We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is our second visit,the first being in January for my birthday it was a travelzoo voucher
We enjoyed our stay so went back for a family celebration this was Saturday and it was hugely busy but even though the hotel must have been full the service and food were great
Our room had been renovated it was huge and the bathroom was lovely fantastic shower
My daughter had the family suite which was big enough to live in
There was a disco downstairs under our room it was noisy but it finished by 12 so that was ok
I am very impressed that the staff made it seem so easy to accommodate so many people and doing so very efficiently
I will stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank platform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose G, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay at Letchworth Hall Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon.

regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    420
    226
    119
    53
See reviews for
181
630
30
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were in a party of 12 stayed here for the weekend to meet up with old friends.
The staff worked really hard to please.
Our rooms were clean and well equipped.
The food in the restaurant was excellent and a great breakfast buffet. We'll done.
We will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 34 which was very quiet but would think all rooms would be the same due to the loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparky775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercLetch, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay at Letchworth Hall Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon.

regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Attended a wedding at the Letchworth Hall Hotel. The hotel is a beautiful historical building, with some great reception rooms. Our double bedroom was a little tired, the bed dipped in the middle and pillows were like rocks, and there was a stain on the sheet but as we were only staying one night this didn't really matter, but we would not have been comfortable if we were to stay any longer.

The breakfast was a buffet breakfast with a large selection of cooked and cold food. Ver nice.

The staff were all very polite and professional.

As we didn't pay the full price for 1 nights stay with breakfast, we really can't complain, but would we have paid the full price, we may have had something to say during our stay.

Room Tip: Just check your bed, bedding and pillows before you settle into your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercLetch, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Reading your comments, I am saddened to hear of your experience. Needless to say, this is not the level of service we aim to deliver.

I will be discussing your experience with the team and I do hope we may have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

kind regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The lounge area had a lovely, romantic feel with a fire heating it. However, it was very busy and so we had to sit in the additional, smaller bar area, which was not so romantic. We were standing in a queue at the bar for AGES as there did not seem to be enough staff. The bar staff did not know how to make any cocktails, which was surprising for a hotel bar, and a little disappointing. I had a pimms and lemonade, which was about £8!

The room (standard double) was great. We had a lovely view over the gardens and a surplass of cushions. There was a bottle of prosecco with glasses waiting for us - presumably instead of the advertised minibar. We did not drink this as my husband cannot drink alcohol so I don't know how much it would have cost!

For breakfast we ordered room service. It was delivered 10 minutes after the time slot we chose, and without our danish pastries or any cutlery other than tea spoons! Quite problematic for eating sausages, cereal and yoghurt! The food itself was tasty, if lukewarm.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBellerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercLetch, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Reading your comments, I am saddened to hear of your experience. Needless to say, this is not the level of service we aim to deliver.

I will be discussing your experience with our Food & Beverage team and I do hope we may have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

kind regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The food was amazing. The room was spacious and modern. I thoroughly had a great time. My wife agrees with me. Excellent group on deal. I would thoroughly recommend this great value for money deal. It was not perfect but 95 percent of the stay was excellent. The minute criticisms did not impinge on the overall experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Letchworth Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I will be passing on your comments to the team.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you and your wife back to Letchworth Hall in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Went in for a bar lunch and was directed by receptionist to the bar which was empty with no customers and initially no staff. A waitress eventually appeared who said she was doing coffees for other customers which was fair enough but she returned and still did not take an order from our party of four. After waiting ten minutes we gave up and walked out and went to a nearby pubwhich provided us with excellent service even though it was quite busy. A hotel in the league of Mercure should be able to do far better than this. The receptionist did not seem to care when we expressed our disatisfaction with the absence of service.....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DigitalDude2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercLetch, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Reading your comments, I am saddened to hear of your experience. Needless to say, this is not the level of service we aim to deliver.

I will be discussing your experience with our Food & Beverage team and I do hope we may have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

kind regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights with my colleagues.

Positive points:
+ Nice and quiet atmosphere
+ Friendly staff (though they could be more attentive)
+ Quick check-in and check-out
+ Good breakfast buffet
+ Very nice surroundings, outside sitting area

Negative points:
- Cleanliness could be better (several stains in bathroom)
- There were apparently renovations going on in our side of the hotel. We always arrived around 8 in the evening, and had to pass dirty tarps, buckets etc. to get to our rooms - not very pleasant
- My colleague´s window wouldn´t close upon arrival. It was fixed within the hour, but it´s something you´d expect the housing staff to notice...


All in all I´d say next time I visit the area I might give it another shot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzyBeeInTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent visit to the Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. However we were disappointed to find that our bathroom cleanliness standards were not up to what they usually are. Please be assured that this information will be passed on to our head housekeeper to ensure that similar situations do not re-occur.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I do hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Letchworth Hall in the near.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letchworth
2.6 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
323 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Letchworth
220 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
16.3 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,226 reviews
21.9 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Letchworth Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Letchworth Hall

Property: Mercure Letchworth Hall
Address: Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Letchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Letchworth Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished & Relaunched in Nov 09 Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel is a true 4 star hotel. Dating back to 1625 this quintessential Olde English Manor house retains many of its Jacobean features which have been tastefully restored. The Hotel is set in 8 acres of gardens including a developing meadow which attracts Mont Jaq Deer and Letchworth's Black Squirrels. Letchworth Hall is ideally located for exploring the picturesque market towns of Hitchin and Baldock & the larger towns of Luton and Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Letchworth Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel Letchworth
Letchworth Hall Hotel
Mercure Letchworth Hall Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing