We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolute gem!!!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
The top deck above the lawn and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The top deck above the lawn and patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The top deck above the lawn and patio
The cottage is just a two minutes walk from the beach
The main entrance
Driving down the lane towards Carmel
The porch - great for muddy boots
Looking through the porch to the kitchen garden
Lounge with woodburning stove
Lounge with sofabed and woodburner.
Childrens room complete with octopus
Upstairs bathroom with shower
The main bedroom with vaulted ceiling
The downstairs double bedroom
After you explore check out the kitchen, installed in 2013
Downstairs shower-room
Follow the cliff path down to Monks Bay
Looking back at Carmel from the sea (white chimneys)
View over the garden
The beach below Carmel (2 minutes walk)
The main entrance from the private lane
and relax...
Carmel  is a detached cottage with its own large surrounding gardens
The cottage is extremely well equipped
The garden outside the lounge leading up to the top deck
The main bedroom and window looking west over the garden and along the coast
Local fishing harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bonchurch, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carol B
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An absolute gem!!!!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful cottage in a stunning location. Cottage itself is very clean and well equipped and spacious enough for our family of six. Lovely walks is long the coastal paths were enjoyed by all and Steephill Cove is a little treasure. After exploring and thoroughly enjoying our days around Shanklin, Ventnor, Bonchurch, and Godshill we spent our evenings relaxing and enjoying the views from the garden and raised decked area. Favourite finds on this visit other than Carmel itself were The Spyglass Inn at Ventnor and The Buddle Inn at NIton from which you can walk down to St . Catherine's Point LIghthouse which is a must..Will definately stay at Carmel again and highly recommend to others. The owner Lucy was very quick at confirming booking and responding to email query that I had.Lucy also provided excellent directions for finding the cottage and a very useful information guide about the local area. Really cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage and location
Liked least: No mobile phone signal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thank you so much.We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matolski
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic location and wonderful house for a romantic and relaxing week away”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I have family who live on the Isle of Wight and have been visiting since a child so I like to think I know the place pretty well. But when I wanted to introduce my wife to the Island we really feel we stumbled onto something special when we visited and stayed at the neighbouring Hideaway property that first time.

My wife and I have been visiting the Isle of Wight together now for the past 4-5 years and have always stayed in one of the Ocean Blue properties. The Bonchurch location is quiet, extremely beautiful and has the benefit of linking into some of the Island's best coastline and footpaths. Also it's not too far to walk to Ventnor or nip up the hill to the Bonchurch Inn for a meal or drink.

Carmel is such a beautiful house with light airy rooms and perfect sea views across Monks Bay. After a long day exploring you can come back to light the log burner, open a bottle of wine and enjoy a romantic evening. Also the location has fantastic dark skies so if its clear don't forget to look up as well as out to enjoy a bright starlit sky.

The house itself has two fantastic double rooms with a third bedroom ideal for children. There's also a sofa bed in the living room if needed. The kitchen has everything you'll need whilst you're away and the dishwasher is a lifesaver when you're tired from a big day walking the Island! The house also has two bathrooms which means when you visit with friends there's not a morning queue.

This trip we were extremely lucky to get a full week of sun so early in April but the Island does tend to boast better weather than the mainland, particularly on this side of the Island. We were sad to leave but I hope we'll be back very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the garden, walking right from the front door, the log burner and the fantastic sea views
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrmedusa
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Views”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage is secluded and is perfect for a peaceful and relaxing break. It had everything we needed. The sea views from the garden and sun deck were really lovely. The couple who own the property were very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely views
Liked least: condition of private lane - hard on the car's suspension
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne H
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little slice of heaven.....”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had high expectations from reading other reviews and Carmel did not dissapoint in any way.
More than adequate for our large family with plenty of room. The old and original features of this cottage are quite simply charming adding extra warmth and character to this very friendly cottage.
A short walk down to Monks Bay with easy access to the sea wall walk into Ventnor or the coastal path walk the other way via Luccombe into Shanklin. A great location to explore and lovely that is private too.
Lucy was very welcoming and very friendly.
Our entire family can't wait to return. Sooner rather than later....
Would have just liked a BBQ to use but that was all. Thank you Carmel for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaPud
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Not sure what more I can add. It really was exactly what we were hoping for. It is quite difficult to find. You drive down a long narrow winding lane, down towards the sea, and there it is, ..this beautiful stone cottage, overlooking the beach.
The cottage is very well equiped and spotlessly clean, and the games cupboard was a huge hit with my little nephew! Each of the bedrooms are a really good size, and well equiped, and both bathrooms were lovely. Sadly we visited during the xmas storms, so the torrential rain, and high winds kept us away from the beach, and tucked up around the cosy woodburning stove for much of the time.
The only downside, is the lack of phone signal, but we were pleasantly surprised (relieved in the case of my brother in law!), to find that there was wifi. I would definitely make a point of returning here in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and facilities
Liked least: Rain! Lack of phone signal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vish99
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“LOVE LOVE LOVED this house”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A few friends and I wanted a weekend break away from the city so we booked this lovely little cottage. It is exactly what we needed. It had beautiful views, the house was very clean and the bedrooms were a good side and very comfortable. You can tell the owners take pride in their properties. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone who's looking to get away to a nice quiet place.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautiful house with a stunning view”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had a lovely weekend staying at the beautiful Carmel. Wonderfully secluded down mossy lanes, the view out to sea as you round the corner to the cottage takes your breath away. And at night the stars remind you what the night sky is supposed to look like when you're not in London.

The historic charm of the house has been preserved by the owners (including the lovely low doorways and sloping floors), even while they've appointed it beautifully with everything you need for a seaside break in style: a luxury kitchen, gorgeous bathrooms with a cracker of a downstairs shower, brilliant beds, and for winter breaks a woodburner and big stack of logs. (Though such is the cosiness that we actually had to turn the central heating off so that we could have the fun of using the wood-burner!)

I'll certainly be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing