We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cottage by the sea”
other travellers have booked this property
The top deck above the lawn and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The top deck above the lawn and patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The top deck above the lawn and patio
The cottage is just a two minutes walk from the beach
The main entrance
Driving down the lane towards Carmel
The porch - great for muddy boots
Looking through the porch to the kitchen garden
Lounge with woodburning stove
Lounge with sofabed and woodburner.
Childrens room complete with octopus
Upstairs bathroom with shower
The main bedroom with vaulted ceiling
The downstairs double bedroom
After you explore check out the kitchen, installed in 2013
Downstairs shower-room
Follow the cliff path down to Monks Bay
Looking back at Carmel from the sea (white chimneys)
View over the garden
The beach below Carmel (2 minutes walk)
The main entrance from the private lane
and relax...
Carmel  is a detached cottage with its own large surrounding gardens
The cottage is extremely well equipped
The garden outside the lounge leading up to the top deck
The main bedroom and window looking west over the garden and along the coast
Local fishing harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bonchurch, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marine175
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cottage by the sea”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our second visit to Carmel, and just as good as our first, such a lovely seaside cottage in a wonderful setting. Fabulous views and you can hear the sea through the open window while going to sleep at night.

The lane is a bit bumpy, but our car managed without any problems...just drive slowly and don't race down. When you are there the cottage is picture postcard perfect, sitting in it's pretty cottage garden. Well equipped with all the necessities of washer and dishwasher plus good central heating or a log burner for cooler evenings. Two minutes from a pebbly beach and varied walks on the doorstep.

People with dogs will be spoiled for choice as the Island is so dog friendly.....The Bonchurch Inn up the road welcomes them, plus numerous places in Ventnor...Spyglass, Besty and Spinkys, Ale and Oyster and The Kitchen at London House to name a few. Further afield are The Lifeboat at East Cowes, The Taverners in Godshill and Off the Rails in Yarmouth...I could add more, but won't!

So enjoy, we did, it's a lovely cottage for getting away from it all, I just hope that we can return for a third visit before too long.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle R
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We chose the cottage for the location near friends in Ventnor but near a beach with a garden so we felt away from it all. We were lucky with dry bright weather so we were able to walk to the beach and watch the glorious sunsets from the sweet garden during our short stay.

Evenings in around the log burner were a nice end to the days for our winter stay.

Older reviews mention a lack of a microwave- but there was one when we stayed & kitchen was well equipped. Decent hairdryer, plenty of mirrors and good size fridge freezer.

Road down to the cottage was a bit rough for our little car but lots of accessible parking space was a bonus as we discovered parking can be a challenge for some parts of the island!

Recommend for winter break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevie S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Booked for my husband, parents and I to stay here for Christmas. Absolutely loved it! I was raised and spent 18 years on the Isle of Wight and it was a dream to spend Christmas in a hideaway cottage just a stones throw from the beach. The cottage was perfect, had everything we needed, and was in an ideal location. The owners and their mother were great hosts, and just a phone text away during our stay if we needed to ask any questions. Our family dog was allowed to stay with us, and being able to take her for beach walks whilst the Christmas dinner was cooking was a delight! Will definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cags05
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in June 2014

The location, the view, the cottage - perfect ingredients for a family getaway. Charming garden for the kiddies to play in. Comfy beds. Lovely and spacious with everything you need. Bringing my mum here soon. Thanks Lucy - fab very discreet host. 5*+++++

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca K
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Really lovely house in brilliant location”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We travelled to Carmel with 4 teens, a preschooler and a dog! The cottage is located just outside Ventnor and off the beaten track, with glorious sea views. 2 mins walk to the shore. Well equipped, comfortable beds, cosy despite the dreadful weather. Sun came out for the last couple of days, and the garden was a little sun trap. We can imagine how lovely it would be in the summer.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian378
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We'll be back”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

An excellent well appointed cottage in a brilliant location which was exactly as described. Thev owners were considerate and very responsive but not intrusive - the ideal mix.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing