We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't wait to visit again”

Review of Rose Bank

Rose Bank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Bank
Main entrance Hall Library - books / games / pool / table football
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
64 reviews
Rose Bank
Main entrance Hall
Library - books / games / pool / table football
Kitchen - Large fridge+ under-counter fridge / Large freezer. Range Cooker
Kitchen / breakfast seating for 10
Dining Room with seating for 22/24
Main Drawing Room with open fire, seating for 22 and 60' wall TV
Playroom for our younger guests
Ground Floor Bedroom with king sized bed - easy access
Bedroom 1 - King sized bed
En Suite shower and dressing room.
Bedroom 2 - Super king - splits into two singles if required. Toddlers bed
Bedroom 3 Double bed + single + traditional wooden cot
Bedroom 4 - King sized bed splits into two singles if required. + single bed.
En Suite - Huge roll topped bath original to the house
Family Bathroom - full suite plus separate double shower.
Bedroom 5 - double + two single beds
Bedroom 6 - double plus single bed
Bedroom 7 - King sized bed
Bedroom 8 -twin bedded
Bedroom 9 - single room
Bedroom 10 - king sized bed
Pool ; Leisure area - available at additional cost see details
Terrace with BBQs / seating & tables and Hot Tub area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Lugwardine, Hereford, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura T
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to visit again”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The most beautiful house with incredible history in glorious surroundings. Ideally located being only a short drive to the centre of Hereford. Ample parking. Amazing pool and hot tubs. Not a bad word to be said about the whole weekend I stayed there. Thank you!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your weekend. Love to see you and your friends again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagginslo...
1 review
“Fabulous house, beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We absolutely loved our stay at Rose Bank. The house is beautiful, well appointed, and in beautiful surroundings. Easy to find, and in easy reach of the town too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Glad you enjoyed your return visit to Rose Bank for the groups Annual Themed Pool Party. Your costumes on the Saturday were amazing as always. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silver22
birmingham, UK
1 review
“Exactly what it says on the tin - Fabulous”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We wanted somewhere for the family to celebrate my husbands 60th and came across this huge house. I wanted somewhere that could provide space for 14 adults, 3 small children and 3 dogs. Where you could be together but also have some space. This was perfect, it is homely and lived in. My only worry was my 3 year old grandson would decide to play hide and seek, he would have been lost forever.

The rooms are huge, the cream cake is huge, there is a really well equipped kitchen.

There is a full sized fridge and freezer and a small fridge, so plenty of beer and wine cooling space.

We took advantage of the offer of catering for the Saturday evening, we had the choice of two starters and two puds and all had a traditional Beef roast. All my requests eg Gluten Free, children meals, veggies (and extra Yorkshire puds) were met and the food was delicious. Cleared away and kitchen back to how we left it.

We booked an hour at the local ten pin bowling and some of us went out to Hop pocket craft centre so plenty for all ages to do. The dog walking of course is wonderful in the area.

The owners are close by, but only if you want them. Everything is to hand and there is plenty of everything including hot water.

If you want a 'home' for a large group, where you want comfy family friendly accomodation then I would highly recommend booking Rose Bank. It worked very easily for our needs, and everyone enjoyed the weekend which is always the concern when you have a large group of people in once place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of a house that had seen many happy families over many years
Liked least: Not being warm enough outside to try out the Jacuzzi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Just - belatedly - catching up with responses.
Many thanks for your kind words- that is exactly what we hope to provide. Large, comfortable, stress free space where family & friends can relax.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place for big get together!”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Rose Bank is an incredible large Victorian house which is perfect for large groups. We were 6/7 families, 24 in total, kids from 6 to 12. On arrival the fire was lit and there was a huge cream cake waiting. We all had a great time, the kids especially so with plenty to keep them entertained - pool table, table football, trampoline, football pitch, piano, moonlit jacuzzi!, lots of games and plenty of hide n seek - playroom too though we didn't use this. Good location just a 10 minute drive to Hereford.

The house has lots of interesting period features and is clean. Endless supply of free firewood made sure we were warm enough. It was a pretty cold weekend but we were all ok. It's great value too and the fact that you are able to book tor 2 nights (most other houses require 3) is helpful. As is the 1pm vacating time. Meant that we didn't have to stress to be out for 10am, the usual chucking out time.

We have already enquirer about returning next year, so Paul - hope to see you again,

Thanks.

Julian and all

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thanks for your kind words.
See you in 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie H
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic House for Large Groups with some interesting Plumbing!”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Rose Bank for the weekend to allow a group of my school friends to get together and finally meet all the children we now have. There were 10 adults and 11 children aged 3months to 11 years. The house is huge and fantastic for a big group. The kitchen table could let all kids eat together and the dinning room table allowed the whole group to eat together. The sitting room was big enough for everyone to be seated comfortably and the garden gave space for the little ones to run off steam, build dens, climb trees, use swings and see-saws. The rooms in the main body of the house were lovely, big and bright but there was a definite servants quarters that still felt a big less loved then the rest - which didn't bother us too much as we were happy as long as there were beds! The plumbing is interesting - there is no mains water so water is from a well. I think we ran out of water on the Sat morning and then a tap was turned on somewhere and left - as nothing came out. The owners came and resolved and we got water back within about 30mins but we didn't all manage to have a shower without it being a trickle, boiling hot or cold throughout the stay. Again we managed and this didn't dampen our stay. Warning there are very steep staircases if you have small children. The house is a little tired, there are some leaks and it could do with an extra bit of cleaning but as a place for a lot of children and adults to get together and play we had a great time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space & ability for the whole group to be all together comfortably
Liked least: It was a bit dirty in places & showers weren't great
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
I am delighted that overall the group enjoyed their stay but disappointed by the negative comments.
It is quite clear, in information provided, that we are on our private waste and water systems.The water comes from the well and is pumped into large tanks in the lofts - from there it is pumped to the various bathrooms. Should any of the guests ignore notices and turn on / off the pumps then there are problems. Likewise if taps are left running, or guests fill large paddling pools without advising us, then there is a temporary 'blip' in the system.
As to the bedrooms - everyone is shown in photographs. Clearly some are larger than others but all have the same quality of decor, carpeting, furnishings,and beds.
We clearly state where there are steep stairs, provide numerous safety gates for children, and a ground floor bedroom for those less able.
I have emailed the guest who left this review but had no response
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire S
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic value”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a huge house with plenty of space for all. Having tried a number of large properties this is one of the best we have found for space. The owners were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the fresh cream cake on arrival! The kitchen had everything we needed, it was nice to have basics provided like toilet rolls, soap, dishwasher tabs etc. It took a little while for the house to really warm up (we arrived on a horrible chilly damp day) but then it was fine. The hot tub was also enjoyed by all. Showers were a little tricky to get the temperature right but nothing that worried us, and there was loads of hot water. Overall a great weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge and dining space
Liked least: Showers
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
So pleased you and your family (and dogs) enjoyed your long weekend. Would be delighted if you joined our - growing - list of regulars! We do give a discount to 'returnees'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOFisgod
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Had an Amazing Time in an Amazing Place”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

20 of us traveled here from all over the south and would like to say what an amazing time we had. It was a friends 40th and we all wanted to celebrate together and a friend found this place on the internet. What you must remember is that this is a very old house and ok could do with a bit more TLC but we all thought it added to the charm.When you get 20 adults (he says loosely) running around a house of this size playing Sardines you know you cant go wrong. We did go through a lot of wood on the open fire but at no point did we think the house was cold maybe that's us. The hot tub is amazing just a shame they dont have two next to each other for that amount of guests. I will point out that the wall next to the hot tub is very slippy so if you do intend on running across it completely wasted at 3 in the morning be careful as i found out the hard way. Brilliant house, brilliant time thank you. Local pub serves really good food at lunch time for a fiver. And look out for the cats we named one Pom Pom as you will find out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Having to Leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing