We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas eve and day visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little Hallingbury Mill
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Christmas eve and day visit”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We found the people very friendly, especially Tony who didn't enjoy the Christmas sprit but was polite and entertaining. The place is very cosy and the only thing that would make a big improvement would be the showers in the Mill area. We had a fab time and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33Sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    71
    35
    13
    27
See reviews for
63
99
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed for just one night, staff were polite and helpful. The building itself was nice looking with cosy public areas.

The room I had was on the top floor, which is a fair few stairs. It looked like it needed a bit of TLC but was fine. It was the little things that let it down. The bathroom was the main one as it was like a plastic capsule in the corner of the room, almost like a wet room with very little space inside it. There is a toilet, shower and sink in a space probably about 4 feet by 3 feet, and as such you are constantly having to step out and step back in to move about.

Slept well enough even though you can hear the odd plane go by. Breakfast was nice, but extra cost.

Shame as it could have been a good little find.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My son held his marriage ceremony and wedding reception here at the beginning of November and we were so pleased with the way everything just came together after having prior discussions with Derek the Manager. This venue is only suitable for small weddings but there were about 45 of us and it was perfect. There are lovely outside areas for photo opportunities by the canal and I should imagine in the summer months tables and chairs could be provided for guests. We were allowed to decorate the bar area and function room to our liking with help from the staff and I must say the bar area transformed to a wedding ceremony room very well indeed.and look lovely. All the food was great and so much so that lots of guests had two helpings of the hot buffet! Some guests stayed the night and said the rooms were good, clean and adequate.
Without a doubt Derek and his staff were fantastic and helped in any way they could to make the happy couple's wedding day very memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greeneyes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Having held our wedding here a year ago we returned for our anniversary. Once again i was very impressed. I love this little hotel for its setting, its friendly welcome and the quaint and quirky building.The food is pretty good too. It is fantastic value for money and I wanted to review it again because it is equally as good this year as it was last.

Room Tip: Top floor in the Mill (there is no lift and they are up a rickety staircase so not suitable for thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

After just coming back from this quiet and friendly place from a family wedding i had to make sure it was known that we had a superb night and it was worth the money we spent. Derek and his staff was friendly and attentive at all times and even treated our 4 children as little guest instead of running everything through me and my wife.Thank you Derek and staff for being so kid friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Decent sized, clean room; proper breakfast (the type which makes lunch a very optional extra); lovely bar area and good food in the evening. All in a converted mill in a super setting.

And all this for less than staying in the Days Inn up the road and "dining" in McDonalds.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveKnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at Little Hallingbury Mill for three nights - it was good value for money, not expensive. We were in the annexe next door to the Mill itself, room was a good size, would have accommodated two children in bunk beds if required ( but we didn't require!). Decor was a little shabby and the bathroom was a bit basic, but it did the job. Wifi was 'available' in the bedrooms, but the signal was poor. Location was lovely, situated at the end of a small quiet lane next to the canal and a tiny marina. Evening meals were available, good food if a little overpriced. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Hallingbury
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,512 reviews
2.9 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,626 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Manor Of Groves Hotel
Manor Of Groves Hotel
#1 of 1 in High Wych
623 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
411 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Hallingbury Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Hallingbury Mill

Property: Little Hallingbury Mill
Address: Gaston Green, Little Hallingbury CM22 7QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Little Hallingbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Hallingbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Hallingbury Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Little Hallingbury Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Hallingbury Mill Hotel Little Hallingbury
Hotel Little Hallingbury
Mill Hotel Little Hallingbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing