We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Man Restaurant

The Green Man Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Takeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A fully licensed pub/restaurant at The Green Man in Takeley with high quality food and a relaxed and pleasant ambience. All dishes are home-cooked from locally sourced ingredients. A la carte menu for lunch and evening and Sunday roasts.
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I held my mums surprise birthday party here. Nothing was too much trouble, staff were very friendly and helpful. Thanks to Steve the chef for the amazing food a great time had by all. We will be back soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyessex73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    45
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very lovely dog friendly pub with great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Went as a group of four with two dogs on a Sunday afternoon, we had just walked the dogs and were looking for some lunch.

We walked in and received a warm welcome, there was live music playing and a very nice ambiance without it being too busy.

We easily found a table in the bar (dogs allowed in the bar) and were served in good time.

They waitress brought us a bowl of water for the dogs and all staff (including the chef) made us feel very welcome, always smiling and being genuinely nice.

We ordered 3 courses all of which were prepared and presented without fault, the roast dinner was as good as a home cooked one (I was particular ill impressed with the roast potatoes which didn't have that reheated quality to them). Honestly the food was cooked to perfection!!!

The chef came past a few times and had a bit of a joke with us about our dogs, he then reappeared with a cut up sausage for them.

The coffee was also amazing with a good selection, also an opportunity to choose your type of milk and decaf if you wanted.

The price was very reasonable coming in at £22 per person including all drinks and coffees etc.

This place is a diamond and my only regret is not finding it sooner.......

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, decent beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

A really nice pub serving really good food. Staff very efficient and friendly. We went on a Wednesday when they have a singer covering easy listening jazz standards who is just excellent. Would thoroughly recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pauldave99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Amazing experience, great staff, traditional old fashioned pub grub, freshly made, done fantastically well! Atmosphere was amazing and it was a fantastic experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 101010LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Went here for a works meal out. Food was really good. The lady behind the bar and waitress was really friendly and helpful. Recommend it if you’re in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom and Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man Restaurant also viewed

 
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 

Been to The Green Man Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing