We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest pub food”

The Anglers Retreat
Ranked #12 of 46 Restaurants in Tring
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A genuine Free House in an area of outstanding natural beauty. 80 Paces from the Grand Union Canal and 30 paces from Startops Reservoir. This pub has a truly unique atmosphere which has been retained during the recent refurbishment. New cellar and bar equipment are delivering an extended range of fine ales, the kitchen continues with its favourites with a focus on a wide rnge of daily homemade specials. Accommodation is available with 3 ensuite rooms.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good honest pub food”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I've eaten at the Anglers twice in the past month and both meals were good. On the first occasion I had a homemade lamb burger with a lovely mint/yoghurt dressing. This was served with a nice bread roll and decent, though not spectacular, chips. The food here is very good value which gives it an edge over local competition. The pub somewhat lacks ambience, but is nice and relaxed/low-key and certainly friendly and welcoming enough. Service has been quick on both occasions. I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate9253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    34
    13
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pub food, good value.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We've eaten here 4 times now and have enjoyed it every single time. The food is home cooked, tastes great and is good value. Staff are really nice and service is prompt.
Sunday roast is really great - served up with 7 different veg! Had chicken madras today which was the best yet. Can't wait to go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stop another night”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We chanced upon this place on our way home to Stoke from Aylesbury. As it was close to the Grand Union canal, and we enjoy walking, we enquired if there were rooms free and decided to stop another night in the area. What a warm welcome!! It's the kind of place that grows on you.
Food aplenty and no horrendous waiting. En-suite room ideal.
Other local watering-holes in either direction along the canal. Beautiful countryside. We even heard a Cuckoo.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gnasher147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming Hosts At The Angler's Retreat.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

From the moment we arrived up until we departed during our Jolly Boy's Cycle Trip from Croxley Green our hosts, Pauline and Dave looked after us! We had a lovely stay! Lovely accommodation for our well earned overnight stop. Friendly locals adding to the great bar atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAnglersRetreat, Owner at The Anglers Retreat, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It was wonderful meeting you all and look forward to seeing you again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“visiting family”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great place, very friendly, been many times and will return. Great breakfast, love CRISPY, cant wait to see him again. Thanks David for the lift, dont get that sort of treatment very often. See you soon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank keith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anglers Retreat also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Anglers Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing