We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B, very handy for Stansted.”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White House
Ranked #4 of 15 Takeley B&B and Inns
Southend
1 review
“Great B & B, very handy for Stansted.”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed overnight at the White House as it is a 10 minute cab ride to Stansted. The B & B is very comfortable and clean and the Breakfast was excellent. The couple that run the White House also run a pub which did a good evening meal just down the road.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    9
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
24
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed one night along with some friends to attend a friend's 40th Birthday party nearby. The hotel is very close to Standsted airport, but you aren't disturbed by aircraft noise at all.

The house is set in a lovely big garden setting which our children enjoyed running around in! It is handy to the M11 and for local pubs and takeaways.

The hosts are very welcoming and trustworthy to open up their house to you. We had all 3 rooms upstairs, which all had their own bathroom and lovely huge comfy beds!

A very nice breakfast with fresh fruit platter, yogurts, cereals and fry up!

Thanks for your hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed here overnight, the accomodation was spotless, modern, the bed and soft furnishings sumptuous and the owers very helpful and accomodating. Breakfast was a real treat and the fresh fruit platter excellent. As previous guests also found there was very little noise despite being so close to the airport. We arrived late after a delayed flight and Mike stayed up to great us and show us our room, which was delightful and the listed cottage did not disappoint. I will return to stay here again and again if passing through Stanstead and am tempted to book a getaway weekend, just for the pleasure of staying in this delightful guesthouse. We would also recommend lunch in the Lion and Lamb down the road, if you can manage the huge portions of delicious traditional food.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerri0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We have just returned from our stay at The White House which is ideally located near Stansted airport but you would never know as it was peacefully quiet. The rooms are light, airy, immaculately clean with sumptiously comfortable beds. Powerful showers and what appears to be underfloor heating in the bathroom! We had a wondeful stay, although far too short and enjoyed a magnificient English breakfast, fresh fruit platters and delicious fresh coffee. We could not have asked for any more. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mama1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Stayed here for our friends 50th birthday who lives in takeley.
Lovely old Beamed Cottage in lovely surroundings, very welcoming owner.
Lovely Room, fantastic power shower, lovely Breakfast especially the fresh fruit, Lovely cooked breakfast, Was great value worth a visit, very close to Stansted Airport but could not hear the planes.
Thanks for for a lovely stay

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NORRISCOUPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takeley
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,167 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little Bullocks Farm
Little Bullocks Farm
#1 of 15 in Takeley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: The White House Smiths Green | Dunmow Road, Takeley CM22 6NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Takeley
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Takeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a delightful 15th Century Grade II listed manor house set in one acre of attractive gardens providing a relaxing atmosphere for all. Having been awarded 4 Yellow Stars by the AA for its outstanding facilities and service and the prestigious Enjoy England Silver Award, The White House is also highly recommended by the English Tourist Board. Having been refurbished by Mike and Linda, The White House offers first class bed and breakfast accommodation in comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Takeley, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing