We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experience”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White House
Ranked #6 of 15 Takeley B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad experience”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed for one night, in June, prior to our holiday flight. On arrival we rang the owner, they also have a pub nearby, and he came and showed us our rooms and the house. We were leaving at 07.45am the next morning and were expecting a nice cooked breakfast before our journey so were disappointed when he said there would be cereals, bread and coffee left out for us to help ourselves in the morning. He then went back to the pub. The rooms were very nice and we did enjoy a lovely meal at the pub in the evening. However, in the morning there was no hot water and the showers was freezing cold, the house was deserted and there was no one about who could help. The owners also live at the house and it is a typical family kitchen with pots in the sink and so on, I had to look for a cup to make a coffee but felt like an intruder looking through the cupboards. My daughters had cereals but commented that the packs were out of date. This is not what I expected of a bed and breakfast and under no circumstances would I stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wends8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindawilk, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Dear Guest - I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us back in June and sorry that it has taken you so long to inform us of your "bad experience".
We clearly state on our website and the literature in the rooms plus I would have informed you on your arrival that we serve a cooked breakfast between the hours of 0800-1000. For guests leaving anytime earlier than that we provide a substantial continental breakfast consisting of cereal, fruit platter, yoghourts, toast, pastries etc.
I can only think that the guests that had left earlier must have used all the coffee cups which would account for the washing up in the sink.
I am sorry to hear that your shower was not working correctly, I cannot think what that could have been as we have had no other complaints and we pride ourselves that we can provide constant hot water for all our guests, from our very ellaborate heating system which we installed when we first set up the BB.
As you can see from the rest of our reviews that we do provide a very high satisfaction rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    9
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
24
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Great, down from Scotland seeing friend, everything you needed, clean, well equipped and lovely people. Would stay again! Just steer well clear of the lion and lamb pub! Food was shizen!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_takeley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Great character property, all the mod cons, free internet access, saterlite TV ensuite double and a breakfast to dye for ... Fresh Fruit, cereal, juices toast and oh course an amazing full english breakfast. great family atmosphere .... home away from home ... Very spacious rooms evening with a desk in case you have work to do . Off road parking secluded with lovely garden. This place is a real gem.

If you do want dinner Mike and Linda also own the Pub The Lion and Lamb five minutes down the road which does GREAT food. Both the Pub and B&B are great value for money. I have stayed here many times and to be honest I always use The White House as my base for business when I'm in the part of the UK ... even if I need to to get to my next meeting.

Couple of useful points only five minutes from Stansted Airport (luckily the house is not below the flight path) and they run a car service to and from the pub just in case the weather is bad .. or you fancy a few beers at the end of a long day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJW-AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 on the way to Denmark mid week. I have always stayed in airport hotels before, and took a chance on a B & B. What a good choice, this place is really beautiful, rooms are first class, and I felt like we were in a really high class hotel. But beyond this, the service was fantastic, the owner couple, were so helpful and genuine, something that is hard to come by these days in the hospitality trade. They also had a pub, half a mile down the road, "the Lion and Lamb" and the service and atmosphere was exactly the same there. Its great to see a small family run establishment, competing so well with the monopoly hotels. I think it's in all of our interest to keep these vital businesses thriving, because if we don't, in ten years, we will all have to suffer the poor service of globalisation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaggs155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

A wonderful level of service totally beyond all norm. Better breakfast and towels, just to mention a few details, than in top hotels. Like staying with your best friends on such a day that they for some reason want to be extra nice to you. Very convenient to Stansted airport, a 9 GBP taxi ride. This is quite rural though by a road with some traffic so you will be relying on taxis, though a bus stop is close. I don't know where the buses go, and being on business did not have the opportunity to investigate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trauha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Really lovely listed property - traditional exterior, contemporary interior. The White House can be recommended on all counts - comfortable, welcoming, peaceful and not forgetting their excellent breakfasts. Whether you are just passing through Takeley or wanting to stay longer, this B&B is for you - but you may never want to leave!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volentia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is a lovely place to stay whether you are looking for pre or post flight accommodation or just for a weekend get away. my charming hosts could not do enough for me and my room was very comfortable and stylish. I will be back

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pm5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takeley
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,586 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,172 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
1,984 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
415 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: The White House Smiths Green | Dunmow Road, Takeley CM22 6NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Takeley
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Takeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a delightful 15th Century Grade II listed manor house set in one acre of attractive gardens providing a relaxing atmosphere for all. Having been awarded 4 Yellow Stars by the AA for its outstanding facilities and service and the prestigious Enjoy England Silver Award, The White House is also highly recommended by the English Tourist Board. Having been refurbished by Mike and Linda, The White House offers first class bed and breakfast accommodation in comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Takeley, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing