We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean comfortable hotel”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
Reviewed 24 January 2014

my wife and myself stayed in this hotel weekend of 17 january 2014 the hotel is very clean and comfortable, the room was large and the twin beds were very comfortable, a very good help yourself buffet breakfast was very good. i encounted two small problems one with the toaster which took me three goes to get right and the room on a night was too hot while in bed but i slightly opened the window and problem solved, i have no worrys about reccomending this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silversurfer7346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my Boyf went to the broadway for dinner and we had a really nice starter selection but it was all downhill from there.

We were told there was pies and lasagne for a vegetarian option and then when we went up it was lasagne only and my Boyf is allergic to fairy so he couldn't have a main. He decided to just go for the veg but it was dismal. The sweet corn was over cooked and crispy, the Yorkshire was brittle and crispy, the lasagne was vile, the potatoes were also grim and the salad bar was laughable.

The roadway is a nice place to go for a drink and is probably better if you eat corpse or want to order from the menu but the carvery is terrible :(

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rusty1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

I decided against the traditional carvery option and instead shared a few dishes with friends. The nachos were fantastic- plenty of topping and the chilli was obviously homemade not out of a tin like you find in many places in this price range. Prawn cocktail, Camembert and mushrooms also good and a decent side portion too. Pudding was very good- I had a strawberry sundae. Although strawberries were a little cold and a bit hard they were fresh which is always fantastic. Ice cream was good too- not bland at all. Very tasty. Drinks were good too- I had soda water and lime and there was plenty of lime which again you don't get everywhere! Staff were friendly and I must say both "Tasha" and "Natalie" were a delight to speak to and were friendly yet professional. I would go again for sure!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank AlfieSLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent carvery, have visited several times and even when very busy as it was 22nd December, the food counter is always kept well stocked and hot. A choice of 3 meats freshly carved, a choice of potatoes and at least 6 different veg so something for everyone. Excellent choice of deserts and the restaurant has a very good decor and able to cater for tables of 2 or parties of 20++, some very nice tables set up in quiet corners/alcoves, even a romantic dinner! but not on a Sunday lunch!!. Although the restaurant was fully booked the clever layout means that you do not feel squashed up against other tables and can only see a few tables at any one time so it does not appear packed. This is a family restaurant, great for adults, kids, taking the grand parants out!, £90 for 6 adults including 2 rounds of drinks & coffee plus some deserts, quality food at a good price. Easy street parking or in the private hotel parking or the Supermarket close by, no problem. The Carvery operates every day with a cheaper weekday price up to 2100hrs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Dont know whats meant to be wrong with this establishment. After reading the negative reviews and fearing the worst, I found the broadway a perfectly fine place to eat and stay. Pleasant enough rooms, polite helpful staff and very handily located for the station. I will be staying again when I'm next in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trickytr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Thankfully I didn't book a room at this 1970 's looking dump only attempted to eat there, it was on a Thursday and and on the dirty table it was advertised as a steak night it was good value at £7.95 I was then told that it was withdrawn because it was now December on challenging them saying that it shouldn't be advertised and I wasn't prepared to pay £12.95 the manager who couldn't be bothered to talk to me or apologise reluctantly agreed to honour it via a waiter 45!! minutes after my order was taken in a almost empty restaurant (5pm) still no meal, apology or reason I paid for my drink and left never to return to this dirty hovel don't waste your time there are plenty of better places in letchworth

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank gcamfield55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay here. The staff is very friendly and the restaurant excellent -- the fact that it was full almost every meal with locals and guests was a good barometer. We would definitely stay again. We spent 5 nights here and ate in the restaurant a number of times.

Room Tip: Didn't see any bad ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 599sunlover42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letchworth
1.1 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,370 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
3.8 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Templars Hotel and Carvery
3.1 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
460 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Abbington
The Abbington
#8 of 11 in Stevenage
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Address: Broadway, Letchworth SG6 3NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Letchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
Price Range: £73 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Broadway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Broadway Hotel is proud to offer 35 ensuite refurbished bedrooms. We have 12 doubles, 4 family rooms (which are equipped with 1 double and 1 single bed), 7 twin bedded rooms and 11 single rooms. We offer private parking facilities and have a small lift giving access to our three-storey accommodation. The Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main line train station in a town centre location. We are 5 minutes from the nearest motorway and only 20 minutes drive from London Luton Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broadway Hotel Letchworth, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing