We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS. A CLEAN HOTEL. ONE NIGHT WAS ENOUGH.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pendley Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS. A CLEAN HOTEL. ONE NIGHT WAS ENOUGH.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We too visited for the Murder Night. Our room was large spotlessly clean and well presented.
The drinks I found expensive...a Coke came a a spilt size of 200cls ... Not even the size of a can.
The breakfast was ...OK...but nothing was hot, just warm...there was no decaf coffee available.
I have never had bendy toast before it was so undercooked.
For what we paid on a special offer it was fine but I have no incentive to return...sad because they get some things so right and some so wrong. They require a provisional credit card transaction of £25 on arrival.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineMBradford, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
RaymondA, many thanks for staying with us at Pendley Manor for a recent Murder Mystery evening and for taking the time to comment on your stay.

Please accept my apologies that the breakfast experience was not up to our usual high standards for your visit. I have passed your comments on to the Restaurant team who will be taking further action to prevent recurrence. I was particularly surprised that you were advised that no decaf coffee was available as we always have a stock of this alternative.

Thank you for highlighting the standards of housekeeping and room presentation. Our Head Housekeeper and her team strive to achieve high standards and they appreciate your kind recognition.

We certainly hope that the positive aspects of your stay would encourage you to return. We would welcome the opportunity to demonstrate our usual high standards of breakfast service. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    352
    246
    148
    58
See reviews for
226
436
28
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have just come back from on overnight stay at Pendley Manor.

The grounds are spectacular with an approach by car that makes you feel as though its the turn of the century. They are immaculately kept with peacocks roaming around outside, including an Albino peacock which is stunning.

We had a weekend break deal which included a meal off a set menu and option to upgrade to the A La Carte. It was a pleasant surprise that the options on the set were very god and we ordered from this. The meal itself was delightful, the Sea Bass was lovely, if a little small and the Sirloin was very tender and cooked perfectly. The restaurant staff were helpful and accommodating.

Breakfast was a little disappointing. We arrived 30 mins before it was due to finish. There were no fried eggs or glasses for the fruit juice on the buffet. That isn't an issue if it is dealt with quickly but it wasn't. Despite asking we were left waiting for over 10 mins and I had to ask someone else if they could get 2 glasses from somewhere with eggs arriving after that. The potatoes were also undercooked.

This has the potential to be special. There was a wedding in the hotel but you would never know from the noise. Its a big property, with amazing views but the hotel itself is not as well looked after as the grounds. The door frames are chipped, the décor is tired. The TV in room appeared to be a late 1990's model although it was plugged into digital. There was no fridge in the room.

If all this sounds negative, we did have a nice time. It just has the potential to be amazing

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristolrob1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineMBradford, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Bristolrob1966, many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent visit to Pendley Manor Hotel.

Please accept my apologies that you found the service standards at breakfast to be below our usually high standards. Generally we receive very positive feedback about the quality of the breakfast and service delivery. I will certainly share your experience with the team and we will endeavour to avoid such a recurrence. With regards to your comments about the overall décor, these issues will certainly be resolved when the bedroom refurbishment commences.

On a more positive note, I was delighted that the other aspects of your stay were enjoyable. We are proud of the presentation of our grounds and appreciate guests making the most of these in fine weather. I was pleased to note that you were not disturbed by the wedding and that your evening meal experience was excellent.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and we certainly hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just returned from a Murder Mystery overnight stay which we bought through Travelzoo. The hotel is beautiful with lots of character and the staff were welcoming and very friendly. It is set in beautiful grounds with peacocks walking around outside so it is lovely and quiet.

Our hotel room was quite small but adequate for our needs. It had a 4 poster bed which was very comfy and tea making facilities. The bathroom needed updating and the toilet did not flush every time, but was clean and fluffy white towels were provided.

We used the pool and spa facilities which included a pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Again plenty of towels were provided and the facilities were free to use during our stay and were very good.

There was a 3-course meal provided which was a set menu. The food was very good, hot and tasty.

The Murder Mystery entertainment was excellent and the actors very talented. Great laughs and great to join in. The seating is arranged by a seating plan so you sit where shown on the plan and each table forms a team. A great way to meet new friends.

Breakfast the next morning was also included. This was very nicely presented where you help yourself from the room next door. Tea, coffee and toast is brought to the table and you can also order other items off a menu. The food was very good.

On the whole, this was a most enjoyable stay and if a similar offer comes up in the future we would definitely consider taking it up.

Room Tip: Rooms do vary in size and some have 4 poster beds. Ask at reception to see if you can have an upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill-and-Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineMBradford, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Bill-and-Pauline, many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us at Pendley Manor Hotel. I hope you managed to identify the culprit during the Murder Mystery!

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the meals provided in our Restaurant. I will certainly share your kind comments with the Restaurant team.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. We hope to soon commence on the next stages of our refurbishment which will include upgrades to all bedrooms and bathrooms.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Attended a murder mystery night (Amazon Local voucher deal). Standard room was large enough but poor decor and old. Badly in need of a refurbish. 3 course dinner was part of the deal and was good. The MM entertainment was very good. Lovely grounds, did not use the pool.
Breakfast was disappointing - very poor service, we had to ask for tea/coffee after sitting at our table for over 10min. Then had to ask for cups! Hot buffet sparse and had to wait ages for refills. Pastries were also very limited, not much. They seem to put so little out at a time, despite it being so busy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineMBradford, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
WLT83, many thanks for joining us at Pendley Manor Hotel for one of our popular Murder Mystery events and for reviewing your experience with us.

I cannot ascertain the exact room that you used due to the anonymous nature of your review, however it is worth highlighting that all bedrooms are due to be refurbished soon. We have been undertaking a hotel-wide refurbishment and I trust that these improvements were apparent in the Bar and Restaurant areas.

Please accept my apologies if the breakfast was not to our usual high standards of quality and service. We normally receive positive feedback about our breakfast. I will certainly share your feedback with the Restaurant team and we shall try and use this in a positive manner in the future.

On a more positive note, I was pleased that you were able to enjoy the grounds as well as the Murder Mystery dinner. Thank you for highlighting these aspects of your stay.

We certainly hope to welcome you again in the future. Thank you for commenting on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just got back from an overnight stay. The hotel is in need of refurbishment as the rooms are tired and a little dated. That said...the room we had was very big with a seperate sitting room and lovely comfy four poster bed.
We enjoyed using the gym and spa facilities although again these need updating but were very clean and did the job!
The grounds are beautiful and location is very good.
Staff are very pleasant and helpful.
Overall we would definately come back. The hotel offered us a lovely relaxing night away for our anniversary and I was more than happy to overlook the decor.
I would recommend the hotel for those looking for friendly and comfortable rather than luxury.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineMBradford, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Julie T, many thanks for choosing to stay with us at Pendley Manor and for taking the time to comment on your stay.

It is worth highlighting that we are currently undergoing refurbishment in the Hotel. Our public areas including the restaurant and bar have already been refurbished and our Conference and Events area is approaching completion. The next phase of this refurbishment will be the upgrades to our bedroom area. However, I was pleased to read that you found the room to be comfortable.

Thank you for highlighting the service provided by the team. I will certainly share your kind comments with the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff at Pendley did an AMAZING job looking after my husband and I, and our guests at our wedding on the 17th May 2014. From our very first meeting with Kristina, who is the wedding planner, through to the actual day, where we were looked after by Patrick and Hugo, the wedding co-ordinators, we could not fault one thing. The venue is just beautiful, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the food was amazing. Our guests are still talking about what a wonderful venue Pendley was, and we are so happy we chose to spend our special day there. Thanks again to everybody for making our day perfect. Lisa and Craig

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SprockettJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Lisa and Craig, thank you for choosing to hold your wedding celebrations with us at Pendley Manor and for taking the time to comment on your experience with us.

I was delighted to read that you and your guests had such a fantastic and memorable day. I will certainly share your kind comments with the team who will certainly recall your big day and appreciate the recognition.

We hope to welcome you again for future family celebrations. Wishing you all the best for your future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for one night, as part of a Murder Mystery Dinner.
We arrived mid afternoon and after settling into a very spacious twin room, on the ground floor, we walked around the grounds. Several peacocks roamed and we were lucky to see the white peacock with a full feather display.
The beds were very comfortable. We took a swim before breakfast. The pool is a good size and plentiful large towels provided in the changing rooms.
All the staff we met, were polite and helpful
The breakfast was plentiful and excellent choices.
The surroundings were very peaceful.
Would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 021. A ground floor room with views of the rear gardens. It was very quiet at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Noreen B, thank you for joining us for one of our popular Murder Mystery evenings and for taking the time to comment on your stay.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the time to make use of our Leisure Facilities and grounds. I was particularly pleased to read that the team provided excellent service.

Thank you for commenting that you would recommend us to others. We certainly hope to welcome you again in the near future – it’s not always the same culprit in the Murder Mystery, so you can try to work out ‘who dunnit’ on another occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tring
13.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
9.1 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Property: Pendley Manor Hotel
Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, site in 35 acres of beautifully landscaped and wooded parkland; and is the perfect country retreat for leisure breaks, weddings and conferences. Our conference and banqueting facilities are suitable for up to 250 people, including outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Our newly refurbished rooms are offering a spacious modern style, ample natural light and in-room climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor
Pendley Manor Hotel Tring, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing