We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Willows Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Takeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
outh Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked 2 nights for a family party. Charming little B&B in lovely surroundings. Room was clean with tea and coffee, hairdryer and ironing board. Would stay again if we are ever flying from stanstead as location is ideal. Snack tray is a great idea, if not a bit tempting. Enjoyed breakfast on the 1st morning and had porridge from the snack tray the 2nd morning. Thanks Sue for a chilled weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sept09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    20
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
24
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This place has really thought out what is important to its guests. What a good idea to have a breakfast tray where you just pay for what you consume! And if you just want tea/ coffee with milk it costs nothing. A proper hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Transfers and pick ups from the airport ,and parking at a reasonable cost ( £5 per day) although not on site- they take your car away for you to a local compound.

And the biggest bonus- absolutely no noise, either from planes or road traffic... One of the quietest places I have ever stayed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0gli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Had booked 4 rooms for family reunion for 1 night and I was not disappointed. the owner Sue very friendly and accommodating (room shuffle), rooms were very clean and modern we were pleasantly suprised by the B&B itself. As the other reviews have stated ample snacks/drinks/tea etc in the room. Would definitely recommend/stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVHorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Great little B&B around the corner from Stansted and at a great price too! The owners are lovely, very personable and we used their shuttle service both to and from the airport whilst we left our car there....couldn't have been more convenient. We had a very early flight so unfortunately we cannot comment on their breakfast but our room had a tray stocked full of nibbles, cereals and teas should we have wished to partake. Room was spotlessly clean although a little on the small side but was not a problem due to the short length of our stay. Would definitely use again! There is also a lovely pub about a 5 minute drive away - great food at a great price http://www.lionandlamb.co.uk/ - both highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qrendi, Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay, at this cosy, Family Run, guest house.

The quadriple room, we were given, was clean and nicely decorated.

The area, is very beautiful, well kept, and really the family is really helpful.

Would love to come again.

Keep it Up :)

Much Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleAquilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Spent the night before our early flight from stansted at this great little B&B, the rooms are perfect, it was a cold night and the heat hit us, radiators were on full! huge beds, and hot showers, a tray for tea & coffee, along with a tray of other items which you could purchase.
The landlady was most informative on arrival, and booked an early taxi for us to the airport.
On our return she met us in the "pick up" area of stansted airport, and brought us back to our waiting car. A great place to stay, we have previously used the radisson blu at stansted, but this is better!!
we shall be back! thankyou.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinjss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed here with my husband and daughter in a triple room(actually four beds, one double two singles). Rooms were nicely decorated and the beds very comfortable and nice linen. The bathroom was all clean and tidy. The lady who met us was friendly and helpful in advising on a place to eat as we arrived about 8 pm. We did not have breakfast in the morning but did take advantage of the honesty box where we made some porridge and had a cup of tea. The weather was cold when we stayed but the rooms were warm and cosy and we all slept well.
In the morning we were taken by our hostess directly to the departure gates at Stansted. This was a short ride and we left our car at the B&B. It was all easy and calm way to start the day and I would recommend this place. It was slightly difficult to find as the postcode was not easy to find on the website not sure if it is on there at all! However we found the village and then rang. Well done comfortable and satisfied customers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takeley
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,171 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.6 mi away
Little Bullocks Farm
Little Bullocks Farm
#1 of 15 in Takeley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows Guest House

Property: The Willows Guest House
Address: The Willows Bambers Green | Bambers Green, Takeley CM22 6PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Takeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Takeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willows Guest house is located just 2 miles from Stansted Airport, (but is not under the flight path so we get very little noise from the aircraft). The original building is of classic thatch cottage design and was built in 1650. We offer our customers well designed and equipped rooms to hotel standard, but with the personal care and attention you only get at a small family run business! Recently renovated, each room has a contemporary feel with an en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Willows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Guest House Takeley, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing