We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty spot beside Stansted” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willows Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willows Guest House
Ranked #2 of 17 Takeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pretty spot beside Stansted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Unbelievably close to Stansted and yet seems as if you're deep in the countryside. Charming thatched roof, decent family room facilities, though could be improved by a mini bar!
Good value for money, and tok away the worry of getting to Stansted in time for our early morning flight

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    20
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
24
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, Korea
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I chose this guest house as I had early morning flight at Stansted. It was hard to find, because road signs were not clear. I lost a couple of times to take the road to the house. Passing the Stansted airport, I had concern that I mistook to reserve the wrong accommodation. Then, when I managed to get there, I was relieved of the guest house atmosphere and its landlady. She was so kind that we could enjoy our stay, at this cosy, family run, guest house. The triple room was clean and nicely decorated. In addition, driving a few minutes from there, I had beer at the local pub. I strongly recommend this accommodation if one needs to stay close to the Stansted.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim_Creator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We arrived late and was greeted by a very warm, friendly and helpful hostess. Set in a typical English cottage and surrounded by a lush garden away from traffic and city noise. It was very clean with an excellent king size bed for my husband and myself and two single beds for the kids. There was a tray with complimentary tea, coffee, cookies and chocolate. Another tray with instant soup etc. was provided at an additional cost. Breakfast, if ordered, was brought to your room. The local town of Great Dunmow, with a variety of restaurants and shops, was not far away. Well worth the money!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the Willows Guest House before taking an early flight from Stansted. The room was cosy and warm, nicely furnished and quiet. I strongly recommend it if you need to stay close to Stansted. Just bear in mind that there are not so many places to have a late dinner in the neighbourhood, so plan it in advance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Willows for its proximity to Stansted Airport as we had an early morning flight. Having come from a few days in the bustle of London it was a delight when we first arrived in our complimentary airport transfer, to see the thatched main house surrounded by wonderful, peaceful, flowery gardens all set amongst bucolic countryside. Our very comfortable room with ensuite shower room were both excellently stocked with amenities including a kettle and assorted hot drinks. There was also a tray of goodies to purchase including sweets, snacks and further drinks.
Kev and Sue, our friendly hosts, also provided a recommendation and a reasonably charged shuttle to a local pub for dinner and organised our continental breakfast for the following morning, again reasonably charged.
Given that The Willows is so close to the airport yet still in the peace and quiet of the countryside I would have no hesitation in choosing it again or recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor in an offshoot of the main house. It was quiet and overlooked the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LePhews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

A warm welcome from Kevin, although somewhat confused as to what door to use. Pleasant room and modern bathroom. No real reception area and paid with card outside in the rain :((. For a one night stay it was ideal and a very good price, so no real complaints at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outh Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked 2 nights for a family party. Charming little B&B in lovely surroundings. Room was clean with tea and coffee, hairdryer and ironing board. Would stay again if we are ever flying from stanstead as location is ideal. Snack tray is a great idea, if not a bit tempting. Enjoyed breakfast on the 1st morning and had porridge from the snack tray the 2nd morning. Thanks Sue for a chilled weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sept09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takeley
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,270 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,051 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows Guest House

Property: The Willows Guest House
Address: The Willows Bambers Green | Bambers Green, Takeley CM22 6PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Takeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Takeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willows Guest house is located just 2 miles from Stansted Airport, (but is not under the flight path so we get very little noise from the aircraft). The original building is of classic thatch cottage design and was built in 1650. We offer our customers well designed and equipped rooms to hotel standard, but with the personal care and attention you only get at a small family run business! Recently renovated, each room has a contemporary feel with an en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Willows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Guest House Takeley, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing