We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Agree with everyone else a little Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Octopus Garden Cafe - CLOSED

Octopus Garden Cafe
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Agree with everyone else a little Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

we had a lovely reception and a great lunch here with the kids, Thank you to Chris the owner who was on hand to give us some tips on where to go and what to see.
thank you all

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thehusseys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meopham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great little oasis of yesterday year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We dropped into this Beatles themed cafe for a bite to eat having just popped over for the day while in Southampton, what a good idea, great friendly service, lovely fresh cooked food and great music to go with it.
The prices are very reasonable and the quality and quantity just right, thank you very much you guys for making us feel very welcome and giving us some good tips about the island and places to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Staff shambles - Food poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and myself went one morning without the family for a 'quick' breakfast which turned into waiting for a disastrous late brunch. Everything went wrong it seemed to be one of those days. Long wait on service and food. Didn't get asked for drinks. Full English was poor. Everything soft and mildly warm, dirty cutlery, wobbly table and service without a smile. My wife had an inedible egg dish which she didn't even touch. We're both Beatles fans which is why we went. Love the interior but again the food and service didn't do it justice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluesimon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
octopusgardencowes, Owner at Octopus Garden Cafe, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Simon,

I was very disappointed to read the comments made concerning your visit to the Octopus' Garden. I would be grateful if you would kindly clarify a few points.

1. On which day and at what time did you visit?
2. Which item from the menu did your wife order that was 'inedible'?
3. You didn't get asked for drinks? Why did you not ask for what you wanted to drink when the waitress took your food order? This is customary in most establishments.
4. How long did you wait for your food?
5. You claim that you were given dirty cutlery. Did you alert the waitress and ask for it to be changed?
6. A wobbly table?
7. Did you voice your concerns at the time and if so what was the response given to you by the member of staff?

I regret that you did not enjoy your visit and hope that by answering the questions above that we will be able to prevent any similar problems in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best cafe in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you like a big, high quality breakfast with friendly staff and great service then this is the place to go! It’s nice to finally enjoy a bit to eat in cafe that hasn’t tried to serve you the cheapest ingredients they could find! The Octopus Garden is a great little pit stop to fill the tank up knowing you are getting a good meal at a fair price. Will definitely visit again! Oh and there is plenty of Beatles memorabilia to keep the eyes and ears entertained!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sixties Heaven!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Good food, friendly staff, wonderful Sixties (& especially The Beatles) music & memorabilia - we liked it so much we went twice!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasideMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Octopus Garden Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing