We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murder Mystery entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pendley Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Attended a murder mystery night (Amazon Local voucher deal). Standard room was large enough but poor decor and old. Badly in need of a refurbish. 3 course dinner was part of the deal and was good. The MM entertainment was very good. Lovely grounds, did not use the pool.
Breakfast was disappointing - very poor service, we had to ask for tea/coffee after sitting at our table for over 10min. Then had to ask for cups! Hot buffet sparse and had to wait ages for refills. Pastries were also very limited, not much. They seem to put so little out at a time, despite it being so busy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WLT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineMBradford, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

WLT83, many thanks for joining us at Pendley Manor Hotel for one of our popular Murder Mystery events and for reviewing your experience with us.

I cannot ascertain the exact room that you used due to the anonymous nature of your review, however it is worth highlighting that all bedrooms are due to be refurbished soon. We have been undertaking a hotel-wide refurbishment and I trust that these improvements were apparent in the Bar and Restaurant areas.

Please accept my apologies if the breakfast was not to our usual high standards of quality and service. We normally receive positive feedback about our breakfast. I will certainly share your feedback with the Restaurant team and we shall try and use this in a positive manner in the future.

On a more positive note, I was pleased that you were able to enjoy the grounds as well as the Murder Mystery dinner. Thank you for highlighting these aspects of your stay.

We certainly hope to welcome you again in the future. Thank you for commenting on your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
There are newer reviews for Pendley Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just got back from an overnight stay. The hotel is in need of refurbishment as the rooms are tired and a little dated. That said...the room we had was very big with a seperate sitting room and lovely comfy four poster bed.
We enjoyed using the gym and spa facilities although again these need updating but were very clean and did the job!
The grounds are beautiful and location is very good.
Staff are very pleasant and helpful.
Overall we would definately come back. The hotel offered us a lovely relaxing night away for our anniversary and I was more than happy to overlook the decor.
I would recommend the hotel for those looking for friendly and comfortable rather than luxury.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineMBradford, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Julie T, many thanks for choosing to stay with us at Pendley Manor and for taking the time to comment on your stay.

It is worth highlighting that we are currently undergoing refurbishment in the Hotel. Our public areas including the restaurant and bar have already been refurbished and our Conference and Events area is approaching completion. The next phase of this refurbishment will be the upgrades to our bedroom area. However, I was pleased to read that you found the room to be comfortable.

Thank you for highlighting the service provided by the team. I will certainly share your kind comments with the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff at Pendley did an AMAZING job looking after my husband and I, and our guests at our wedding on the 17th May 2014. From our very first meeting with Kristina, who is the wedding planner, through to the actual day, where we were looked after by Patrick and Hugo, the wedding co-ordinators, we could not fault one thing. The venue is just beautiful, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the food was amazing. Our guests are still talking about what a wonderful venue Pendley was, and we are so happy we chose to spend our special day there. Thanks again to everybody for making our day perfect. Lisa and Craig

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SprockettJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Lisa and Craig, thank you for choosing to hold your wedding celebrations with us at Pendley Manor and for taking the time to comment on your experience with us.

I was delighted to read that you and your guests had such a fantastic and memorable day. I will certainly share your kind comments with the team who will certainly recall your big day and appreciate the recognition.

We hope to welcome you again for future family celebrations. Wishing you all the best for your future together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for one night, as part of a Murder Mystery Dinner.
We arrived mid afternoon and after settling into a very spacious twin room, on the ground floor, we walked around the grounds. Several peacocks roamed and we were lucky to see the white peacock with a full feather display.
The beds were very comfortable. We took a swim before breakfast. The pool is a good size and plentiful large towels provided in the changing rooms.
All the staff we met, were polite and helpful
The breakfast was plentiful and excellent choices.
The surroundings were very peaceful.
Would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 021. A ground floor room with views of the rear gardens. It was very quiet at nigh...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Noreen B, thank you for joining us for one of our popular Murder Mystery evenings and for taking the time to comment on your stay.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the time to make use of our Leisure Facilities and grounds. I was particularly pleased to read that the team provided excellent service.

Thank you for commenting that you would recommend us to others. We certainly hope to welcome you again in the near future – it’s not always the same culprit in the Murder Mystery, so you can try to work out ‘who dunnit’ on another occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Having just returned from an overnight stay thought I would let others know how nice this Hotel is..

Despite requiring imo a bit of a spruce up..The Staff from the minute we walked in until we left were very very attentive..The 3 Course Dinner was excellent as was the breakfast the next morning..The grounds were a nice easy stroll with three peacocks roaming around with you and well maintained..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

CS, thank you for taking the time to comment on you recent stay with us at Pendley Manor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the service provided by the team. Thank you for awarding us with ‘top marks’ for service. I will certainly share your kind comments about dinner and breakfast with the Chef and his team, who will certainly appreciate the recognition.

Our refurbishment programme is ongoing; we will soon have completed the refurbishment of our Conference and Events area.

Thank you again for your review – we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was here on a business trip and the food and service were great. The hotel is in a lovely setting and I enjoyed my stay but the décor is a little tired, no air con in rooms, hairdryer not worth bothering with, no iron in rooms and generally in need of an update. Having said that it is a lovely place and they seem to be working their way round updating, I could smell paint in certain parts of the hotel so they must be decorating. The food was superb, breakfast, lunch and dinner all get 5 stars from me. With a little update this would be an absolute gem.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back if you want a quieter one. Some of the rooms at the front have balconies...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradfordLadyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

BradfordLadyM thank you for taking the time to review us, after your recent business trip. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food offering during your stay. As you correctly say we are in the process of refurbishment and will shortly be reaching the end of our conference room upgrade. All the items you address in regards to the bedrooms are on our list for when the bedroom renovation begins. Hope you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just got back from a murder mystery break and we all thought it was fantastic. The hotel was really nice and all of the staff were friendly and made us feel really welcome. The food was excellent and the hotel was really clean and the rooms were very spacious. The ground were highly maintained and if the weather was nice we would of explored a bit more. Money Penny productions put on a brilliant play. The deal we got was from Travel Zoo and it was really worth it and we would go again without hesitation.

Room Tip: 128 had a for poster bed and sofa bed very spacious
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

ValerieH, many thanks for joining us at Pendley Manor for one of our Murder Mystery evenings and for taking the time to write a review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the evening and I certainly hope that you managed to identify the perpetrator! Thank you for commenting on the value of the package.
I was delighted to read that you enjoy the rooms, meal and above all the service provided by the team. I will certainly share your kind comments with the team who will be motivated by the recognition.
We hope to welcome you again when hopefully the weather will be better enabling you to enjoy our outside areas. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tring
13.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#4 of 10 in St Albans
2,262 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,784 reviews
8.8 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
696 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,303 reviews
8.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Price Range: £56 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, site in 35 acres of beautifully landscaped and wooded parkland; and is the perfect country retreat for leisure breaks, weddings and conferences. Our conference and banqueting facilities are suitable for up to 250 people, including outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Our newly refurbished rooms are offering a spacious modern style, ample natural light and in-room climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor
Pendley Manor Hotel Tring, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing