We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, would go again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stansted Guest House
Ranked #11 of 15 Takeley B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely, would go again”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Clean, convenient, friendly and charming. Stay at a lot of hotels for business purposes, so a guest house made a nice change, really pleased I picked this one as it was more homely and relaxed and the staff and owners made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Had a transfer to the airport and help with our luggage.

I would definitely stay here again, I don't understand the poor reviews on here, seems like a different place they are talking about.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanstedguesthouse, General Manager at Stansted Guest House, responded to this review, 28 January 2016
Dear Michelle

Thank you for your review and that you found our guest house convenient, clean and charming.

Hope you stay with us next time you are travelling through the Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    16
    10
    4
    31
See reviews for
9
34
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was worried about staying after reading all the bad reviews but we had a very pleasant stay. Warm welcome from the lady owner, who gave helpful advice on where to eat and how to get to airport. Car park. Didn't have breakfast as was leaving early so didn't have to pay for it. Comfy bed and clean room. Hot shower but poor water pressure. Would stay again, good value, though had to pay for wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I booked an overnight there and first then have realised that they have strict cloging hour at 23:00, but our plane is landing about 23:30. I asked them for an exception or favour, no chance. I even had to pay a cancellation fee (25% of the total price), though I made the booking approx. 15 hours ago for May!
Very disappointing experience!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Jitka_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanstedguesthouse, General Manager at Stansted Guest House, responded to this review, 21 January 2016
Dear Jitka_10

A little unfair, because you didn't read the closing times, it's our fault !

We are a small family run guest house and cannot work 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so we have to have strict opening and closing times, 16:00 - 23:00, we are unable to make exceptions as we are asked on a daily basis, because of our close proximity to the airport.

We do make sure our opening and closing times are clearly advertised on all sites in several places, so guests can make sure the accommodation meets their needs before they book and incur costs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Takeley hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed in this clean, warm and friendly guest house on 2 separate occasions in December. Ideal for travelling via stansted as can leave car in their car park for a small charge, compared to airport charges and get either a lift or taxi to the airport, only minutes away. Would stay here again as we enjoyed the surrounding.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni-Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Really close to the airport and walking took 15 minutes, good size rooms, and reasonably priced.Local pub served food a short walk away.
Staff were friendly and offered breakfast but were leaving to early.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

i don't know guesthouse near to the airport has no late check in service is a bit strange our flight was landed around 22:30, so i asked them that we might be late for 5-10 mins, but there was zero flexibility from them!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lomexito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanstedguesthouse, General Manager at Stansted Guest House, responded to this review, 21 January 2016
Dear Lomexito

Thank you for your review.

The reason we do not offer a late check in service is because we are small family run guest house and cannot work 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so we have to have strict opening and closing times, 16:00 - 23:00.

We are unable to make exceptions as we are asked on a daily basis because of our close proximity to the airport, there is no way of telling how late the guests might be due to delays or time it takes to clear the airport and get to us, so 5-10 minutes could quite easy become an hour or more.
We do make sure our opening and closing times are clearly advertised on all sites in several places, so guests can make sure that they have left enough time to get to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

On July 12th this year, all flights into London were delayed due to a fire at Heathrow. As soon as I got in, I got a cab to the Stansted Guesthouse, the taxi dropped me off and drove away. It was 11.30, I explained in the best possible manner the cicrumstances of my late arrival and apologised profusely. Speaking to me through a window the person on duty simply replied 'this place is closed, there are hotels at the airport' and shut the window.

I then had to trudge, with all my suitcases, back to the Airport, a one mile walk in the pitch black, there is no road lighting. I eventually ended up staying in the Hilton. I was then charged the 50usd no-show fee by booking.com. I wrote back explaining that I hadn't been a no-show, but that I had been delayed by circumstances out of my control but the owners of the guesthouse refused to reimburse me, instead just giving a snotty reply.

These people CARE NOTHING ABOUT CUSTOMER SERVICE. They WANT you to miss your booking and then charge you the no-show fee. I wish I had payed more attention to the reviews on here first....

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank Mat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanstedguesthouse, General Manager at Stansted Guest House, responded to this review, 21 January 2016
Dear Mat Y

Why would we want guests to not arrive and charge them?

We are a small family run guest house and cannot work 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so we have to have strict opening and closing times, 16:00 - 23:00.

Any guests who do not arrive by our closing time are a no show, we do not have anyone on duty after 11pm, so I can only assume you spoke to a guest who was staying in the main house.

We do make sure our opening and closing times are clearly advertised on all sites in several places, so guests can make sure the accommodation meets their needs before they book and incur costs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takeley
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,602 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,279 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
417 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stansted Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stansted Guest House

Property: Stansted Guest House
Address: Parsonage Road | Herts, Takeley CM22 6PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Takeley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Takeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stansted Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Stansted Guest House, we are a small family run business, set in 3 acres of Mature Gardens and surrounded by Essex countryside, we benefit to being the second closest accommodation to Stansted Airport Terminal, we are only a 3-minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk but we only recommended it with light luggage, we do not suggest you walk when its dark, as it's along a unlit country road. We do NOT offer a 24 service and are open between 16:00 - 23:00 and check out at 10:00, unfortunatly we are unable to offer late/early check in's, under any circumstances. All Rooms include en suite bathrooms, freeview flat screen TVs, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing facilities on request and WIFI is availble in your room for £2 per day, rooms have either lovely countryside views or beautiful mature garden or some have both, we are unable to accommodate children under 8 years old or extra beds in our rooms. Overnight parking is free and thereafter costs £5 per day/part day. A light self-service breakfast is available in the breakfast room overlooking our beautiful mature garden with the countryside beyound, available from 07:00 and costs £5 per person. We do not offer an evening meal at the Guest House, we suggest you a eat at the airport before you come down to us or alternativly there are pubs serving food up to 20:30 which are a short taxi ride away. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stansted Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stansted Guest House Takeley, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing