We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute saviour”
Review of The Robin Hood

The Robin Hood
Ranked #15 of 43 Restaurants in Tring
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Thai, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Robin Hood Tring is a lovely 16th Century pub, right on the edge of Tring town centre. With its log burning stoves and cosy low ceilings, the pub delivers a warm welcome in every sense - plus an exciting menu, excellent real ales and good old-fashioned service with a smile. Speciality Sausage nights on Tuesday and Thursday. Food is served all day on Saturday's Sundays from 1800hrs Tip Kao Thai takes over serving authentic fresh cooked Thai. JJ prepares a delightful menu with weekly specials to eat in or take away.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Last minute saviour”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We booked their double room very last minute to stay on Saturday night as we were attending a birthday function at nearby Pendley Manor. The room, which is located in the mews behind the pub, was very clean, tidy, light and airy. Extremely comfortable and huge bed. It is a shared bathroom but only sharing with one other room so no problem there. Warm welcome from the staff in the pub. We didn't eat there so can't comment on food, we had a pint and a glass of wine which came to just over £7 about £2 cheaper than our local in Milton Keynes! We would definitely recommend staying here especially at £60 compared to £170 at Pendley Manor and less than a mile away and where incidentally the police had to be called to remove a very drunk and aggressive groom from his own wedding!

Helpful?
Thank AJTJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    33
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite expensive”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Garden quite small and both staff and customers very friendly. Food looked good, just popped in for drinks before Chilfest. Alcoholic drinks very expensive - a bottle of flavoured cider £4.30 - we're not in London.
Don't think I will be revisiting tho.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ussssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Best pub in Tring”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Robin Hood is the best pub in Tring. You always get a warm welcome, you can lounge for hours and the food is a proper good selection of pub classics. It's everything I need from a pub.

But the best new addition is that on Sunday nights (not every Sunday so it's worth checking), JJ runs a pop up Thai restaurant which is properly properly great. There's a really imaginative and authentic menu of Thai food you'd know as well as a few unusual surprises. The service is exemplary. But the best thing about it is that the food is just fantastic, definitely some of the best Thai food I've ever eaten.

Since I moved to Tring, I said the one thing it needs is a Thai restaurant. Now that JJ is running the pop up, I really think it's got one... and a brilliant one at that.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pop-up thai”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Robin Hood is a lovely old fashioned pub - good beer, no piped music, & not a MacPub.

It now has a pop-up Thai night every Sunday with great, freshly cooked Thai food available. it is not cheap (mains £9) but the taste is awesome. You can also get the food as a take-away.

This is a wonderful addition to a decent tradition pub type menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gros-Cochon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks for your lovely review.
We also feel the pop up Thai is a great addition to our business.
I just have to let you, and anyone reading your review, know that it is not on every Sunday, so its best to call in advance to check.
The Kitchen is run by two ladies who are not always available. That's why we decide to call it a 'Pop Up'
I will let the ladies know that you enjoyed it, as I'm sure it will spur them onto better things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but not as good as expected.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A fine smaller pub with good food. But on this visit the food was a little under what was expected. Starters good, but could tell they were made for the mass market of the pub industry. Main course was ok, but let down by the fact the T bone steak was to big for the size of the plate, with everything else that was included ie, chips,salad,mushroom, tomato and onion rings.The sauce didn't arrive for about 5 mins after getting the main course.The garlic bread was ok but not what was expected, not like you would expect garlic bread to be. This again was delivered a little after getting the main course. It wouldn't put me off visiting this pub again though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 797Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Robin Hood also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
 

Been to The Robin Hood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing