We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve bakers 60th birthday bash”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pendley Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed one night for my friend Steve birthday do. Hotel is very nice a little over warm but on the whole it's very clean and nice with friendly staff. Rooms are very nice and the hotel if full of nice cosy rooms. Breakfast was very nice all the food was fresh and well presented and the staff were on hand to keep the coffee topped up.
The evening do was a hog roast which was very good and the bar had some nice side pocket beer a local brew from Tring little over priced but very nice. Staff needed a little bit of training in running the bar but they did well.
Would I go back well yes I would

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Trevor P thank you for your review I pleased to hear that your enjoyed your friend’s birthday celebrations with us. I am glad to hear that on a busy Sunday morning the breakfast was plentiful and the restaurant staff attentive. We hope you will visit us again soon to enjoy another Tring Brewery Side Pocket also sold in our residents bar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

828 - 834 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have stayed in a suite and a four poster room now.

The worst thing about this hotel are the hair dryers. It'd be quicker to dry my hair wafting my head with a newspaper.

It's true there are bits you can pull holes in about the decor. It could do with a spruce and freshen. However. What is there was expensively done and is really lovely. The beds are comfortable and the room was clean.

The staff are so wonderful and couldn't do enough for you. True one or two could do with a refresher at charm school but they were the exception. The food in the restaurant was fab. I really recommend the deconstructed snickers for desert.

Ive read a lot of people complaining about the quality not meeting their 'true 4*' expectations. If I was paying Dorchester or Lansdowne prices I would complain bitterly. But you aren't. There are rough bits but it's an awesome and romantic place to come stay and won't leave you selling the kids on the way out.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank saraboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you saraboom, it is always a particular pleasure to welcome our return guests. Hairdriers are on the agenda when the bedrooms are refurbished, however reception do have some hand held spares that might be better than the newspaper! Thank you for your kind comments regarding my colleagues and positive remarks concerning dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My daughter and I booked a Spa day with two treatments each. We found the Spa area to be very utilitarian, and reminiscent of school! The décor is somewhat lacking and we had a very basic and poor quality lunch in a small room obviously kept for Spa users. The large television was tuned to a radio station with no means of turning off the constant music. The treatment rooms are small and pokey and the changing room was cold and unappealing. It would appear that the Spa is an 'add-on' to the hotel. However the staff were very polite and helpful but overall it was a disappointing day and not good value for money

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suede13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Suede13_13; thank you for your review of your recent Spa Day; may I thank you for your kind comments about the polite and helpful staff. I am disappointed that you found our Spa Day at £35, including lunch to not be good value for money. We have two treatment rooms adjacent to our leisure facilities and provide a separate changing area to the pool changing rooms for our Day Spa users. I am sorry to hear that you felt these not to be heated to a suitable temperature on the day of your visit; I will certainly be looking into this further. Generally the television is not on in the Spa lunch room unless requested; I apologise that there was no one who could assist you with adjusting the station or turning the television off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband last night and we were both very disappointed with it. The room they allocated us was dated, dark and depressing. It had wallpaper peeling off the wall and the bathroom was grim. We asked to be moved to another room which was marginally better. Again this was very a very tired looking room and bathroom. The shower didn't work properly, and was just a dribble of water coming from the showehead, and the taps were just as bad on the sink as they didn't work properly either. Furthermore the lamps in the room didn't work. We had our 7 week old baby with us and could have done without all the inconvenience. The dinner was average and the prepay option is very misleading! A £2 per person reduction, and limited set menu so be warned! The breakfast was average. The swimming pool facilities were nice and the grounds surrounding the hotel were lovely. During check out we did tell the hotel we were disappointed with our stay. The response we received was that they have a knack to getting the lamps in the room working and that they have a 24 hour maintenance man. The response to the pre pay dinner option was that the hotel only offers a small imcentive. We asked for our bill of £17 to be waived due to the inconvenience and the lady ignored the request when mentioned twice! She was not very personable or sympathetic and did not really take on board our comments. I've stayed in lots of hotels and can honestly say this is the first complaint I've ever made. A very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charls_GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Charls_GG thank you for taking the time to write a review; all feedback is important to us. I am disappointed to read your remarks concerning your stay and in particular the bedroom. I apologise for the inconvenience but glad the team were able to move you swiftly to another bedroom. We hope to move onto the bedroom refurbishment phase in the near future, which will remedy the anomalies that we come across from time to time in the old manor house. The three choice Table D’Hote menu is included in our dinner, bed & breakfast packages, which can be purchased prior to your arrival at a slight discount, you can also use this allowance towards our A La Carte Menu or to the bar menu if you prefer something a little less formal. On the positive side, I am pleased that you enjoyed the leisure facilities and our grounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. Our room was quiet and comfortable, furnishings were fine and the grounds were fantastic. This is a location for travellers who appreciate the beauty of old, polished wood, and who like to dress for dinner. The clientele seemed to be mostly older professionals although there were a few children about. The service was first class as you would expect at such a location. The hotel restaurant was expensive but the food was top class.
We were in Tring from the USA looking for ancestors and relatives and so we only used the hotel for sleeping and didn't take advantage of the spa, gym or other facilities. WiFi worked fine and was useful for us, though.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet, but check the hotel's website to be sure that it is what you are looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you JDR0 for your very kind comments. I hope your family search was successful and that you might be back to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

my wife and I stayed here last night and I've got to say the public areas have been done up very well from the last time I was there 3 years ago, BUT that is where it stops as the rooms although very clean are very dated,tired and battered and the bathrooms are even worse. the bar was empty apart from one couple and our party of eight but it was hard work to get a drink as we had to go to reception twice to find a barman, when he did arrive he could only do one drink at a time. breakfast was ok at best but was disappointed that despite the reputation of the hotel you don't get a personal touch and you had to help yourself to the buffet and for the money you pay for the room I expect better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Richard h; thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you liked the renovations that we have made to our public areas since your last stay. These renovations are on-going we have just last month completed an update of our public toilets and banqueting foyer area. We hope to move onto the bedroom phase in the near future. I disappointed to hear your difficulty in getting service at the bar and sorry you had to go to reception, I can only assume the bar man was servicing guests in another room. We tend to provide a buffet breakfast of both continental and English Breakfast so that you can make your own selection; however we do have a number of items which can be ordered and brought to you at the table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here on business for 1 night.
Room looked very tired with very dated TV and furniture.
Bar was crowded and took some time to get served. Bar prices not too bad, slightly on the steep side.
Food was a pre-booked meal for about 20 of us.
Service was quick enough, and the food was tasty and well presented.
Wine choice was expensive generally.
As with a lot of these types of hotels, they try to cater for business in the week and weddings at weekends.
In need of a general brighten up, but an adequate place to stay for 1 night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisM239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

ChrisM239, thanks for your comments. We hope that the bedrooms will be the next area we visit with our on-going update of the building. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your evening meal, apologies that the bar was busy when you arrived. As you say we are a hotel that caters for many different stays both business and pleasure; we try to accommodate everyone’s requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tring
13.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,321 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,829 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
8.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
887 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Price Range: £58 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, site in 35 acres of beautifully landscaped and wooded parkland; and is the perfect country retreat for leisure breaks, weddings and conferences. Our conference and banqueting facilities are suitable for up to 250 people, including outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Our newly refurbished rooms are offering a spacious modern style, ample natural light and in-room climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor
Pendley Manor Hotel Tring, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing