We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long wait ”
Review of The Akeman

The Akeman
Ranked #14 of 44 Restaurants in Tring
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Long wait ”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

As this is my local pub/bar I have been there several times and never had a problem however today was a different story.
We had a drink on arrival and then asked for a table for two. I was told to find a table inside or outside and then somebody would take our order. We found one outside and waited........... After a while a couple left so we decided to change tables and we waited....... 30 mins after arriving we still hadn't been acknowledged. However the waitress was outside casually chatting with her friends and petting another tables pet dog!!
I eventually had to walk back through an empty restaurant to find somebody to serve us. The young lad who had served our drinks then took our order. The food came out quickly and they gave us some olives on the house but no real apology.
After dinner we waited for the bill to arrive, but after a while my partner went in to pay but was told to go back to the table and somebody would come out. So we waited again and after 10 minutes somebody came out.
The service was very slow considering it was not busy, but if you knew the waitress (as many seemed to) she couldn't be more helpful! We sat with somebody else's dirty plates in front of us waiting to order, while she petted a dog!
A very disappointing visit to a normally lovely place, considered walking out!!

Helpful?
4 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAkeman, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Good afternoon,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your comments, it is incredibly useful to have such clear feedback that we can make improvements on. We are very sorry to hear that your most recent visit was disappointing.

As a community pub & restaurant (Winner of this year's Publican Award: Best Community Pub Operator), we recognise that our staff are familiar with a lot of the locals and apologise if this has interfered with the service you received.

Outside summer service this year, has been designed that some tables on and around the decking are table service and those that are more casually dining order food at the bar, I can only apologise if this was not communicated to you when you moved table.

We would, however, like to discuss this further with you. Please email us at akeman@oakmaninns.co.uk.

We hope to hear from you soon

Kind regards
The Akeman Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    180
    88
    63
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad food, service and management.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

After a previously good experience at the Akeman in Tring, I decided to take a couple of girl friends back to visit last Thursday evening... Good atmosphere, pleasant surroundings, service was good however once the food arrived that's when things took a turn for the worst...
My friends pasta dish was served extremely undercooked, although initial service was efficient the waitress failed to return to check the food was all ok. After waiting to get her attention the dish was taken away, however she didn't return to apologise or let us know how long the food would be! After 10 minutes of waiting for the dish to return, the rest of us were practically done with our meals, to make matters worse it was the MANAGER who brought the dish back and also failed to apologise!!!
The pasta was now cooked however it was extremely bland and it seems that some of the items from the description in the menu didn't appears in the dish.

Therefore, having ruined our meal out my friend decided she wouldn't eat it and would politely ask that she only paid half for her meal - more than reasonable.

Once ready to leave, we approached the manager and explained what had happened only to be told the pasta just 'wasn't to her taste' and that he wouldn't be taking anything off the bill. After watching the pair of them have a disagreement in the middle of all the other customers I decided to try and help only to laughed at and belittled by the manager in front of all customers... Then after a further 15 minutes of heated discussion we were then presented with the full bill - no adjustment made!
After FURTHER discussion in which he told us that he gets '15 people a week complaining to get a free meal, that he has to draw a like somewhere' we stated the obvious to him - there's obviously a problem with the food.

He eventually took the meal off the bill, after dealing with the situation so unprofessionally and poorly... We left feeling extremely embarrassed and dissatisfied.

Hense we will not return - manager needs to learn customer service and to deal with customers as equals as opposed to being so patronising and rude as we we're three young women.
Disgusting!!!

And did I mention over priced?

Helpful?
5 Thank Ellice112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAkeman, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
I’m sorry you were disappointed by your recent visit with us. I have spoken with the manager on duty on Thursday evening and dealt with your complaint at the time. Having himself come from working as a chef within our company he is familiar with our kitchen. As with all our pasta dishes the pasta was cooked al dente, which is commonly seen to be undercooked depending on personal taste. Aware that this is often the case my manager arranged for fresh dish to be made for your friend. Cooking pasta does take a few minutes thus resulting in the delay to your meal.

With regards to your comment about the missing ingredients having again consulted with the manager on duty I believe the discussion was concerning the Calabrian nduja sausage which appears in the pasta dish your friend chose. I have been assured by the kitchen staff that were working that the correct ingredients were used in your dish. Nduja sausage is an Italian meat with a unique taste and is very unlike a traditional sausage. The consistency is much softer, almost spreadable, and does often cause confusion so I can only apologise if this was the case on this occasion and it wasn’t explained to you.

At Oakman Inns we believe that in order to make top quality food, we need to begin with top quality ingredients. We are expressly committed to using the very best produce and all of our suppliers are top of the range and our prices reflect this. For example, all our meat is premium quality 100% British and sourced from Aubrey Allen, who won 'Ethical Meat Supplier of the Year' three times. Our pork, chicken and eggs are all free range and our beef is dry-aged on the bone for 21 days to tenderise the meat and intensify the flavour. If you’d like to know more about our suppliers, please feel free to watch this short video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hBBKGKvXtpo

We remain confident that our food prices are competitive for the area and fairly reflect the high quality.

I would be happy to discuss your experience further so please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly.

Rohan Aldcroft – rohan@oakmaninns.co.uk
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Sunday evening dinner”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

First time time here, pleasant surroundings, Tess was very obliging albeit very rushed at times. Plaice was over cooked and was promptly replaced, roast beef was tasty and tender, staff friendly. Would come again but need prompter service as struggled to get attention at times.

Helpful?
1 Thank Crazybiker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Crazybiker69,

We’re so pleased you had a nice meal with us, and delighted to hear that you were looked after in the appropriate manner when your plaice was overcooked. We will endeavour to take your feedback regarding prompter service into consideration!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review,
The Akeman Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very good & will be back”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

our first time & first impression were very good, place is lovely & lively too especially after 8pm when the young teenagers turn up for birthday party. Seem to be popular with youngsters due to a private school just around the corner. Service was very good, waitress who serve our table very attentive & our orders taken quickly as we were staving. Menu selection are very good, my grilled prawns as starter was delicious as well as my main Cod cheek with Tagliatelle (day special), my partner ordered Smoked salmon & crab meat salad for starter was really nice but the main oreCCHiette - Smoked mackerel, spring onions, fennel, green beans and cherry tomatoes, tossed with orecchiette pasta was just so so. our friend daughter order Sweet Potato Fries with Chipotle Mayo as side dish, that was really yummy specially the mayo.

think we will come back next time & try other dishes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Sugar b,

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I’m sorry to hear that your Orecchiette was only ‘so so’, but delighted to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your meal.

We hope to see you again soon,
The Akeman Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good - but could be better”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Been here many times - very nice place for a drink, swanky bar area in the front.
Restaurant is roomy, menu good and varied, service generally prompt and friendly, though has been indifferent. Food is consistently good, I think, maybe not wildly exciting, but solid good food, well prepared and well presented.
I have a bit of a problem with noise in the Akeman. As its essentially one large room, at busy times the noise levels are such that its almost impossible to have a conversation - so for that romantic meal for two on a saturday night - this is perhaps not the ideal location.. Sadly.
Otherwise - about as good as Tring has to offer.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkemanGM, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Roger,

Thanks very much for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate the feedback!

We’re so pleased to hear that you find the food to be consistently good, well prepared and presented as this is something we take much pride in. We endeavour to refresh our menu twice a year to keep our regular customers excited, but we also recommend checking out our Daily Special’s next time you’re in!

I’m sorry to hear you occasionally find the noise levels in the Akeman a bit high, whilst we can control the delicious food and great service we struggle to have an influence on slightly merry diners noise levels! However, like most places we tend to be quieter during the week and so perhaps one of these would be better for an intimate meal for two? Failing that, if you book your table in advance you’re welcome to suggest a table nearer the back of the restaurant where the noise levels tend to be lower.

Thanks again Roger, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
The Akeman Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Akeman also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Kingswood, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to The Akeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing