We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homesdale

Homesdale
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Hallingbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Homesdale
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

The en suite needs a complete refurb, the room was very dated with a stale aroma and the breakfast despite being quite nice was served on a broken, not cracked, plate. Overall very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jinsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

Arrived early evening and was welcomed at the door and shown my room which was fantastic, very spacious clean and comfortable. Had an early night because of a job interview early the next morning and had a peaceful nights sleep. Free wireless internet was also useful in the evening for me.

The location was ideal for me as it was close to where I needed to be, but I don't know what the local area is really like as I was only there for such a short period.

Breakfast was ready at the time I requested the night before and was very good, plenty of options for continental and a delicious full english. Was plenty to fill me up and more if I had wanted it.

I also accidentally left my coat in the wardrobe so rang up when I got home in the evening and it was posted the next morning.

Overall I could not fault the stay and would be delighted to visit there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rich_1988_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Homesdale. The room was big and very comfortable. The breakfast was also good.

If you are very allergic, it's worth knowing they have dogs.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniina73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

We were staying for 4 nights (2adults, 1 child). We were met at the door after being dropped off by taxi and shown to our very clean, cosy and modern room. The shower was wonderfully hot and powerful, the beds were very comfortable with nice bed lining. Good choice of food for breakfast. The location is wonderful in very quiet countryside. People running hotel are polite and ready to help.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olga011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

I recently was flying out of standsted and needed to stay somewhere near the airport as my flight was early in the morning. I arrived after a long drive and need to find somewhere close to get dinner. The owner (female) gave me a couple of places for food and also suggested I could have dinner there. As I was on my own I choose to have dinner there and I am very glad I did it was lovely.

All round a great experiance and would now always use Homesdales if i need a bed near Stansted.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mccarthy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

we booked in to stay at homesdale for one night in oct 2007,spoke over the phone and confirmed prices and told the "owner" (male) that we were travelling from cornwall so might be a little late. The other half of our party phoned at 8pm when we were travlling to say we were hoping to be there by 10,was that ok? the response was ... it will have to be wont it? good start eh??
we arrived in the villlage at 10.15 and had a drink in a pub and waited for our friends who had "sat nav" to take us straight there, i phoned the owner and he said ok,we got there at 10.45 rang the bell,,,no hello or k*ss my as*, your rooms are up the top of the stairs on the left was all we were greeted with. nice!!!!! it was late we accept but he also knew we would be late from our first booking arrangement,so if there could of been a problem then say at that stage.
Anyway lovely rooms all very well presented with a nice breakfast if a little smalllish!! less is more??
we left our keys at the b+b got a cab to the airport and off we went.
when we returned to get the keys for the car all we got when we rung the doorbell was ..... you come for these ? and he handed us the car keys ...no nicieties at all just shut the door and that was and will be the last time we ever see that place.
Need to add the german lady (maybe his wife) was very nice and polite.
BUT WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE .UNWELCOMING WOULD BE TOO MUCH OF A COMPLIMENT!!!

  • Liked — driving away
  • Disliked — choosing it!!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank bottomfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homesdale, Manager at Homesdale, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
Well, What would you do if guests arrived at two o'clock in the morning, been sick at the front door, arguing between them and waken all the guest and shouting at the other guests!
We we're feeling threatend by this guest and had to protect our other guests from there abuse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Little Hallingbury hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Little Hallingbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bonningtons Guest House
Bonningtons Guest House
#2 of 7 in Little Hallingbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
The PitStop Boutique Hotel
The PitStop Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Little Hallingbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stansted Inn
Stansted Inn
#3 of 7 in Little Hallingbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Latchmead Bed and Breakfast
Latchmead Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 7 in Little Hallingbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
George Green Farm
George Green Farm
#5 of 7 in Little Hallingbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homesdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homesdale

Property: Homesdale
Address: Homesdale Lower Road, Little Hallingbury CM22 7QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Little Hallingbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little Hallingbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Homesdale 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On bus route to Stansted Airport, Bishop's Stortford town centre and the railway station. Ideal base for guests wishing to make day trips to either London (south) or Cambridge (north). Both cities are 35 minutes by fast train from Bishop's Stortford. All rooms are en-suite, non-smoking, fitted with FREE Wi-Fi, Sky TV and Tea/coffee making facilities. Full English breakfast included. Continental breakfast available on request at no extra charge. Evening meals available. Late check-in and safe off road parking available. You are welcome to use our heated pool and our secluded garden. Our village has the finest pub, restaurant and post office, all within walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing