We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”

The Green Man Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Takeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A fully licensed pub/restaurant at The Green Man in Takeley with high quality food and a relaxed and pleasant ambience. All dishes are home-cooked from locally sourced ingredients. A la carte menu for lunch and evening and Sunday roasts.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Amazing experience, great staff, traditional old fashioned pub grub, freshly made, done fantastically well! Atmosphere was amazing and it was a fantastic experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 101010LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    47
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Went here for a works meal out. Food was really good. The lady behind the bar and waitress was really friendly and helpful. Recommend it if you’re in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom and Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Staff, comfortable surroundings”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The pub looks ‘Classic Country’ mixed with modern bright airy colours. We booked for a table of 8, and I was pleased to find we had ample space to sit down and move about, and found the whole experience very comfortable indeed.

Wednesdays they have a Jazz Singer (Sarah Yates) who was pleasing to the ear with her soft Jazz voice, and almost every song was recognisable to us, it was the perfect background for a mid-week night out.

The food was wonderful. Well presented in good portion sizes, and a good mix of options for Pub Grub, bit with a twist of class rather than your normal Fish, Chips and Peas! I had the 6oz Ribey Steak, and well done, and it was done to perfection for me, and tasted perfect! The Salad was crisp, the chips where chunky and the mushrooms were divine! Afters was a real treat with local Home Made ice cream, which we could not decide on a flavour, so ordered a few, and all were delicious, but can highly recommend the Coffee and the Caramel one’s!

All in all, a lovely place to eat out, or just go for a quiet drink with outside seating for hot summers and inside cozy seats for cold winters.

Only down side was the small car park on site, we had to park in a lay-by up the road, but it was not very far to walk.

We will most certainly be returning for another meal soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Gastro Pub no more”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Bright friendly staff. Tremendous atmosphere as always. But served up standard pub fish and chips. And pud was obvious buy in. Coffee still delicious. Sad loss.

Helpful?
1 Thank WillStringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishopsstortford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“back for our second visit”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Returned for a second visit to the Green Man and must say it was just as nice as the first visit A very welcoming pub with a very nice atmosphere. A Group of four of us ordered our lunch which was served quite quickly although there was a few tables already taken,very attentive staff and the chef who looked very clean and smart came into the bar area a couple of times stopped at our table to ask if everything was ok.Nice selection of beers and lagers that complemented a very enjoyable lunch,we will be back

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hgvdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man Restaurant also viewed

 
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 

Been to The Green Man Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing