We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pendley Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Birthday party”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for a birthday party. The setting is absolutely lovely, with the peacocks roaming in the grounds adding to the appeal. The running of the party was faultless and the staff very helpful. Sadly, the room let the hotel down a bit, not the room itself but the shower which was truly awful! It's a hard water area so it could do with regular cleaning of the shower head but that didn't't seem to have happened and consequently it wasn't great at all. I didn't have the opportunity to complain (hangover and a need to get home in the morning) but in fairness to Pendley a friend who had the same experience did complain and was given some money off the bill. That said, a working shower in the morning (esp with a hangover) is a must and this is simple stuff I would have thought. The way my friend was dealt with, and the overall experience of being at the hotel has meant I have given it a VG but it should really be excellent - I'm sure that's what the staff strive for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandCtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
GandCtripper, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Pendley Manor. I cannot ascertain the room number allocated for your stay due to the anonymity of your review, however we will certainly investigate all rooms utilised by guests attending the party to ensure that the showers are all operational. All rooms are checked prior to check in and naturally, had we been made aware of the issues that you report during your stay we would certainly have attempted to remedy the situation. As you state, we are in a very hard water area and as such all showers are regularly de-scaled to ensure operation and presentation. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.
On a more positive note, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the party and highlight the service of the team as excellent. We certainly strive to provide excellent service for all of our guests and I am sure that the team will appreciate the recognition. Thank you for highlighting this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    361
    247
    150
    64
See reviews for
235
447
28
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I pulled up to the manor and were pleasantly surprised by the building and the surroundings. It was very beautiful and peaceful and we were hopeful for a lovely night away. The grounds had a number of roaming peacocks and wild rabbits, which added to the experience.

We were booked into a double room, which was very big to be honest, but just a bit shabby and dated all round. We had a four poster bed - absolutely fine, but didn't scream grandeur in perhaps the way that was hoped. As we explored the room, we noticed that there was no iron or ironing board, limited tea and coffee supplies and a single biscuit for 2 people, no complimentary water, a very dated hair dryer and limited toiletries in the bathroom. To top it off the bathroom and the TV looked like they hadn't been updated for a number of years - the TV itself had very limited channels. And then there was the laminated hotel guide...it just seemed tacky. We were offered free WiFi, but couldn't get any reception in our room, which was a real shame.

We made use of the spa facilities and our treatments were okay. We enjoyed a nice dip in the pool. It was such a shame that the changing rooms were tiny and the all communal areas were very exposed any time the door opened.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel, but had a drink on the way back to our room. The Shakespear bar is lovely and really interesting to look at all the programmes from the previous festivals. We will definitely be attending one of those in the future. Shame then that they'd run out of draught beer when we arrived.

Finally, we made our way down to breakfast. We are both vegetarians and I have to say that it was such a shame that the choices available were quite limited. Also, the sauces on offer were in plastic sachets - a real disappointment.

The staff throughout were lovely and we couldn't fault the service we received, but in all I don't think this was worth the money we spent. Our stay was pleasant as it was time for us to spend together away from the family, but we both agree that there wasn't very much more than pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendover_haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hairy_Haggis, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Pendley Manor and for taking the time to share your comments with us. The anonymous nature of your review does make it impossible to ascertain the room allocated and comment on your stay specifically. However. It is worth noting that we are currently planning a refurbishment programme for the bedrooms which will modernise the rooms in a sympathetic manner to retain the history of the building; please accept my apologies that you found the room to be dated. It is worth highlighting for future guests that additional items for the Hospitality Tray or further toiletries can be requested from Reception 24 hours a day. Irons and alternative hair dryers are also available on request. Thank you for your comments about the Hotel information guides, we will certainly consider how we can alter the in room information packs going forwards.
I will share your comments about Breakfast with the Chef and his team. I was surprised to read that you did not find enjoy our breakfast variety – we usually receive positive comments about the quality and variety of our breakfast. Again, not knowing the specifics of your stay, I can comment further.
On a more positive note, I was pleased that you enjoyed the leisure facilities and the Shakespeare Bar. I was also delighted to read that you received excellent service from the team.

I would very much appreciate it if you could contact me directly so that we can discuss your experience in more detail and ascertain the dates of your stay so that we can investigate your feedback more thoroughly. We certainly hope to welcome you again soon and will endeavour to use your comments positively. Bookings for our Shakespeare festival are on sale online now, so please do have a look at this year’s packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tring hotels

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Beautiful location. Lovely room, super helpful and friendly staff and lovely meal......Murder Mystery entertainment was AWESOME! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pendley Manor and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neezie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Neezie40, thank you for joining us for one of our popular Murder Mystery events. I was pleased that you enjoyed the ‘Mystery’ as well as the meal and your overall stay. I hope that you managed to discover ‘who-dunnit’! I was particularly delighted to read your kind comments about the team and I will certainly share your comments with all team members. Thank you for your recommendations and we certainly hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had the wood panelled Verney Room for 40 friends and family for lunch. Patrick and his staff looked after us all with friendly, relaxed, first class service. Canapes and lunch were lovely. We were all enjoying ourselves so much it was difficult to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear S M, many thanks for commenting on your recent luncheon with us at Pendley Manor. I was delighted to read that Patrick and his team provided such professional service and that you enjoyed your meal. Thank you for also commenting on our historic Verney Room – I am pleased to note that this was a particular highlight. We look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Pendley Manor is a lovely manor house that has been transformed into a hotel, and my husband and I enjoy staying here. Our family lives nearby, and we come annually to England from California to visit them. We have stayed here twice now, in Setpember 2013, and again in May 2014, and really enjoyed are stay. The staff try really hard to please their guests, and they do a great job. This last time, we had a morning arrival, and the General Manager, Renee, so kindly had our room ready for us, so we could get right to bed after the 11 hour plane journey to England. The food is excellent, everything is very fresh, and we have never had a bad meal here. The bar fare is also very good, and if you don't feel like a fancy diner in their lovely, more formal restaurant, the bar menu is a nice, casual choice. We have stayed only in the suites, so can't speak to the regular rooms, but the suites are nicely appointed, the beds are HUGE and very comfortable. There is no AC here, but they provide fans for when it's really hot. This last stay, we also had a family luncheon for about 12 people, including two children, and Renee took care of everything for us. He set us up in the Peacock Lounge, and everyone had a wonderful, hot meal, that all arrived at the same time. They are very welcoming to children, and they are smart to do so, because this is a niche market that is untapped by the other nicer hotels in this area, that don't allow young children to their hotel or restaurants. On our 2013 stay, they welcomed our neice with her little baby to tea, and this stay, they welcomed our family with our 2-year old great nephew and 1-year old great neice. They also have a small, but nice SPA, and Jade, the massues there does a great job of massinging away the jet lag when we visit her! The smaller pool is very clean and lovely, enclosed since it's England, and there is also a jacuzzi. There is a gym and a sauna and steam room, but we haven't used those. Next time, we will have the family in for a snooker game, which we missed the last two times, but is availalbe to guests on a first come, first serve basis. All in all, this a wonderful place to stay, and we commend everyone at Pendley Manor for their excellent, warm service. And YES, they actually have beautiful, real, live peacocks roaming the grounds all day long, as well as other wonderful birds, rabbits, deer, and even bucks, if you are lucky enough to see them in the early evening! Enjoy Pendley Manor when you are in the picturesque Hertfordshire/Buckinghamshire area.

Room Tip: We recommend rooms on the East facing side of the hotel. The West side can be a little warm in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SisterMoon_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
SisterMoon_08, many thanks for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us at Pendley Manor in such detail. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. I will certainly ensure that your kind comments are shared with the team members, especially those as whom you highlight as particularly going the extra mile. We do pride ourselves on our service levels and your kind review will certainly serve to motivate the team further. We look forward to your next visit with us and we certainly hope that you enjoyed the rest of your European trip. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Superb choice of venue for our Golden Wedding Celebration Lunch. With a temperature of 24 degrees C and glorious sunshine we were able to make use of the extensive hotel grounds to serve pre lunch drinks and canapes, before moving through to the Verney Room in the hotel for lunch. At our request the room had a square table setting with an open centre, to seat our party of 24, with the anniversary cake and wedding albums on display on the sideboard. We were served an excellent 3 course meal, with guests having preordered from a menu offering three choices at each course, and great care taken by the servers to ensure everyone received the meal they had ordered without any prompting from guests. White and red wine, with orange juice and water was served throughout the meal with servers ensuring glasses were kept topped up. Following short speeches and a champagne toast the occasion was rounded off with coffee and anniversary cake, and the whole occasion was most enjoyable with excellent support and organisation by Pendley Manor staff and mangement who were extremely efficient and professional thoughout.
The Pendley Manor venue was ideal for the occasion as a large traditional country mansion, set in its own extensive grounds, well away from the main road, and with peacocks roaming in the grounds to complete the rural setting, and extensive car parking facilities. Our thanks to the management and staff for for a truly memorable lunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Malcolm10; thank you very much for your recent review, following your Golden Wedding Anniversary Celebrations at the hotel. May I take this opportunity to wish you a belated “Congratulations” from us all, a very notable milestone! It is great to hear that you were able to make use of the grounds for your arrival drinks and canapés as the weather was kind. I wonder if it was as sunny 50 years ago? I am glad to hear that the day ran smoothly and efficiently I will be sure to share with the events, kitchen and restaurant teams your comments. I do hope we will see you at Pendley Manor again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Fantastic hotel, room was amazing with 4 poster bed. Food fantastic. Facilities excellent. Cannot fault Pendley Manor. Staff very helpful and courteous.
Looking forward to returning again soon, perhaps for another murder mystery night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jax33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Jax33 thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel; after your recent “murder mystery” trip to us. I do hope you managed to work out “who done it!” I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and will ensure that this is fed back to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Pendley Manor very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tring
11.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,739 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
13.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
673 reviews
8.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
831 reviews
8.8 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Property: Pendley Manor Hotel
Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, site in 35 acres of beautifully landscaped and wooded parkland; and is the perfect country retreat for leisure breaks, weddings and conferences. Our conference and banqueting facilities are suitable for up to 250 people, including outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Our newly refurbished rooms are offering a spacious modern style, ample natural light and in-room climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor
Pendley Manor Hotel Tring, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing