We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for Stansted Airport”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White House
Ranked #4 of 15 Takeley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I wanted to stay the night before my flight in a not too expensive place near Stansted Airport and this is a gem only a few miles next to the airport. It is actually a really nice cosy BB in Takeley, in an old house with a lot of character. Our room was exceptional and very comfortable, with an immaculate bathroom. A great night's sleep indeed. One tip, you need to call the hotel something like 20 minutes before you arrive, as the people who manage it are not there but in a pub not far from it. Highly recommended for Stansted airport!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be very nice and cosy, to be honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos_Gonzalez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a wonderful small hotel ,well run and clean. The rooms are very comfortable and large. The hotel is well situated with plenty of parking space. It is ideal if you are flying out of Stanstead Airport. You can book in the day before your flight, stay over night and park for your time away for far less than airport parking (including taxis to and from airport).

Room Tip: Hotel is of road so all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed two nights to attended a friends wedding at the Reid rooms.

Lovely cosy room - fab ensuite shower with buttons and dials than I have ever seen! Breakfast was lovely, our hosts were really friendly and very chatty.

Clean, friendly, cosy and reasonably priced. The pub they also own up the road does a cracking steak pie and chips. Really recommend (The Lion and Lamb).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnfbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a fantastic B & B close to Stanstead Airport in a quiet village. The owners are lovely and very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are spotless and have everything you could need including bathrobes and fresh milk if required for coffee. So glad we stayed and the breakfast was great. Would heartily recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayH341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lovely garden and a typical house in need of some painting from the outside. The interior is modern, clean and convenient with a lot of character. Huge and comfortable bed. Owners charming. Full English breakfast. You don’t hear at all the Stansted airport nearby. A little noise from the road next to the house but it is not an issue either. Good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

awesome bed&breakfast near stansted airport. the owners are very familiar and kind, the rooms are very clean and confortable. excellent quality overall. i recommend it for every kind of trip, business, with friends or with your partner.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank francescoromano85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed just one night and arrived after dark, but had time until noon the next day. After we received a comprehensive intro and after settling down, we tried out the Lion & Lamb pub, also run by the proprietors Linda and Mike. Mike drove us to the pub and back at our convenience.
Upon our return we tried out the luxury bathroom and tub ("hot" is on the right side!!); ultimately, the quaintness of the place and the attention to detail made our stay endearing and now, back in Berlin-Germany, we still smile in remembrance of this remarkable experience.
The breakfast the next morning left no wish unfulfilled, yet the Nescafé does take some getting used to for a coffee-drinker from the continent (Nestle says it's "coffee", I beg to differ).
Linda even was so kind as to assist me in printing our boarding cards for AirBerlin -- wow, that's unusual treatment in these "modern" times.
Advice: With a B&B one has to plan ahead and make sure that one has ample time (!) to really appreciate all the amenities. As human resources and time are limited for the proprietors, a bit of patience on the side of the guest and willingness to adjust and cooperate is equally important to make the stay a pleasant one. If one is pressed for time, the Radisson Blu across from the airport may be a much better choice. The taxi trip from the airport to The White House is 8-9 GBP and takes no more than 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Talk to Mike or Linda ahead of time and find out, what you can expect. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takeley hotels
1.1 mi away
The Green Man Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Willows Guest House
The Willows Guest House
#2 of 15 in Takeley
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little Bullocks Farm
Little Bullocks Farm
#1 of 15 in Takeley
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taphall Bed And Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Stansted Guest House
Stansted Guest House
#11 of 15 in Takeley
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: The White House Smiths Green | Dunmow Road, Takeley CM22 6NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Takeley
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Takeley
Price Range: £69 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a delightful 15th Century Grade II listed manor house set in one acre of attractive gardens providing a relaxing atmosphere for all. Having been awarded 4 Yellow Stars by the AA for its outstanding facilities and service and the prestigious Enjoy England Silver Award, The White House is also highly recommended by the English Tourist Board. Having been refurbished by Mike and Linda, The White House offers first class bed and breakfast accommodation in comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Takeley, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing