We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place deserves Zero or even less” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Oak
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leominster
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This place deserves Zero or even less”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Imagine a hotel where you’re asked to shower in someones else’s bedroom 10 minutes before they check in. Imagine a hotel where 12 sweaty cyclists have to share one bathroom with no shower, no cold water, and a toilet they're told not to poo in because it won't flush. Imagine a hotel where your steak and kidney pudding arrives in a foil tray with chips instead of mash and lukewarm horrible gravy. Imagine a hotel where an 8am breakfast doesn't arrive until 9am. That hotel is the Royal Oak. If you find my description appealing then book yourself in asap. Otherwise, avoid both the hotel and the deranged town of Leominster and stay somewhere else instead.

Room Tip: Just don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Owain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    15
    18
    136
See reviews for
42
46
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This place is shocking and if I had to write down why I'd have to spend all day writing this
I booked 7 people in they put 4 in one room where the wall paper was peeling off due to damp the other rooms were just dirty and never cleaned. When you arrive you have to pay cash the staff are normally drunk or fighting outside in the middle of the night because its also a night club on a weekend and its like every one is a pikey

TRUST ME DON'T GO

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertj334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leominster hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had the most horrible stay July 2014 this hotel should not be charging anything never been so disgusted at a hotel stay ever. Noisy, dirty, run down should close the doors unless serious investment is put in. Would rather sleep in the street do not stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

REGRETTABLY SPENT THE NIGHT HERE RECENTLY, WORST PLACE I EVER STAYED IN MY LIFE, dirty , run down, damp, paper peeling off the walls , smoke detector in our room covered with plastic bag, could not find health food rating at all, toilets in the bar absolutely disgusting, this is an old rundown hotel that needs to be totally refurbished , you have been warned

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garywynwilliams w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Terrible doesn't do the Royal Oak justice, it's worse than that. We'd just cycled 75 miles and had no shower or bath or a flushing toilet between 12 of us. Had to use other guests showers before they checked in - sorry.

Filthy and smelly, staff who couldn't care, a manageress who'd rather blame her staff than take any responsibility.

A horrible experience - avoid !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Privacy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Words fail me as to how revoltingly awful this establishment is. Filthy rooms, dubious plumbing, one working toilet for 12 people and frankly dreadful in every department.

Having to share a shower with another room is poor enough , but having to use one in another room before other guests arrived to find that their shower had been used by us takes the biscuit. This is before I get to the dining experience......

Do yourself a favour and sleep in the car. Any car. And while you're at it avoid Leominster entirely -it's obviously the centre of a genetic engineering experiment.

Room Tip: Go anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puremalt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Manager and Staff where very friendly and helpful so no problem there. However, on arrival we were shown to our room originally should have been room 5 but it was changed to Room 8 which had clearly just been used by one of the Cyclists to use the shower! We returned later in the evening so was in need of sleep the water tap in the bathroom literally had a trickle of cold water and the toilet had no flusher button. I was awoken at 630-7am by awful gurgling noise from the bathroom so for sure there is a problem with the plumbing system throughout. Also the doors to all rooms need replacing as they all looked as though someone had been at them with a sledgehammer! It needs a complete overhaul and refurb although this does not affect the staff. They where so friendly and helpful so made up for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leominster
0.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
10.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
10.1 mi away
Munstone House Country Hotel
9.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Property: The Royal Oak
Address: South Street, Leominster HR6 8JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leominster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak in Leominster, "The Town in the Marches", is located in the heart of the beautiful border countryside, where England and Wales nudge each other back and forth along Offa's Dyke. In October 2011 under our new management a new lease of life has been breathed into the decor, atmosphere and service. This Historic coaching inn is enjoying a new lease of life under new management. We have retained the olde worlde charm, and woven in new services and standards to make the Royal Oak the place to visit. The Royal Oak began life in the 1700's as a coaching inn as a welcome stop on the long journey from London to Wales. It now wears many different 'hats' comfortable hotel, cozy bar and inviting atmosphere, good selection of fresh food available on our lite bites menu, available every day. The atmosphere is even better at weekends with live acts or DJs on, and not forgetting every day is happy hour between 5pm-7pm, 50p off all pints! Click out What's On tab for more infor or join us on Facebook; Royal Oak Leominster. The hotel is a great base for exploring Leominster and the local area. Sunday Carvery £7.95 for 1 course, All you can eat on vegetables available, 2 courses - £8.45, 3 courses - £9.45 Children Under 10 - £3.95. Delicious alternatives for Vegetarians Every Sunday 12.30pm - 3.30pm. Hotel Rooms: We have 11 bedrooms available, offering a mixture of single and doubles and family rooms spread across two floors that can accommodate up to 38 guests. All of our tariffs are on a room only basis. Prices £25 for a single en-suite room (cheaper than a taxi home!), £45 double en-suite room, £45 twin en-suite room, £55 Family room sleeps 3 guests, £65 Family room sleeps 4 guests, £75 Family room sleeps 5 guests, £85 Family room sleeps 6 guests, £100 Family rooms, 2 rooms sleep 4 guests each, share a bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Leominster
Royal Oak Leominster
Royal Oak Hotel Leominster
The Royal Oak Leominster, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing