We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in a great pub. ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anglers Retreat

The Anglers Retreat
Ranked #11 of 41 Restaurants in Tring
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A genuine Free House in an area of outstanding natural beauty. 80 Paces from the Grand Union Canal and 30 paces from Startops Reservoir. This pub has a truly unique atmosphere which has been retained during the recent refurbishment. New cellar and bar equipment are delivering an extended range of fine ales, the kitchen continues with its favourites with a focus on a wide rnge of daily homemade specials. Accommodation is available with 3 ensuite rooms.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great food in a great pub. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Had food here loads of times and its always been amazingly good home cooked proper pub food. Yes its an old pub yes its a regulars pub but they are all friendly and welcoming. Go there if you visit marshworth or the canal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Frazzle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    12
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality Accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was lucky enough to stumble upon this little gem whilst working in pitstone and i stayed for three weeks in all and would gladly go back for another stay with my partner. The rooms are well presented and the curtains let in very little light. Shower pressure and temperature is among the best i've experienced and Pauline simply couldn't do enough for me throughout my entire stay. I never tired of jumping on the mountain bike and hitting the canal toe paths thery're stunning, even the roads are ok for biking. The pub food is great and I only had a meal with chips once as the menu is very varied. I can't comment on the beer as I never had one due to working noons but there was plenty of re-ordering going on by those who were drinking. Free WI-FI too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good honest pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I've eaten at the Anglers twice in the past month and both meals were good. On the first occasion I had a homemade lamb burger with a lovely mint/yoghurt dressing. This was served with a nice bread roll and decent, though not spectacular, chips. The food here is very good value which gives it an edge over local competition. The pub somewhat lacks ambience, but is nice and relaxed/low-key and certainly friendly and welcoming enough. Service has been quick on both occasions. I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate9253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pub food, good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We've eaten here 4 times now and have enjoyed it every single time. The food is home cooked, tastes great and is good value. Staff are really nice and service is prompt.
Sunday roast is really great - served up with 7 different veg! Had chicken madras today which was the best yet. Can't wait to go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stop another night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We chanced upon this place on our way home to Stoke from Aylesbury. As it was close to the Grand Union canal, and we enjoy walking, we enquired if there were rooms free and decided to stop another night in the area. What a warm welcome!! It's the kind of place that grows on you.
Food aplenty and no horrendous waiting. En-suite room ideal.
Other local watering-holes in either direction along the canal. Beautiful countryside. We even heard a Cuckoo.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gnasher147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anglers Retreat also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Anglers Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing