We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super garden by the canal”

Grand Junction Arms
Ranked #22 of 48 Restaurants in Tring
Price range: US$8 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A traditional pub nestling alongside the tow path of the grand union canal. You can enjoy fantastic views of the water from the garden or inside the pub , plus there's a large carpark. Use the free WiFi, read the papers, enjoy a capuccino or a three course meal. Something for everyone
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived on a bank holiday Monday for early dinner. They had run out of steak pie and the bar had run out of lemonade and Fullers Pride and the toilets were dirty with no hand wash. All the staff looked knackered. The food came quickly and was very good but 10% service charge is added to the menu prices. The garden gets the sun virtually all day and there are several items for children to play with.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped here for a coffee. Served with half a paper cup of luke warm coffee and paid £4.60.. There explanation was that it was a normal measure!!! Will not be returning.

2  Thank looloo87899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrtring, Owner at Grand Junction Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

If you do ever return I will fill the cup up myself to the top but on a more serious note, Im sure if you would have mentioned the problem at the time a member of staff would of filled it up for you. The coffiee is priced at £2:25 and not £4.65.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

This is a lovely looking pub and we have stopped for a drink before so thought we would go with the family on Sunday for lunch. Tried to reserve a table but they were fully booked but were told we could sit outside.

Menu was good although the most exciting options seemed to be vegetarian and the starters were amazing. We did however have a few issues with the main courses, two were incorrect which the staff resolved but I am not sure they were very good at handling this. Whilst two meals were taken back to the kitchen to be corrected the other 3 meals were left without cutlery etc. I decided to go an find these myself. When these two came back very quickly again no cutlery and this time I got told off by a member of staff for being in a private area (retrieving my own cutlery).

The food and location are great but a real pity that the service was not at the same level. They were very busy but this should have been expected on a Sunday when fully booked. Hopefully this can be improved but despite this I would go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roblinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrtring, Owner at Grand Junction Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

After a long walk along the canal on what was the hottest day. Yes the Bank Holiday!. We came across this pub and the staff were very friendly and the service was very quick seeing as it busy. Was lovely just relaxing on the grass in the beer garden just watching the world go by. Will definitely recommend here and looking forward to going back soon.

Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrtring, Owner at Grand Junction Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you so much ☀️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

When you search for this pub it advertises as having vegetarian and vegan food- this is a downright lie unless you want to only eat a side of chips!

No vegetarian roast dinner option and the staff didn't even have anything to offer, even the gravy was meat based and the waiter just made a joke out of me when I asked.

I ordered a squash ravioli which came covered in Parmesan which is non vegetarian.

A rather backwards thinking pub, customer service training would be useful too! Wont be coming back and wouldn't recommend, unfortunately.

To end on a positive, the location of the pub is stunning...

3  Thank Sophia2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Junction Arms also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
Ivinghoe, Aylesbury Vale
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Grand Junction Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing