We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch, nice atmosphere.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Three Horseshoes

The Three Horseshoes
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Takeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a friendly, traditional family run English country pub serving great pub grub. We have a fabulous beer garden, barn/marquee for bands, events & private functions and a campsite out the back. Children & dog's welcome. There's plenty for the children to do in the garden... Bouncy Castle and little kids play equipment. OPENING HOURS Monday: Closed all Day Tuesday to Friday: Open all day (Food 12 - 2.30pm and 6pm - 9pm) Saturday: Open all day (Food 12 - 3pm and 6pm - 9pm) Sunday: Open all day (Food 12 - 4pm)
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch, nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

The starter of beef strips on noodles was delicious.

Had the gammon here to make up for the disappointment of the previous nights meal and it was really good.

Would go again in a heartbeat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dons1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely little pub in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were cold and hungry after havin a long drive.
We happened upon this place and stopped in for some late lunch early dinner. It was close to the time they stopped serving for lunch which was 4 pm but they were happy to surve us. As we didnt want to wait till 6 when they started for dinner. Also order pudding well after that time.
The food was just what we wanted, lovely home cooked food, perfect with a glass of wine by the lovely fire. The staff and locals were friendly and accommodating.
A perfect place for a cold Saturday afternoon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikki0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
166 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Old fashioned English pub with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a thatched pub that dates back to the 16th Century with an open fireplace serving excellent home cooked food.
We were given a warm welcome and enjoyed two different excellent home cooked tasty main meals which couldn't be faulted. I had the meat pie, mash and vegetables and my wife had the scampi, chips and peas.The portions were huge and what a nice change to be presented with a decent portion of home cooked fresh chips and vegetables.
Other pubs beware once the word goes round about the excellent food and large portions served here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank waller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We visited recently prior to a flight from Stansted. The food was great and the staff friendly. Unfortunately there was something going on in a marquee outside and the constant coming and goings of the young people meant the door was often open letting any heat out if the pub. We therefore sat shivering for the evening. Shame that this somewhat cast a shadow over the evening for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patron123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Travelling to a hotel near Stansted for an early flight we found this little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

we stopped at the Three Horseshoes on the way to an overnight stay for an early flight from Stansted. The food the beer and staff all great. call in if you are in the Mole Hill Green area near Stansted airport

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Horseshoes also viewed

 
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 
Little Canfield, Essex
 

Been to The Three Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing