We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carving Up A Great Stay”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
West Midlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Carving Up A Great Stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a very comfortable night at this friendly hotel. My evening meal was from the hotel's carvery and it was superb, the best carvery meal I have ever had. The beef melted in my mouth! I can see why the carvery here is so renowned.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    76
    45
    17
    10
See reviews for
50
63
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gaillard, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Arrived to find small reception area at end of bar. Access to rooms was a nightmare, through dining tables and people in bar and restaurant, small dirty lift or stairs. Struggled to get through to access lift. Room reasonable but needs redecorating and window in bathroom, full of mould and unable to open. Very, very tired hotel. Staff friendly and helpful but very few staff, seems to be run on just a few foreigners and odd British. Asked for a lighter quilt, room also stuffy and noisy. Maid eventually caught us following day to ask if the throw was for us! Room not cleaned until nearly mid day. Breakfast was a nightmare, no trays to put your breakfast on, items of cooked breakfast missing, no butter, continually chasing one staff for the rest of our cooked breakfast by which time the food we had was cold. There seemed to be just one person cooking for everyone, bacon running in fat, scrambled egg solid. Parking, you had to give your registration or get a sixty fine pound fine, notices small and nothing said. Only knew. Because of friend telling me. Would not go again.

Room Tip: Stay in nearby Baldock, much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Booked a meal , a room and an evenings entertainment with the Soul Man. What a night!
Food was excellent, entertainment 1st class and the hotel staff friendly.
Room was fairly basic but very good for the price. Would stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann0ying0range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a one night stay at The Broadway. We have stayed here 3 times over the past few years when attending family birthday and anniversary parties. Over this period it has become obvious that The Broadway is not standing the test of time.

A number of small faults haven't been dealt with as they should have been over the years and these are now merging to become one big one. Old single glazed windows that rattle in the wind, are draughty and let the outside noise in. Wear and tear around the fixtures and fittings, sometimes quite heavy. The more of this type of fault that is obvious without having to look for it, the more you find when you do look, if you know what I mean.

On this occasion we stayed as part of a family group. We checked in and, as always, gave the room a quick inspection. On turning down the duvet we found that although the bottom sheet has been washed and ironed there was a thin streak of blood on it. I called to report this to the receptionist, and 2 minutes later he was there to change the bedding. He was very apologetic and brought in new linen.

Unfortunately, the replacement sheets he brought were stained as well, and when he removed the original sheet from the bed, this revealed a larger blood stain on the mattress cover. At this point the receptionist suggested we be moved to another room as he wanted to close this one to be properly serviced. We were shown to another room but on checking the bed here we found further dirty sheets.

At this point the receptionist called the Manager. When he arrived, he too was very apologetic. Both he and the receptionist were looking very embarrassed by this point, and the Manager explained that he would be taking the issue up with the cleaning staff. Then together with the receptionist he stripped the bed and fitted clean linen.

While things like this do annoy me, I am not one to rant at people who are not directly responsible for the problem, and who do everything they can to sort the problem out. However I do make my feelings known to see how well the problem is dealt with. On this occasion I was pleased with the quick action that was taken, and that a few minutes later we were told that we would have £25 deducted from our bill.

We did not eat in the hotel that day, but other members of our group who had arrived earlier did have lunch and told us they were very please with it. Breakfast was a buffet. I am never happy to discover this in hotels as the hot food is never up to the standard of a fresh cooked breakfast. Buffets can easily suffer from the problem where, when there are not many people eating at the same time, the food dries out when left for a while. This was the case here, although fried and poached eggs were cooked to order. It was OK but only just.

You may be wondering why we continue to stay here as there are other hotels in the surrounding area? The simple answer is that we needed to be in the centre of town and this is the only hotel there. The cynic in me might argue that this is the reason for the problems with the hotel. Why spend more money on it than you absolutely need to if people can't go anywhere else? I hope that this isn't the case.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

my wife and myself stayed in this hotel weekend of 17 january 2014 the hotel is very clean and comfortable, the room was large and the twin beds were very comfortable, a very good help yourself buffet breakfast was very good. i encounted two small problems one with the toaster which took me three goes to get right and the room on a night was too hot while in bed but i slightly opened the window and problem solved, i have no worrys about reccomending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversurfer7346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my Boyf went to the broadway for dinner and we had a really nice starter selection but it was all downhill from there.

We were told there was pies and lasagne for a vegetarian option and then when we went up it was lasagne only and my Boyf is allergic to fairy so he couldn't have a main. He decided to just go for the veg but it was dismal. The sweet corn was over cooked and crispy, the Yorkshire was brittle and crispy, the lasagne was vile, the potatoes were also grim and the salad bar was laughable.

The roadway is a nice place to go for a drink and is probably better if you eat corpse or want to order from the menu but the carvery is terrible :(

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

I decided against the traditional carvery option and instead shared a few dishes with friends. The nachos were fantastic- plenty of topping and the chilli was obviously homemade not out of a tin like you find in many places in this price range. Prawn cocktail, Camembert and mushrooms also good and a decent side portion too. Pudding was very good- I had a strawberry sundae. Although strawberries were a little cold and a bit hard they were fresh which is always fantastic. Ice cream was good too- not bland at all. Very tasty. Drinks were good too- I had soda water and lime and there was plenty of lime which again you don't get everywhere! Staff were friendly and I must say both "Tasha" and "Natalie" were a delight to speak to and were friendly yet professional. I would go again for sure!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AlfieSLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letchworth
1.1 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
1.8 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
purplehotel Baldock
purplehotel Baldock
#3 of 4 in Baldock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
3.8 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.9 mi away
Templars Hotel and Carvery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Property: The Broadway Hotel
Address: Broadway, Letchworth SG6 3NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Letchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broadway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Broadway Hotel is proud to offer 35 ensuite refurbished bedrooms. We have 12 doubles, 4 family rooms (which are equipped with 1 double and 1 single bed), 7 twin bedded rooms and 11 single rooms. We offer private parking facilities and have a small lift giving access to our three-storey accommodation. The Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main line train station in a town centre location. We are 5 minutes from the nearest motorway and only 20 minutes drive from London Luton Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broadway Hotel Letchworth, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing