We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ford Abbey

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pudleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ford Abbey
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pudleston
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2006

My wife and I travelled up to this property as a pre-Honeymoon Honeymoon directly after our wedding after hearing reports from our parents about how amazing the place was. It was a break between our wedding and Christmas, after which we travelled to South Africa for our official honeymoon.

We were not disappointed!

Our visit was short, but after our hectic build up and beautiful wedding on December 18th 2005 it was just what the doctor had ordered. The room we stayed in was fabulous and the large bathroom and four poster were truly luxurious! Instant friendliness welcomed us as we were shown to our room and where to park.

Dinner each night was a true dining experience - the fact there was no menu made, for us, the evenings more special.. almost as if we were eating at a friends house rather than a contrived restaurant. Indeed, appetisers began in the lounge with a Gin and Tonic from the well appointed honesty bar. The chef was relaxed, friendly and we got on with him really well - he really made us comfortable and had a real passion about good food. I have never eaten so much and normally have a smallish appetite but here I couldn't get enough of it! Here was a kitchen you could simply pop down to at any time and snack with the chef - not a lot of holiday locations can offer that!

The attached swimming pool was excellent and a real bonus, though we had trouble with some of the gym equipment which appeared to need servicing.

If you want to shut yourself away and absorb yourself in total luxury and romantic relaxation in the UK - go here!

  • Liked — Instant relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leaving at the end of the trip
  • Tips/Secrets — If you are fussy with food, be sure to make friends with the chef!
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GatsoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2005

Attentive staff, rickety rooms and almost fairy-tale settings. Food was good - but watch your tab, as it's not cheap.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean_of_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2005

We stayed 4 nights and dined in several times. After 15 years of travel in UK (and not caring what the cost might be) I have to say Ford Abbey was perfect as in heaven! Tranquil, beatifully located, stunning decor, delicious food, great athmosphere, caring staff. For dinner the menu offered all the time 3-5 possibilities to choose per course and the food was very ambitiously prepared and simply perfect. Cant wait to stay there again.

Helpful?
3 Thank jrosen1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2004

I stayed in Ford Abbey in May of this year.

We fell in love with the place and the countryside and the room (Bee Suite) was beautiful.

The dinner though was a different matter entirely and was horrible.
I had specifically informed them that we do not eat fish but it was a fish soup as a starter. The beef for the main course was extremely tough and among the vegetables were onions still in there skins! The desert was a pineapple and ice-cream dish.

Not the sort of meal I was expecting for the price of £35 per person. For that sort of money you would like to expect choice (or at least your dietary preferences considered) and for the food to be of a high standard.

If you want the standard of food to match the price - book a table elsewhere in Herefordshire.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2004

Visited Ford Abbey 19 & 20th October. We stayed in the Bee room which was beautiful, in fact, all of the rooms ie. lounge/library and dining room are all exceptionally decorated to a very high standard.

We had booked to eat in the restaurant on the Friday night and told dinner would be at eight.

On arrival at the lounge, we were extremely suprised to learn that there was no menu for dinner. We didn't know what we were eating until we sat at the dining table.

Although the meal was good, I did not like the fact that I had no choice of what I was going to eat.

The excuse they give for this is that the Ford Abbey is a B & B not a hotel and that it has a small kitchen. This is fine as long as you are paying B&B prices and not that of a five star hotel.

I probably would stay here again because it was very relaxing but I would make sure I had a table reservation elsewhere just in case I didn't like what was for on the menu for dinner.

Helpful?
8 Thank NEnright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pudleston
11.5 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
4.2 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
12.1 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
10.1 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ford Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford Abbey

Property: Ford Abbey
Address: | nr. Leominster, Pudleston HR6 ORZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Pudleston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pudleston
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ford Abbey Pudleston, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing