We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in own grounds near station for commuting to London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pendley Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good Hotel in own grounds near station for commuting to London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Staff and food very good, been to hotel on a number of occasions and have always received first class service. If anything wrong with room and/or food put right very efficiently. Train Station only about 15 minutes walk away, or taxi cost approx £5 to whisk you into central London ( Euston)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveBrad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
Thanks for writing this review; it is always good to hear from our returning guests.

It is encouraging to read of your experiences with regard to service and that you enjoy our food. It’s particularly pleasing to read that the team take prompt action to remedy any issues that may arise, I do hope that it’s not necessary too often though.

Hope you will return soon – whilst London is so near, the local area also has much to offer for a relaxing weekend in the country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    348
    243
    147
    58
See reviews for
224
430
28
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

The afternoon Tea Party was arranged with absolutely no problems. Just one of the many visits made. The staff were extremely helpful, the sandwiches and cakes were delicious. The young man who served was lovely and the accomodation in the 'Peacock lounge' was so very comfortable. This is a Hotel and Spa that has given my family some wonderful service oover a number of years and it never fails to impress.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_poole32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
Thank you for your positive review.

I’m pleased that your afternoon tea party was enjoyable, I will ensure that chef and the service team are made aware of your kind comments – they will be delighted to read your remarks and pleased to know their efforts have resulted in an enjoyable occasion for you and your family.

Looking forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

My wife and I, and friends, attended the 61st Annual Shakespeare Festival at this delightful countryhouse hotel on the outskirts of Tring to watch the evening performance of the Taming of the Shrew, staged in the grounds of the hotel. The standard of acting and modern interpretation of this Shakespeare play was excellent, against a backdrop of an open air stage in the grounds of the hotel, and with the occasional call of the peacocks and peahens roaming freely in the grounds adding to the natural setting.

Before taking our seats for the performance starting at 20,00hrs we enjoyed a three course meal in the hotel's restaurant, with nicely cooked and presented dishes, served by courteous and efficient waiting staff, and all carefully timed to ensure we were able to take our seats in good time for the start of the evening entertainment.

Altogether a most enjoyable evening of dinner and entertainment presented in the grounds of this charming countryhouse hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to read that you and your friends enjoyed your visit, and that you enjoyed our production of the Taming of the Shrew .Thanks also for your kind comments regarding your meal experience in our Oak restaurant.

The Festival team are currently planning the 62nd festival when they present A Winters Tale (Aug 2nd – 6th 2011) and the Merry Wives of Windsor (Aug 9th – 13th 2011)

We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

I had a very extended stay due to work and really felt at home. The staff were always willing to go a little further to make a solo visitor feel relaxed. The food was excellent, staff efficient and the peacocks are amazing. A lot of the 'stately home' features are still evident, mixed very well with modern touches. They seem to cope equally as well with the business traveller and the tourists. I will return and would reccomend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maidmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your many stays with us.

It is encouraging to read such kind comments, particularly with regard to the teams efforts to “go the extra mile” in delivering a good service level. Chef and his brigade will be pleased to read your remarks concerning their food.
As for the peacocks – did you know we have 5 chicks this year!

Please do come back soon, it’s our pleasure to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Stayed recently at Pendley Manor for a family reunion. Our rooms were lovely and spacious with 2 huge double beds. The food was terrific and the staff who looked after us from arrival to departure couldn't be more helpful. A very enjoyable stay!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venuetryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed this special occasion with us.
I will pass on your kind comments to the team who will be appreciative of your time in posting this review

We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Half the hotel was covered in scaffolding for our stay so it wasn't looking as splendid as the brochure. The brochure also omits the new-build section tacked on the side which tries to be in keeping with the rest of the architecture but fails, and looks like your typical "business conference hotel".

The bed wasn't particularly comfortable, being on the hard side for my liking but I guess that's personal preference.

Breakfast was very disappointing. Ending at 9:30am on a Saturday seemed a bit early, but worse still they stopped putting new food out for the cooked buffet at 9am, so there was just a single sausage and some tired looking bacon for my partner and me to fight over.. so we opted for the "continental", which essentially consisted of some half-cooked toast, weak fruit juice and a selection of Kellogs best cereals.. Certainly not worth £12 a head (if paying separately).

The staff were all pleasant enough but clearly English was not the first or even second language for any of them.

We had a large-ish room, but it had hardly any furniture, save for a small round table which just emphasised how bare it was. The TV was a rather quaint old style cathode-ray job with rather weak reception for all but 3 channels.

Our stay was perhaps worth £60-70, not £120 for the night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exiges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel.

I am sorry that you were disappointed by aspects of your stay and assure you that your comments have been taken note of.
We are currently in the process of upgrading the property – hence the scaffold that is currently erected on about 20% of the front elevation, I’m pleased to be able to say that this work is nearing completion.

I am sorry that the buffet was not replenished as it should have been and have followed this through with the team so as to ensure this is given particular attention in the future.
Thank you also for your kind remarks concerning the staff you encountered, certainly many are from other parts of the world, I hope that they were all able to communicate effectively with you and deliver a great service.

I hope that you will visit us again soon, please do contact me personally when you plan to, it would be a pleasure to welcome you personally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tring hotels

Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

went for sunday lunch yesterday. on arrival we thought o no gordon ramsey will come in soon as there wasn,t any other guests in the resturant and we thought it must be a boil in the bag type resturant which wasn,t any good. we was plesently surprised when the first course came as it was resturant made and very tasty. the main course of roast beef and veg was also very tasty.sweet was good also coffee and chocolates.all for £22.50 was great value. next time we go we will ask if there will be any other guest booked in .

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chris169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Thank you for visiting the Oak restaurant,and for your kind comments which are appreciated.
We have recently introduced our traditional Sunday Lunch offer and very much hope that next time you visit you will be joined by many other guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tring
13.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Property: Pendley Manor Hotel
Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, site in 35 acres of beautifully landscaped and wooded parkland; and is the perfect country retreat for leisure breaks, weddings and conferences. Our conference and banqueting facilities are suitable for up to 250 people, including outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Our newly refurbished rooms are offering a spacious modern style, ample natural light and in-room climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor
Pendley Manor Hotel Tring, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing