We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Guest House”
Review of Gothic View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gothic View
Ranked #2 of 4 Chale B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming Guest House”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here with my brother and his girl friend. Anne Marie suggested me to book the family room which is 2 separate rooms and we shared the bathroom. The rooms are nice and cosy and comfortable. The ceiling in the bathroom is low as it's an old chapel that has been converted, it doesn't bother me, but not sure if you're over 6'. Anne Marie and Claude were very friendly and took care for any request. They were welcoming and explained us what to do in the local area. When we arrived they welcomed us with a tea and a slice of cake. We also stayed here for dinner which was good choice.

Room Tip: there are 2 rooms, a family room and double room with bathroom accessed by stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatewalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our first wedding anniversary. I had no idea where we were going as it was a surprise he had organised but I was overly impressed with the Gorthic View. Our room was lovely and bright which was lovely with the sun shining through. I didn't even mind waking up at dawn to the sound of the birds as the bed was so comfy!!!! The owners Anne Marie and Claude were an absolute delight and such warming friendly hosts. Nothing was too much and the little cakes on arrival were delicious!! We didn't eat here in the evening but the breakfast was great with so much choice. The homemade apple compot was divine and the cooked breakfast was plentyful and delicous too! What we really loved about the place was the amazing stories Anne Marie and Claude had to tell! We could have sat and chatted for hours!!!! We wil definitely be going back and look forward to staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liblou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

From booking to leaving the hospitality given by Anne Marie and Claude was amazing.
We used the venue during our walk around the coastal path and welcomed the extra effort they made to make us warm, comfy and fueled for the next day.
The food was amazing from Claude and his banter and stories were even better.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisParkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Quirky, charming b&b tucked away in the little village of Chale Green. We were cycling round the island across two days so this was the perfect stopover. Claude and Anne Marie were fantastic hosts, always happy to answer any questions and great to chat to. The food was absolutely impeccable, fresh and local ingredients plus superb cooking by Claude. I would absolutely recommend eating dinner here. Our room was on the ground floor with the bathroom up some stairs in the old bell tower, everything was clean and cosy, plus there were dvds to watch for some post-dinner wind down time.

I cannot recommend Gothic View enough - we will certainly be staying here if we return to the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: If you want a quirky room the ground floor one with the ensuite up in the bell tower will do the tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah_Ldn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our welcome was warm with tea and a biscuit, and we got to know our hosts. Anne Marie so friendly and attentive to us. Claude's a very funny guy, and had us laughing so much.
We went for a quick walk before dinner, past some reindeer in the local field.
When we returned, Claude cooked us our 3 course dinner (in addition to having picked up the other guests from town). We'd pre-booked the dinner, and brought our own wine from the local vineyard. The food was exceptionally good quality, cooked perfectly using local ingredients, great array of flavours from the various sides and sauces as well as main, and beautifully presented. It felt like we had our own private Michelin star restaurant and chef. We did feel like the gentry that Claude was more used to cooking for.
The breakfast in the morning was fantastic too.
The B+B is a converted chapel, decoration really charming and quirky with interesting original features. Anne Marie had a small amount of vintage clothing and jewelery on display too. And lots of fine teapots! There was a cat too, but Anne Marie was careful not to let it into the rooms. The cat was slightly arrogant, as some cats are, and enjoyed lying in the middle of the floor showing its back to us.
The bedroom had a small attractive private patio outside. The room itself was a little small, but we slept well. It was similarly decorated to the rest of the house. Our private ensuite was up a narrow staircase. It was fine, clean and well stocked, maybe some guests would say it could do with a little modernising.
We had a great stay, and felt like part of the family.

- Do go there if you like quirky, cosy, B+B's. Definitely eat dinner there (book in advance)
- Don't go there if you like large modern hotels with no character. Let someone else go who would appreciate it more.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for a night over Easter break. The B&B is a gorgeous building that the hosts have made home for 15 years. They are great fun and has us giggling throughout breakfast. The rooms were comfy and we slept well. We ate breakfast there and the quality was superb (Claude - Mr Gothic View - is a Chef!) so we rolled out of there in the morning. So much more than your average fry up and cereal. We didn't eat dinner but I expect the quality would be high. Would recommend wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We have just had a fantastic stay with Claude and Anne Marie at Gothic View on the Isle of Wight. We went with our two girls aged 2 and 6 and booked the family room which is actually a suite of 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. It's close to the dining room so we enjoyed an exquisite 3 course gourmet dinner cooked by Claude, a classically trained chef who has worked at top hotels and restaurants in his time. We had our dinner once the children were in bed (not asleep obviously!) and it worked perfectly. Earlier Claude and Anne Marie had prepared the children their tea to our specifications. Breakfast was similarly delicious and very varied - a very good spread indeed! All in all I would really recommend Gothic View for its warm welcome, comfortable rooms, and the lovely and very accommodating hosts. I can also highly recommend the added extra of fine dining. We will be returning!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andlers_Ashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chale
1.5 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
6.5 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#12 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#20 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chale Bay Farm
Chale Bay Farm
#1 of 4 in Chale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gothic View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothic View

Property: Gothic View
Address: Gothic View Town Lane | Chale Green, Chale PO38 2JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Chale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gothic View 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gothic View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gothic View Isle Of Wight/Chale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing