We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot still to do”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little Hallingbury Mill
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lot still to do”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

From other reviews I see the current owners took over in February and they are planning a refurb. So fair enough they need time to do this and find their feet. Having said that the signs are not good. There are some simple basics that don't need time and investment that we found were not met on our recent visit.
Firstly, the welcome. There was none. No smile, or welcoming words just a perfunctory 'here is your room'. No information was offered concerning the hotel, room, dinner, breakfast. There was no information in the room.
The room needed upgrading but was ok and the bed comfortable. Although the upgrade is planned I feel some basics could be done now. A coat of paint perhaps. The TV was on a side table next to the main bed. Basically because the aerial point was behind the bed and the cable was very short. It would take no time at all and cost little to put in a longer cable to put the TV in a practical position.

We ate there and whilst it was a bit slow, considering there were only 2 other people there, that was fine. The food itself was very mixed and largely average. My wife's starter was meant to be goats cheese on crostini. It wasn't crostini, it was soggy bread. I had ribs which were lovely, the highlight of the meal. We both had baked cod with Mediterranean roasted vegetables. The cod was over cooked and dry. The Mediterranean veg consisted largely of mashed swede, not my idea of Mediterranean veg and not something to go with baked cod. I had a chocolate mousse for dessert. Whilst it tasted nice it was not a mousse. It was more like a glass full of chocolate truffle. It was rather heavy.
The waiter was a very nice young man but simply not very good at waiting. Again it was basics. Having to ask for cutlery, forgetting what had been ordered and having to return to ask again, not clearing the table in good time. For us it wasn't a problem but I can see other more demanding guests getting very irked.

The location is lovely and has potential but it needs to improve quickly else I fear for its viability.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauldave99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Little_Mill, Owner at Little Hallingbury Mill, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
The team were saddened to read your review this morning and I have spoken individually to all those concerned who were working yesterday regarding your comments and experience. The greatest frustration for us as the owners, is that we have only found out through review that things were not right for you as you did not come to checkout which would have been our other opportunity to speak with you.

We have a very firm policy that if food is not to our guests liking (through fault of our own), we will always offer a different dish or cook a new dish from scratch - we only wished that this had been pointed out as we have not been given the chance to put things right. We do not offer 'ping and ding' microwave food, which is why food sometimes takes a little longer to cook and we do make all of our dishes from scratch.

Again we acknowledge that we took over the business in February, however, please do not underestimate the enormity of work which we have ahead of us to start redecorating and refurbishing the rooms. This won't be an overnight task as we took the hotel on as an ongoing concern and all the work does need to be scheduled, costed and then given priority as to which work gets undertaken first and with 21 rooms, this will take time. We thank you for your comments about the room and this will help us when we come to revamp the room.

Our guest directories are currently being redesigned and printed - any member of staff will do their utmost to help with any queries or information that guests require in the meantime. I have spoken with the member of staff who escorted you over to your room and she said that she did offer you information with regard to dinner/breakfast times etc as this is standard practice when we have guests checking in so I am very sorry if you feel that there was information missed or that your welcome wasn't as welcoming as you had expected it to be.

The business is viable, we are very approachable and would have been more than happy to talk to you about your concerns. We will never become complacent our business and do value any comments - positive or negative so that we always continually improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    69
    35
    13
    27
See reviews for
59
97
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge,England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just back from a fabulous lunch at the Mill. Charming and helpful owner supported by two young but able waiting staff. Lunch menu is just the ticket with either a variety of sandwiches or panninis accompanied, in our case, by a bucket full of home made chips which were to 'die for'! Included in the £9.95 price per head was a pint of beer. A real bargain served in a wonderful setting. The owners who have just taken over in the last few months have some great ideas for the future.We're off there next weekend to stay so I will report back next week.
Ideal place for a wedding or private party.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Little_Mill, Owner at Little Hallingbury Mill, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and I am glad that we left you with a very positive impression. Looking forward to seeing you this Saturday and hope that we will do the same again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

As other reviewers have said this establishment changed hands in February and thus the new owners are on a steep learning curve to get this place as they would like it. It is a very attractive property in a great location and as such has great potential. Our room was smallish with 1 King and 1 single bed (£55pn so good value). The TV was the smallest we had ever seen and was tucked in the corner by the single bed which didn't give the best view from the King size bed. The bathroom was OK but clearly ready for an update. We ate in the restaurant in the evening. When we arrived at 8 (our allotted time) we were told that a table of 12 had arrived late and would we mind waiting in the bar area. After a prompting from us at around 8:45 we were shown to our table and we ordered our main course. We were lucky in that it arrived within about 20 minutes. Others were waiting far longer. At no stage did the waiting staff or owners come round the tables and apologise for the wait. My wife had to send meal back twice because some elements were cold and in the end ate it as she couldn't be bothered to send it back again especially as I had finished mine. A couple at the next table couldn't eat their steak and got up and left. Breakfast the next day was good.

As stated previously this place has great potential and the new owners are very friendly and eager to please but to us currently lack the experience to provide a good experience. When we came to settle the bill there was no acknowledgment of the previous nights fiasco at dinner only at our prompting were we given a 50% discount on my wife's main course. An opportunity lost to put things right. We wish the owners well and hope they go from strength to strength. Maybe we will return again and this time a good experience.

.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewandMary_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Little_Mill, Owner at Little Hallingbury Mill, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We acknowledge on the Friday evening that you had booked for the restaurant, that we did have a table of 12 booked who arrived late which unfortunately caused a delay in other guests being seated which was explained at the time of people arriving. It is regrettable that you were unhappy with your food and kitchen did their utmost to resolve this issue for you and I am sorry that you did not find your experience as seamless as it should have been.

We did take over the business in February and we have hit the ground running taking over an ongoing business concern and doing our utmost to fulfill all of our guests needs and move the business forward. Redecoration/improvement of the rooms will be ongoing and we hope that if you do visit us again in the future, you will start to see the changes. Thank you once again for sharing your experience, which will in turn help us to continually improve our services for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Athough we only stayed one night we were impressed by the friendly reception and by the beautiful setting of this converted old mill. The room was small but comfortable and the bed gave us both a very good night's sleep. The owners, who only arrived in February 2014, are creating a haven of peace with good home cooking and couldn't be more helpful. This charming hotel is set around a small marina by the River Stort and the surrounding scenery looks like a walkers paradise. At £50 per night it is excellent value and the breakfast at £6.50 will set you up for the day. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty&TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Little_Mill, Owner at Little Hallingbury Mill, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review - much appreciated and glad that you enjoyed your party and stayover. We hope to see you again if you are ever over this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Visited the Mill yesterday and was made very welcome by the new owners. Had a delicious lunch and really enjoyed our visit. Very attractive setting with the river and long boats and lovely country side. Would like to go again and stay longer next time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Little_Mill, Owner at Little Hallingbury Mill, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you visiting us for lunch and we are glad that you liked the location and your lunch! If you come to visit again, bring some walking boots or wellies so that you can explore some of the local footpaths. The River Stort is just a 5 minute walk away from the hotel and you can walk into Sawbridgeworth (where there is a super antiques centre) and Bishops Stortford which is a small market town. Hope to see you again soon and thank you very much for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed here for one night with ten of my friends over the weekend after going clay pigeon shooting nearby for my hen. The location was absolutely stunning, and the moment the owners realised that we were there for a special event they absolutely could not have done enough for us. We were in the Mill House, which is separate from the main hotel, meaning we didn't disturb any other guests. The food was fantastic, and the whole stay was fabulous value - I was congratulated heartily by my friends for my find! I can't recommend the hotel highly enough - we were so well looked after, and sitting next the marina sipping our drinks as the sun went down was heavenly. This isn't the place to base yourself if heading off to a nightclub I suspect, but if you just want to share some good times with your friends for a special occasion it's perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacquiM-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishops stortford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Me and my partner had a lovely lunch here today, the owners are so friendly and cannot do enough for you. Its also in a beautiful location, the menu is mouth watering and extremely good value too. Its that nice here that whilst having lunch I booked my birthday dinner there for May.

Room Tip: Did not stay just had lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Hallingbury
2.0 mi away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.9 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Harlow Hotel
16.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.6 mi away
Manor Of Groves Hotel
Manor Of Groves Hotel
#1 of 1 in High Wych
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Hallingbury Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Hallingbury Mill

Property: Little Hallingbury Mill
Address: Gaston Green, Little Hallingbury CM22 7QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Little Hallingbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Hallingbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Hallingbury Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Little Hallingbury Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Hallingbury Mill Hotel Little Hallingbury
Hotel Little Hallingbury
Mill Hotel Little Hallingbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing