We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”
Review of The Bonchurch Inn

The Bonchurch Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bonchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 4 August 2021

A holiday on the Isle of Wight isn't complete without at least a couple of visits to the Bonchurch Inn. Always friendly and attentive staff, you're welcomed into a small but wonderfully characterful inn. The food is superb, and you have to try the Life Changing Lasagne, it really is the best I've ever had!! We've just had our second visit of the week, and I'm already looking forward to visiting again next year!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2021 via mobile

We booked a table here in advance of our stay on the island after careful consideration of the menu ensuring it suited the needs of our family - including a vegetarian, and other dietary needs. On arrival we found it difficult to park close by as there is no car park and the surrounding roads are mainly double yellow lined.
We were greeted in a friendly manner and shown to our table, where we were given menus and ordered some drinks. We were then told of various items not available from what was already a fairly limited menu. One of these unavailable items was veggie lasagne with the alternative given to us as meat lasagne (not much use to the vegetarians in our party).
We were really struggling to select what to eat from the depleted menu, and we are by no means first eaters.
When our drinks were brought to the table we found the water to be unclear, the soft fizzy drinks were decidedly flat and the beer was warm, flat and sour tasting. At things point, we decided to leave without eating. We had little faith in the food being pleasant given the lack of choice, availability and poor drinks.

We will not be trying the place again.

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank debbiewD2352MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

We sat outside in the courtyard (my wife and I). Very pleaseant. The staff were ver welcoming and attentive. The lasagne was recommended. We were both so pleased that we went for it - amazing. It was so light but packed full of flavour. The house red was a ood accompanient to it. Recommended.

Date of visit: June 2021
2  Thank Al_and_boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2021

(This review was written for a visit in July 2021 just prior to "Freedom Day")

Yes this is a totally unofficial challenge and should not be attempted in the wet, ice or dark. You do need to have a degree of fitness and not suitable for wheelchairs, buggies, zimmers or small children. Well at least the last stage shouldn't be, the middle stage is fine for nearly everyone.

Stage 1
Park on Leeson Road, there is a nice little car park with good views fairly close to Bonchurch Shute. Walk down to the Inn via Bonchurch Shute.

Stage 2
Enjoy a good meal.
We sat in the courtyard and didn't go inside so I can't comment on the internal decor. I can't comment much on the menu since of the five of use, my veggie daughter had the Mac and Cheese Carbonarra (sans crispy parma ham) which used some blue cheese in the sauce (not my cup of tea) and all the rest of us had the Life Changing Lasagne for which the Inn is justly famous. While Life Changing maybe a little hyperbole it was probably the best I've eaten. Portion sizes are good with a nice combination of pasta and sauce(s). It really is very good.
The staff were attentive and friendly. They made sure we had what we needed and could answer any questions we asked. The courtyard got a little cool towards end of meal (but I was wearing shorts and Tshirt.

Stage 3
Pay for your meal. This is very important and allows the Inn to carry on serving their lasagne and therefore changing lives.

Stage 4 (And I really do mean don't try this if it's slippery under foot and the whole party has some degree of fitness. Don't attempt drunk).
Exit the Inn and turn right down the hill. Turn right onto The Pitts and follow until you see the footpath sign pointing right to Upper BonChurch. Walk between two houses and you come to some steps. These now lead back to the top of the hill but in much shorter distance than your used to come down. Yes there are steps cut into the face of the cliff and by the time you get to the top you will have lost a fair few of the calories you consumed at meal time.

I highly recommend the Bonchurch Inn.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2021 via mobile

We found the inn quite by chance when on holiday 2 years ago & had one of the best Italian meals we’ve ever eaten! Had to book lunch the moment we returned to the island. Beautiful food - the claim of ‘life-changing’ lasagne is entirely justified! All served al fresco in their lovely courtyard. Friendly & helpful staff and lots of locals popping in for drinks too. We all enjoyed leisurely & delicious lunch. Do ring & book in advance as they are small restaurant & get fully booked for both lunch & dinner very rapidly.

Date of visit: June 2021
2  Thank Sherpa54080167930
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Bonchurch Inn also viewed

Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Bonchurch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.