We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
The top deck above the lawn and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The top deck above the lawn and patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The top deck above the lawn and patio
The cottage is just a two minutes walk from the beach
The main entrance
Driving down the lane towards Carmel
The porch - great for muddy boots
Looking through the porch to the kitchen garden
Lounge with woodburning stove
Lounge with sofabed and woodburner.
Childrens room complete with octopus
Upstairs bathroom with shower
The main bedroom with vaulted ceiling
The downstairs double bedroom
After you explore check out the kitchen, installed in 2013
Downstairs shower-room
Follow the cliff path down to Monks Bay
Looking back at Carmel from the sea (white chimneys)
View over the garden
The beach below Carmel (2 minutes walk)
The main entrance from the private lane
and relax...
Carmel  is a detached cottage with its own large surrounding gardens
The cottage is extremely well equipped
The garden outside the lounge leading up to the top deck
The main bedroom and window looking west over the garden and along the coast
Local fishing harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bonchurch, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stevie S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Booked for my husband, parents and I to stay here for Christmas. Absolutely loved it! I was raised and spent 18 years on the Isle of Wight and it was a dream to spend Christmas in a hideaway cottage just a stones throw from the beach. The cottage was perfect, had everything we needed, and was in an ideal location. The owners and their mother were great hosts, and just a phone text away during our stay if we needed to ask any questions. Our family dog was allowed to stay with us, and being able to take her for beach walks whilst the Christmas dinner was cooking was a delight! Will definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cags05
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in June 2014

The location, the view, the cottage - perfect ingredients for a family getaway. Charming garden for the kiddies to play in. Comfy beds. Lovely and spacious with everything you need. Bringing my mum here soon. Thanks Lucy - fab very discreet host. 5*+++++

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca K
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Really lovely house in brilliant location”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We travelled to Carmel with 4 teens, a preschooler and a dog! The cottage is located just outside Ventnor and off the beaten track, with glorious sea views. 2 mins walk to the shore. Well equipped, comfortable beds, cosy despite the dreadful weather. Sun came out for the last couple of days, and the garden was a little sun trap. We can imagine how lovely it would be in the summer.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian378
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We'll be back”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

An excellent well appointed cottage in a brilliant location which was exactly as described. Thev owners were considerate and very responsive but not intrusive - the ideal mix.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerlily...
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for young toddlers and large dog”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a lovely holiday at Camel Cottage. The place was clean and tidy upon arrival and we were left to ourselves, with a brief hello from Lucy in the communal carpark. Once the gate was shut, the ground was safe for the our two toddlers and dog to play safely. The girls enjoyed their twin bedroom, the DVDs and toys found at the cottage. I was able to cook, use dishwasher and wash/dry clothes, all essential with young kids and a dog! There was no mobile reception and wifi was off and on.

The place was peaceful and idllic, with the Monk Bay only a short walk down the coastal path. I'd walked our dog along the coast from Monk Bay to Ventnor within half hour. Bonchurch was almost jurassic like trees with the mature tall trees and shrubs against the cliffs.

We found it easy to get around the island in our car. We particularly enjoyed the Botanical Gardens, the Seaview Wildlife Encounter and Alum Bay. Shanklin's sandy long beach was a hit with the girls and the park along the esplanade had rides etc to amuse them further.

We found we were limited with where to eat with our dog so were unable to enjoy the luxury end of food experience. However, we did enjoy eating at the Shack at bottom of Steephill Cove. There is also Pizza Express and MacDonalds in Newport for young families who get desperate like we did!

We plan to bring sunshine and eat more local food the next time we come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location with easy access to quiet beach and a safe garden for kids/dogs
Liked least: No mobile reception and intermittent wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An absolute gem!!!!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful cottage in a stunning location. Cottage itself is very clean and well equipped and spacious enough for our family of six. Lovely walks is long the coastal paths were enjoyed by all and Steephill Cove is a little treasure. After exploring and thoroughly enjoying our days around Shanklin, Ventnor, Bonchurch, and Godshill we spent our evenings relaxing and enjoying the views from the garden and raised decked area. Favourite finds on this visit other than Carmel itself were The Spyglass Inn at Ventnor and The Buddle Inn at NIton from which you can walk down to St . Catherine's Point LIghthouse which is a must..Will definately stay at Carmel again and highly recommend to others. The owner Lucy was very quick at confirming booking and responding to email query that I had.Lucy also provided excellent directions for finding the cottage and a very useful information guide about the local area. Really cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage and location
Liked least: No mobile phone signal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thank you so much.We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing