We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend getaway”
Review of Gothic View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gothic View
Ranked #2 of 4 Chale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2013

From the moment we set foot in this beautiful converted chapel, we were made to feel right at home. Anne Marie and Claude couldn't do enough for us and were perfect hosts. The chapel is on the main road through Chale Green, which is a sleepy little village near Ventnor, in gorgeous countryside.

We had the two rooms in a suite on the lower ground floor, with an en-suite shared between the double and twin rooms. Both rooms were very comfortable and very elegantly decorated.

The breakfast was incredible! The best bacon I have ever had - I have no idea what Claude did to make it so tasty but I think it involved herbs and some arcane Continental wizardry. Home-made compote, natural yoghurt, muesli, toast, jam, local eggs and sausages, fruit salad, fried potatoes with onions and mushrooms, grilled herbed tomatoes... We were well set up for a day of serious fossil-hunting! Anne Marie and Claude also offer a gourmet dinner, which we were quite gutted not to have opted for - next time!

Excellent value for money, and will be recommending to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrGnommi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Gothic View
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Gothic View. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly with a cup of tea and a cake and instantly felt at home.

This former chapel is wonderfully quaint and quirky, our room was decorated tastefully and was spotless.

Breakfast was simply outstanding and I'd definitely recommend paying for an evening meal courtesy of Claude, he's a fantastic chef.

Thank you Anne-Marie and Claude for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrMKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My husband, 20 year old daughter and I stayed here on a Saturday night in Dec. We had the warmest of welcomes from Anne-Marie and Claude, with tea and cakes and lots of advice about the island and an interest in what we would like for dinner. We then went to the pub whilst Claude prepared our feast. We brought our own wine. The huge plate of mixed appetisers were all delicious, with a variety and freshness you could not fault. Our different main courses were all excellent, with beautifully cooked and prepared vegetables and delicious accompaniments. The desserts were to die for, with fresh fruit on the side. The sauces with every dish were just perfect. We have eaten in lovely restaurants all over the world but have never had a better meal. It was wonderful. The former chapel is very cottage-like so don't go if you like large modern rooms. We had a twin and a double room, with a tiny bathroom. It was quaint, with comfortable beds and efficient heating, which we needed as it was a cold night. There was a large selection of DVDs to watch on a flat-screen TV. Anne-Marie and Claude have led interesting lives and were interested in ours too. They were a very engaging couple. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peartreelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked this last minute after being at Bestival, we had planned to go to a campsite for a night after the festival was finished then have a good look round the Isle of Wight but we were in desperate need of a bed and decent shower. The owners didn't bat an eyelid when we turned up looking extreemely rough, probably smelling terrible after a weekend partying. The room was clean, quite small but that didn't bother us it was comfy and cosy. We got great advice on where to go including some excellent pubs! and as others have said thge breakfast was outstanding home made compot awsome then rosemarry leek type potatoes amazing. The owners clouldn't have been niced and it really made the stay. We got the room at a really good price and if we hadn't been on a tight budget I would have definately over paid them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here last year and used as a base so we could view where were going to get married on the Island later in the year. We enjoyed our stay and found Gothic View to have extremely friendly owners. The establishment itself was great and the food was excellent.

The room we had was very clean but also very small. The room is the only reason I'm not rating Gothic View with a 5/excellent as it did affect our stay. Due to the building probably being listed it's obvious that this cannot be changed.

Would we return to Gothic View ?

Yes :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Myself and a mate of mine take our sons off cycling together once a year, and it's become a treasured annual event. This year we took the 4 of them, who range in age from 10 to 12, off to cycle around the Isle of Wight for 3 days. the first night we were there we had the pleasure of staying with Anne-Marie & Claude, at Gothic View. What fantastic hosts! From chatting to Anne-Marie on the phone beforehand, to arriving, right up to the moment of leaving, they both made us feel incredibly welcome. Claude is a master-chef and used to cooking for, let's say, more discerning guests than us lot. But they couldn't have been more friendly and relaxed around our boys. And they are still talking about the breakfast!
Jim Taylor

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My Partner and I stayed here in March 2012 for his 50th Birthday. We found this place through trip advisor after looking for a place with great reviews and we weren't disappointed. Ann Marie and Claude made us feel very welcome and we can highly recommend Ann Marie's cream tea that we had pre-ordered for when we arrived.
I love quirky old buildings and this is certainly one. We had a comfortable and cosy room with patio doors leading our to a small courtyard area. The en-suite was for this room is in a little attic room with steep stairs leading to it. We had a lovely walk around the village and saw deer and stags in a field nearby.
The breakfast is lovely especially Claude's home made fruit compote and we also had a wonderful dinner cooked by Claude.
He managed to create a wonderful dish for my partner, consulting him about his likes and dislikes after breakfast as he is a very fussy vegetarian (a mushroom hating one!). We felt truly spoiled by them both.
We had a really great weekend there and if I ever going back to Isle of Wight I would stay here.
We can also recommend the Taveners Pub in Godshill http://www.thetavernersgodshill.co.uk/ as we had a fabulous meal there too and The Garlic Farm for foodie farm shop fans.

Room Tip: If you want a quirky place to stay with fantastic hosts and food this is the place for you. If you w...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chale
1.5 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
311 reviews
9.1 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
316 reviews
6.4 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#34 of 51 in Shanklin
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
878 reviews
6.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Cornerways Ventnor
Cornerways Ventnor
#3 of 18 in Ventnor
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gothic View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothic View

Address: Gothic View Town Lane | Chale Green, Chale PO38 2JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Chale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chale
Price Range: £59 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gothic View 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gothic View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gothic View Isle Of Wight/Chale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing