We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”

Toninos Italian Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 61 Restaurants in Cowes
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
East Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Everything at that time. Service was poor and the food was unacceptable! It was also very cold in the restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RubyA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    60
    35
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good pizza, expensive alcohol”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Drinks prices were unbelievably expensive (comparable to central London prices - glass of coke for £2.80), decor was like you would imagine a 1980s Italian restaurant (but I quite liked it in a weird sort of way), but they actually served up a pretty decent pizza. Solid three star.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GMackinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, slow service.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The food really was great - we had pizza with a lovely thin crispy crust and generous toppings. Also had a pasta with pepper pesto - this was delicious! Complimentary bread and breadsticks were given also.

The only down side was the service - we waited quite a while for our order to be taken. After placing the order the food came relatively quickly, but no one approached us during our meal to ask how it was. When we finished we had to wait a while for the table to be cleared, then it took a while to catch someones eye and ask for the bill... The bill did not come so we had to ask someone else. From the time our table was cleared we waited 15 mins for the bill, and then the struggle to catch a waiters eye started all over again to get them to come over for payment! The restaurant was admittedly busy, but by no means full and I felt they could have been more efficient.

Service aside, this is a great place. I will go back (but only if not in a rush!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mazambane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Raw Chicken!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Service was appalling. We ordered mains, an hour later the owner came to clear the table, we told him we hadn't eaten yet. The food took a further 20 minutes. One chicken dish came out and had only been flash fried, so was virtually raw. A dish came out that we had not ordered.
This place is basic food at over inflated prices.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam280964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The food was great, however it was let down by poor service, served drinks and food and that was it until I asked for the bill, no is everything ok or would you like another drink etc, and after waiting an age I had to go to the counter to pay my bill, which would have been more if I had been offered the choice of more drinks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brynCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toninos Italian Restaurant also viewed

East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Toninos Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing