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had the most horrible stay July 2014 this hotel should not be charging anything never been so disgusted at a hotel stay ever. Noisy, dirty, run down should close the doors unless serious investment is put in. Would rather sleep in the street do not stay here!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

REGRETTABLY SPENT THE NIGHT HERE RECENTLY, WORST PLACE I EVER STAYED IN MY LIFE, dirty , run down, damp, paper peeling off the walls , smoke detector in our room covered with plastic bag, could not find health food rating at all, toilets in the bar absolutely disgusting, this is an old rundown hotel that needs to be totally refurbished , you have been warned

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garywynwilliams w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Terrible doesn't do the Royal Oak justice, it's worse than that. We'd just cycled 75 miles and had no shower or bath or a flushing toilet between 12 of us. Had to use other guests showers before they checked in - sorry.

Filthy and smelly, staff who couldn't care, a manageress who'd rather blame her staff than take any responsibility.

A horrible experience - avoid !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Privacy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Words fail me as to how revoltingly awful this establishment is. Filthy rooms, dubious plumbing, one working toilet for 12 people and frankly dreadful in every department.

Having to share a shower with another room is poor enough , but having to use one in another room before other guests arrived to find that their shower had been used by us takes the biscuit. This is before I get to the dining experience......

Do yourself a favour and sleep in the car. Any car. And while you're at it avoid Leominster entirely -it's obviously the centre of a genetic engineering experiment.

Room Tip: Go anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puremalt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Manager and Staff where very friendly and helpful so no problem there. However, on arrival we were shown to our room originally should have been room 5 but it was changed to Room 8 which had clearly just been used by one of the Cyclists to use the shower! We returned later in the evening so was in need of sleep the water tap in the bathroom literally had a trickle of cold water and the toilet had no flusher button. I was awoken at 630-7am by awful gurgling noise from the bathroom so for sure there is a problem with the plumbing system throughout. Also the doors to all rooms need replacing as they all looked as though someone had been at them with a sledgehammer! It needs a complete overhaul and refurb although this does not affect the staff. They where so friendly and helpful so made up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel picture shows it looks like the Ritz but 5* its not. What it is, is a down to earth friendly pub/accommodation. Plumbing and décor needs to brought up to date but that doesn't effect the attitude of the staff and manageress who I found to be friendly and welcoming, nothing was to much trouble. Ladies and Gentleman stay away, lads and lasses have a good time with no hairs and graces. Budweiser on draft made it all ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Big mistake, I didn't get chance to check trip advisor reviews and I booked this hotel for 2 members of staff in haste, at the end of May. When they arrived the manager was in the car park ranting at the chef like an old fish wife! The rooms were dirty AND one of the guys got food poisoning. Oh, and if you need a receipt sending, good luck!!

Good tip, never book a hotel without reading reviews first.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leominster
0 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
327 reviews
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
9.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
10.1 mi away
Munstone House Country Hotel
12 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 11 in Hereford
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: South Street, Leominster HR6 8JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leominster
Price Range: £32 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak in Leominster, "The Town in the Marches", is located in the heart of the beautiful border countryside, where England and Wales nudge each other back and forth along Offa's Dyke. In October 2011 under our new management a new lease of life has been breathed into the decor, atmosphere and service. This Historic coaching inn is enjoying a new lease of life under new management. We have retained the olde worlde charm, and woven in new services and standards to make the Royal Oak the place to visit. The Royal Oak began life in the 1700's as a coaching inn as a welcome stop on the long journey from London to Wales. It now wears many different 'hats' comfortable hotel, cozy bar and inviting atmosphere, good selection of fresh food available on our lite bites menu, available every day. The atmosphere is even better at weekends with live acts or DJs on, and not forgetting every day is happy hour between 5pm-7pm, 50p off all pints! Click out What's On tab for more infor or join us on Facebook; Royal Oak Leominster. The hotel is a great base for exploring Leominster and the local area. Sunday Carvery £7.95 for 1 course, All you can eat on vegetables available, 2 courses - £8.45, 3 courses - £9.45 Children Under 10 - £3.95. Delicious alternatives for Vegetarians Every Sunday 12.30pm - 3.30pm. Hotel Rooms: We have 11 bedrooms available, offering a mixture of single and doubles and family rooms spread across two floors that can accommodate up to 38 guests. All of our tariffs are on a room only basis. Prices £25 for a single en-suite room (cheaper than a taxi home!), £45 double en-suite room, £45 twin en-suite room, £55 Family room sleeps 3 guests, £65 Family room sleeps 4 guests, £75 Family room sleeps 5 guests, £85 Family room sleeps 6 guests, £100 Family rooms, 2 rooms sleep 4 guests each, share a bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Leominster
Royal Oak Leominster
Royal Oak Hotel Leominster
The Royal Oak Leominster, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing