We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forget Airport hotels, this place is what service is all about!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White House
Ranked #4 of 17 Takeley B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Forget Airport hotels, this place is what service is all about!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 on the way to Denmark mid week. I have always stayed in airport hotels before, and took a chance on a B & B. What a good choice, this place is really beautiful, rooms are first class, and I felt like we were in a really high class hotel. But beyond this, the service was fantastic, the owner couple, were so helpful and genuine, something that is hard to come by these days in the hospitality trade. They also had a pub, half a mile down the road, "the Lion and Lamb" and the service and atmosphere was exactly the same there. Its great to see a small family run establishment, competing so well with the monopoly hotels. I think it's in all of our interest to keep these vital businesses thriving, because if we don't, in ten years, we will all have to suffer the poor service of globalisation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaggs155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    8
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
24
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

A wonderful level of service totally beyond all norm. Better breakfast and towels, just to mention a few details, than in top hotels. Like staying with your best friends on such a day that they for some reason want to be extra nice to you. Very convenient to Stansted airport, a 9 GBP taxi ride. This is quite rural though by a road with some traffic so you will be relying on taxis, though a bus stop is close. I don't know where the buses go, and being on business did not have the opportunity to investigate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trauha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Really lovely listed property - traditional exterior, contemporary interior. The White House can be recommended on all counts - comfortable, welcoming, peaceful and not forgetting their excellent breakfasts. Whether you are just passing through Takeley or wanting to stay longer, this B&B is for you - but you may never want to leave!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volentia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is a lovely place to stay whether you are looking for pre or post flight accommodation or just for a weekend get away. my charming hosts could not do enough for me and my room was very comfortable and stylish. I will be back

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pm5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed overnight at the White House as it is a 10 minute cab ride to Stansted. The B & B is very comfortable and clean and the Breakfast was excellent. The couple that run the White House also run a pub which did a good evening meal just down the road.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed one night along with some friends to attend a friend's 40th Birthday party nearby. The hotel is very close to Standsted airport, but you aren't disturbed by aircraft noise at all.

The house is set in a lovely big garden setting which our children enjoyed running around in! It is handy to the M11 and for local pubs and takeaways.

The hosts are very welcoming and trustworthy to open up their house to you. We had all 3 rooms upstairs, which all had their own bathroom and lovely huge comfy beds!

A very nice breakfast with fresh fruit platter, yogurts, cereals and fry up!

Thanks for your hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed here overnight, the accomodation was spotless, modern, the bed and soft furnishings sumptuous and the owers very helpful and accomodating. Breakfast was a real treat and the fresh fruit platter excellent. As previous guests also found there was very little noise despite being so close to the airport. We arrived late after a delayed flight and Mike stayed up to great us and show us our room, which was delightful and the listed cottage did not disappoint. I will return to stay here again and again if passing through Stanstead and am tempted to book a getaway weekend, just for the pleasure of staying in this delightful guesthouse. We would also recommend lunch in the Lion and Lamb down the road, if you can manage the huge portions of delicious traditional food.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerri0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takeley
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,360 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,105 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little Bullocks Farm
Little Bullocks Farm
#1 of 17 in Takeley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: The White House Smiths Green | Dunmow Road, Takeley CM22 6NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Takeley
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Takeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a delightful 15th Century Grade II listed manor house set in one acre of attractive gardens providing a relaxing atmosphere for all. Having been awarded 4 Yellow Stars by the AA for its outstanding facilities and service and the prestigious Enjoy England Silver Award, The White House is also highly recommended by the English Tourist Board. Having been refurbished by Mike and Linda, The White House offers first class bed and breakfast accommodation in comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Takeley, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing