We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
48
10
4
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
10
4
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews down the road fresh fruit cooked breakfast the pub lovely room stayed here full english stansted airport the owner after midnight would highly recommend this place next morning lovely place minute drive warm welcome stay there again toast
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed one night along with some friends to attend a friend's 40th Birthday party nearby. The hotel is very close to Standsted airport, but you aren't disturbed by aircraft noise at all.

The house is set in a lovely big garden setting which our children enjoyed running around in! It is handy to the M11 and for local pubs and takeaways.

The hosts are very welcoming and trustworthy to open up their house to you. We had all 3 rooms upstairs, which all had their own bathroom and lovely huge comfy beds!

A very nice breakfast with fresh fruit platter, yogurts, cereals and fry up!

Thanks for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed here overnight, the accomodation was spotless, modern, the bed and soft furnishings sumptuous and the owers very helpful and accomodating. Breakfast was a real treat and the fresh fruit platter excellent. As previous guests also found there was very little noise despite being so close to the airport. We arrived late after a delayed flight and Mike stayed up to great us and show us our room, which was delightful and the listed cottage did not disappoint. I will return to stay here again and again if passing through Stanstead and am tempted to book a getaway weekend, just for the pleasure of staying in this delightful guesthouse. We would also recommend lunch in the Lion and Lamb down the road, if you can manage the huge portions of delicious traditional food.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerri0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We have just returned from our stay at The White House which is ideally located near Stansted airport but you would never know as it was peacefully quiet. The rooms are light, airy, immaculately clean with sumptiously comfortable beds. Powerful showers and what appears to be underfloor heating in the bathroom! We had a wondeful stay, although far too short and enjoyed a magnificient English breakfast, fresh fruit platters and delicious fresh coffee. We could not have asked for any more. Thank you

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mama1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Stayed here for our friends 50th birthday who lives in takeley.
Lovely old Beamed Cottage in lovely surroundings, very welcoming owner.
Lovely Room, fantastic power shower, lovely Breakfast especially the fresh fruit, Lovely cooked breakfast, Was great value worth a visit, very close to Stansted Airport but could not hear the planes.
Thanks for for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NORRISCOUPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews