We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pendley Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Having just returned from an overnight stay thought I would let others know how nice this Hotel is..

Despite requiring imo a bit of a spruce up..The Staff from the minute we walked in until we left were very very attentive..The 3 Course Dinner was excellent as was the breakfast the next morning..The grounds were a nice easy stroll with three peacocks roaming around with you and well maintained..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
CS, thank you for taking the time to comment on you recent stay with us at Pendley Manor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the service provided by the team. Thank you for awarding us with ‘top marks’ for service. I will certainly share your kind comments about dinner and breakfast with the Chef and his team, who will certainly appreciate the recognition.

Our refurbishment programme is ongoing; we will soon have completed the refurbishment of our Conference and Events area.

Thank you again for your review – we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    348
    243
    147
    58
See reviews for
224
430
28
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was here on a business trip and the food and service were great. The hotel is in a lovely setting and I enjoyed my stay but the décor is a little tired, no air con in rooms, hairdryer not worth bothering with, no iron in rooms and generally in need of an update. Having said that it is a lovely place and they seem to be working their way round updating, I could smell paint in certain parts of the hotel so they must be decorating. The food was superb, breakfast, lunch and dinner all get 5 stars from me. With a little update this would be an absolute gem.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back if you want a quieter one. Some of the rooms at the front have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradfordLadyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
BradfordLadyM thank you for taking the time to review us, after your recent business trip. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food offering during your stay. As you correctly say we are in the process of refurbishment and will shortly be reaching the end of our conference room upgrade. All the items you address in regards to the bedrooms are on our list for when the bedroom renovation begins. Hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just got back from a murder mystery break and we all thought it was fantastic. The hotel was really nice and all of the staff were friendly and made us feel really welcome. The food was excellent and the hotel was really clean and the rooms were very spacious. The ground were highly maintained and if the weather was nice we would of explored a bit more. Money Penny productions put on a brilliant play. The deal we got was from Travel Zoo and it was really worth it and we would go again without hesitation.

Room Tip: 128 had a for poster bed and sofa bed very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
ValerieH, many thanks for joining us at Pendley Manor for one of our Murder Mystery evenings and for taking the time to write a review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the evening and I certainly hope that you managed to identify the perpetrator! Thank you for commenting on the value of the package.
I was delighted to read that you enjoy the rooms, meal and above all the service provided by the team. I will certainly share your kind comments with the team who will be motivated by the recognition.
We hope to welcome you again when hopefully the weather will be better enabling you to enjoy our outside areas. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is more than tired the rooms are horrendous, we stayed in a garden view room and just looked over the car parks which was noisy! The hairdryer was antiquated and wouldn't dry anyone's hair, couldn't even wash it as shower was cold! Room was too hot as no air con and very stuffy. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here a travel lodge would be better! The decor is vile wallpaper peeling off. Needs a re vamp desperatley.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsAVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
MrsAVP, thank you for choosing to stay at Pendley Manor and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Naturally we are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We can identify the room from the photographs, thank you for this. Please accept our apologies that you did not enjoy the experience.
I cannot ascertain the exact date that you stayed due to the anonymous nature of your review, however, had we been made aware of any maintenance issues or your evident dissatisfaction we would certainly have attempted to address such issues at the time.
On a more positive note, we are currently phasing out some of the older style of hair-dryers with more modern alternatives prior to our main refurbishment work that will commence on the bedrooms soon. Our design team are currently planning for the bedroom furnishings which will capture guest comfort , design and also maintain the traditional history in our ‘Manor Rooms’.
We certainly hope that you will return to visit us again. Please contact me personally to discuss your stay in more detail – I would appreciate any additional insight into your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tring hotels

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We went for the murder mystery package but also had afternoon tea.
The hotel is typical of a country house. Bearing in mind the size of the place it's in reasonable condition with a nice outside area and a good size pool for a hotel. We paid £20 to upgrade to a small suite and it was well worth it. Rooms were great.

The staff were all very helpful at all times. One to two language issues from time to time but generally excellent.

The afternoon tea and dinner were both vary good and the murder mystery superb fun.

As with all country hotels drinks are on the pricey side but selection was good and service quick.

Breakfast is a Buffett so plenty of it. As with all buffet breakfast you can't expect to come down 2 minutes before it ends and expect copious amounts of freshly cooked food. We were there a little earlier and were quite happy. Some of our party came later and were less so.

All in all, a good hotel, well staffed and well worth a visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Partying666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Partying666, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Pendley Manor Hotel.
I was pleased to read that you were able to enjoy our broad range of facilities including our expansive gardens here during your visit as well as the Murder Mystery. I hope that you were able to work out ‘who dunnit’! Thank you for highlighting that the team were helpful throughout you visit and that the upgrade to a Junior Suite was worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Delightful afternoon tea, the food was delicious and plenty of it. Set in such a scenic location, and the Peacock Lounge has wonderful views of the grounds. I especially enjoyed the addition of the white peacock to the collection. The staff were very friendly too. Only downfall was the length of time it took to clear some of the tables, and that some tables were left bare without a table cloth.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Merle07 thank you for taking the time to review the afternoon tea you had with us recently. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the tea, the overall experience and particularly that the team looked after you well. Our famous white peacock certainly believes he is the true owner of Pendley Manor, and is generally available for photo shoots! We normally only cloth tables booked for afternoon tea however I take your comment on board as perhaps something we can consider doing all the time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for a birthday party. The setting is absolutely lovely, with the peacocks roaming in the grounds adding to the appeal. The running of the party was faultless and the staff very helpful. Sadly, the room let the hotel down a bit, not the room itself but the shower which was truly awful! It's a hard water area so it could do with regular cleaning of the shower head but that didn't't seem to have happened and consequently it wasn't great at all. I didn't have the opportunity to complain (hangover and a need to get home in the morning) but in fairness to Pendley a friend who had the same experience did complain and was given some money off the bill. That said, a working shower in the morning (esp with a hangover) is a must and this is simple stuff I would have thought. The way my friend was dealt with, and the overall experience of being at the hotel has meant I have given it a VG but it should really be excellent - I'm sure that's what the staff strive for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandCtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
GandCtripper, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Pendley Manor. I cannot ascertain the room number allocated for your stay due to the anonymity of your review, however we will certainly investigate all rooms utilised by guests attending the party to ensure that the showers are all operational. All rooms are checked prior to check in and naturally, had we been made aware of the issues that you report during your stay we would certainly have attempted to remedy the situation. As you state, we are in a very hard water area and as such all showers are regularly de-scaled to ensure operation and presentation. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.
On a more positive note, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the party and highlight the service of the team as excellent. We certainly strive to provide excellent service for all of our guests and I am sure that the team will appreciate the recognition. Thank you for highlighting this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tring
13.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Property: Pendley Manor Hotel
Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, site in 35 acres of beautifully landscaped and wooded parkland; and is the perfect country retreat for leisure breaks, weddings and conferences. Our conference and banqueting facilities are suitable for up to 250 people, including outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Our newly refurbished rooms are offering a spacious modern style, ample natural light and in-room climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor
Pendley Manor Hotel Tring, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing