We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stansted Airport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stansted Airport Lodge
Ranked #16 of 17 Takeley B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Value for money.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had to go there as our plane was delayed. We made a late booking and took a taxi there instantly. Not the best hotel of course but room was quite comfortable. One night stop over did go well. Early morning breakfast facility is there too. Its a budget hotel so don't expect much. Takeley isn't very close from the airport so taxis cost a good amount too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jobair a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    33
    22
    13
    43
See reviews for
23
36
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

If we read the reviews on here first, we wouldn't have come. We were looking for a personal, homely start to our two weeks holiday which was to begin the next day and didn't quite get that. Receptionist wasn't friendly and only saw him once since no one was around at breakfast. The food we did receive in the morning wasn't great - bit like average canteen food. I've had better, friendlier service at a travel lodge if I'm honest. Room was fine - nothing special, it was however clean. The whole experience would have been very disappointing hadn't it been for The Green Man pub just down the road. Lovely welcoming staff there who obviously had a good set of regulars.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa36_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Takeley hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I read loads of bad reviws and was very afraid of what we would find, and I can assure u it was absolutely fine,,,, 1 night in family room with breakfast
And 15 days parking £59 FANTASTIC we was given the family room which was clean tidy with a lovely bathroom nice 32 inch tv , yes the breakfast was rubbish but we got coffee and toast which is ok. We would def stay there again as its only 5 minutes from airport management very helpful too

Room Tip: Family room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paninalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

The male receptionist was rude and shouted at myself and my daughter. He should be sacked !
Loud and noisy on the main road, cars pulling up next to bedroom window in the night - several times. It wasn't possible to sleep.
Breakfast was a joke. A complete and utter disaster.
The worst place in the world I have ever stayed in. We are frequent travellers, but we will definately NOT be going back here !!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

please this place should be 10 per night . i had to stay here because i missed my flight and planned to get another flight the next morning. the decor in the lovely looking building was strange. i didnt have my own bathroom inside my room and was made to go outside and use a large bathroom. I had a three year old with me so i was not happy with that idea. The breakfast was stale bread and other things but i ate nothing.
This place must be the worst place ive stayed in ever in sure of it. I was so sorry for my son who had to sleep in the terrible bed with bouncy springs making noise when you moved.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

It's a very basic hotel where the focus is on providing a place to sleep before an early flight from Stansted Airport. For that purpose it good value for money. The room was clean and had the necessary basics. The bed was very firm. The bathroom was a little run down, but very clean.
As said on a budget and only looking for a place to catch some sleep the hotel is good value for money. The hotel offers a shuttle service at £6 per way. At least that was the price quoted to me. A lady arriving at the same time had been quoted a slightly cheaper price. The shuttle service in from STN in the evening was a bit poorly coordinated. I ended up getting a round trip to another hotel before being taken back to the Airport and then to the hotel. Is meant that the trip to the hotel took about 40 min which was inconvenient as it was late at night. The shuttle from the hotel worked very well. It was on time and took less than 10 min to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Templar1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Clean but very basic. No hairdryer so take your own. Shower seen better days. Breakfast very basic. Check in not possible till 6pm - a bit of a nuisance. Also as they raise money for charging for cheap airport parking, when you arrive as an independent traveller who happens to have a car, you are charged £5 to park - must be a first! Also not that handy for airport. And if you phone asking about directions from airport to hotel - they don't know!!
This is the 21st century and unless prices are very low, this sort of service is no longer good enough.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and go to a chain like Premier Inn - much better experience and better value for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takeley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,050 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stansted Airport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stansted Airport Lodge

Property: Stansted Airport Lodge
Address: Takeley Street, Takeley CM22 6QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Takeley
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Takeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stansted Airport Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Stansted Airport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stansted Airport Lodge Takeley, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing