We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Cooked Breakfast!”
Review of The Greyhound

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Greyhound
Ranked #3 of 5 Tring B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Actually a really nice place to drink, have an evening meal and stay at... plus the staff were pleasant and helpful.

However, finding out at check-in (admittedly after 9PM) that a cooked breakfast the following morning was unavailable because this needed to have been pre-ordered (apparently several days in advance?) was a major disappointment, especially when faced with a long day of walking The Ridgeway! The 'continental' breakfast was not great; cereal, toast, cold croissants, mini-Danish and a single cup of coffee with no refill on offer.

In summary, an otherwise great place, but why not contact customers before they arrive so they get a chance to order a decent breakfast?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Gozzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unknown499, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your comments when booking we always advise customers that the room includes a continental breakfast it is also clearly stated on our website and reflected in the cost of the accommodation.
We do however provide a cooked breakfast at an extra charge but we do require 24 hours notice to arrange for a chef to be on site to freshly cook and prepare the breakfast as we only have three ensuite letting rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Only a small establishment, but nicely presented & clean & tidy! Pity there was not a cooked breakfast otherwise perfect! Bathroom was a bit dated, but I was told it was being upgraded shortly! Room was sizeable and well appointed. Food looked very nice and beer was excellent! Would stay again!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank acaciapete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Have eaten here a few times now and the food is always brilliant. Add to that well kept Tring beers and its a great place to be. My only recommendation would be that it could be more cosy at the tables around the side of the bar. The lighting is too bright and its a bit too easy to be overheard but it could be the perfect cosy pub if they put candles on the tables, dimmed the lights and put some background music on. Maybe a few soft furnishings would help too like a couple of comfy chairs or sofas? Its still a great place to be though and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alelover23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Greyhound on Friday 17th & Saturday 18th January. We stayed in the double room with our dog. The room was comfortable, clean & spacious. Their were hot drink facilities & biscuits. Even sachets of hot chocolate which was nice to have & very much appreciated.
We had a fantastic meal & drinks in the bar area on the Friday evening. The bar is cosy with a lovely log fire. We were able to have our dog sit with us throughout the evening. The Greyhound is extremely dog friendly.
On Saturday 18th January we started our day with a leisurely breakfast. The staff kindly had the restaurant laid out for us by 11am.
This gave us plenty of time to set the tables out for our Wedding Reception.
The staff provided excellent service & food throughout the whole day, infact throughout our whole stay.
Everything was perfect. Mark & I would highly recommend The Greyhound for drinks & or food as well as for celebrating any special occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed at the Greyhound for the best part of 3 months whilst working away in Aylesbury. I was made to feel welcome straight away by both the staff and the locals. The bar staff were very attentive and provided a very friendly service. The bedrooms (i tried all 3) were all of a high standard and provided an excellent stay. Best of all was the food - throughout my time at The Greyhound I can honestly say that every meal I had I thoroughly enjoyed. I'd like to thank all the staff at the Greyhound for making my stay so enjoyable and all of the locals for making me feel welcome. I hope to visit again in the near future! Cheers! Dan.

Room Tip: Book in advance - it gets busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We go to this unpretentious country pub regularly. It has a nice atmosphere and serves good food at a reasonable price. It's reputation is getting about so if you wish to visit at the weekend best to book early or they will be full up.

Room Tip: Haven't stayed myself but have heard good things about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Thank you very much Natilee and Andy for hosting a fab Elvis/ Rat Pack night in our local pub. What a way to kick off the festive season! The act was brilliant and the buffet delicious and plentiful. Thank you to all your bar staff in making sure we didn't have to wait for a drink all evening despite the pub being packed full of people. Great atmosphere and lots of fun. Will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank natalie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tring
1.1 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
4.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
579 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 2 in Aldbury
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Champneys Tring
Champneys Tring
#1 of 1 in Tring
1,831 reviews
4.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Queen's Head
#4 of 5 in Tring
4 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound

Address: Chesham Road | Wigginton, Tring HP23 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tring
Price Range: £58 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Greyhound 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find the Greyhound in Wigginton in the heart of the village. Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character with friendly and welcoming staff, well known for its wide range of real ales and fresh food cooked by our award winning Head Chef Andy Batchelor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Greyhound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Tring, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing