We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, lovely hosts, bit over priced and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Lovely location, kitsch hotel on the hill, which was perfect to get into town. The hosts were lovely and breakfast very good. My only reservation was that it was a bit noisy to sleep and a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madridaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

Margaret welcomed me perfectly, very chilled and homely. As a single, it was very easy to slip into and enjoy the Rothsay hospitality; the honesty bar great. Food good. Staff helpful above and beyond. Perfect only let down a little bit by a somewhat dated bedroom in the annex. I'd go back in a flash

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jeccaschroder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

There were six of us who had the pleasure staying here for two nights a few days ago. We were welcomed by Margaret the owner who was fantastic. You instantly feel at home here. First night we ate in the restaurant which was lovely with a great selection of wine from the wine list and I opted for the fresh crab salad and the Dover sole....both being very good. What can I say about the breakfasts?? Huge and very freshly cooked...a full English and I mean full with lots of fresh fruit and fruit salads served by the delightful Jacki. The hotel is very central literally a 10 minute walk into Cowes. There is an honesty bar which is great to find nowadays and Margaret joined us for a Chinkchink. We will defiantly be going back there next July if Margaret can put up with the three lively sisters and their hubbies again. Thank you all at Villa Rothsay xxxx

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank susiepev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I had business on the Isle of Wight and had stayed in the Villa about 6 years ago. This time, I decided to bring my family (including 2 children 5 and 2). I looked around a bit, but knew I wanted to be in Cowes and a quick walk to the pier. On a whim, we called up the Villa Rothsay.

I was shocked to learn that the Villa had a family room. It was essentially a regular room and bathroom, with an adjoining small room. Perfect for a family of 4, and there was even a crib set up!

While I worked, my family enjoyed the full English breakfast every morning and dinner some evenings. Catching up with Margaret and Miranda each morning or evening makes the stay all that much more pleasant. The entire staff bent over backwards to cater to our family, including the youngsters! At dinner, our 2 year old was brought a small toy to occupy him while we ate (and to keep him sort of quiet around the other diners!).

The Villa is a sailors paradise. As if Cowes wasn't nautical enough, the history in the walls of the Villa Rothsay is enough to make you just sit back in awe of the names and faces that graced that old Victorian home. The rooms were clean and large for a European B&B. We were quite happy with how well the staff treated us and helped to ensure we were always happy and catered to. The home itself is full of charm and modern amenities, such as flat screen televisions and free wi-fi!

We spent 3 weeks touring around Europe and I can say without reservation that our week at the Villa Rothsay was the highlight in accommodations. We will all return, that's a threat Margaret and Miranda!

Room Tip: The "Family" room does not have a view of the Solent. All of the other rooms (that I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank chrisduer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Staff at this hotel were very polite and friendly but overall we were disappointed with our stay. First impressions are very important and on arrival we came in via the garden entrance - it was very messy and run down. This theme carries on in the public areas of the hotel where the sailing themed artifacts are all in need of a good dust and delcuttering. The breakfast was very good but sitting in the conservatory area we noticed things like two directors chairs on the patio that looked rotten and the blinds in the same area need replacing as they were also dirty (possible mildew). The room was fine but would not return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Atin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MirandaCourtney, Owner at Villa Rothsay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and giving us the opportunity to reply. We would like to point out that the entrance to the hotel that you happened to use was indeed via the garden which isn't our official entrance and we are a little bemused as to how you found yourself arriving at that point.

We acknowledge and were aware that some of the garden had become overgrown and therefore a bit untidy. Unfortunately the prolonged period of rain that we have experienced in April & May (the wettest April on record across the UK) has procluded us from being able to get outside to address those parts of the garden whilst at the same time the rain has caused rapid vegetation growth. The couple of directors chairs you correctly identified as 'rotten' have not been used for months as the gardens have been out of action since last Autumn and the chairs had already been earmarked to take to the tip once the weather improved. With the improvement in weather this week the chairs have indeed been scrapped and our team of gardeners have started work in earnest this week.
The blinds in the conservatory as you pointed out are a little tired and we are now planning to replace them.
As for dust in the public areas on the nautical memorabilia or ‘clutter’; rest assured we have been busy with our dusters.
We apologise for your stay not meeting your expectations and are sorry to hear that you would not return.

Kind regards,
Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Having just got back from a business trip on the beautiful Isle of Wight I’ve decided to review.
I was recommended (almost instructed) to stay at the Villa Rothsay by my better half – not it’s not worth ignoring her, trust me, as she'd stayed there with family about 10 years ago.
The moment you walk in the door it’s like being transported back to another time, a truly wonderful experience.

There is only one word in which I can describe it, luxury.

Whether it’s the Victorian splendour-which seems to have been encapsulated in this breath-taking building, stunning views across the Solent, superb customer service or ravishing food this place really has something for everyone.

Rooms: my room was sea facing, so it had a wonderful view and it comes with all the mod cons – tea service, trouser press, hairdryer, FREE high-speed Wi-Fi (this was brilliant, as it meant I could Skype my family back in London.)

Service: The service is second to none; I was ASKED what time I was leaving (instead of the usual “get out by 10am” rubbish)

Food: I ate in the restaurant every night, except for one. Carvery meat, cut straight from the bone in front of your eyes – can’t beat it!
And they have an honesty bar in the lounge, which a very hard to come by these days.

The overwhelming feeling I got from my stay was “they don’t make them like this anymore”

People wanting to visit the island (for whatever reason, business, holiday or weekend getaway), do yourself a massive favour and stay here – it won’t disappoint you.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed here on business April 2012. I had been recommended to stay here by one of my colleagues who had been here many times.

The first thing to know is that THIS IS NOT A CHAIN - and it's beautiful because of it. my room was large and overlooked the Solent - I had about a 160 degree sea view. Bed super comfy and nice big telly. free wifi throughout.

so the ambience of the hotel is for me its winning feature - its like staying in an 19th century English vicarage with a nautical bent - Lots of dark furniture, big overstuffed sofa's and armchairs - multiple chaises. And an honesty bar. All in all really convivial

Add up all of that with friendly staff and a belt busting breakfast with proper tea - will I stay here again - yes I will - will I take my family - oh yes

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank tangleWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
0.4 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
76 reviews
1.6 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
350 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
904 reviews
11.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rothsay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rothsay Hotel

Address: 29 Baring Road, Cowes PO31 8DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range: £83 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Rothsay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Rothsay Hotel & Restaurant is a characterful & charming boutique hotel located near to the Royal Yacht Squadron at Cowes with commanding views from it's many balconies and reception rooms, across the Solent towards the New Forest.The hotel has long been the choice of sailors and business personalities from around the World to meet their accommodation, dining and hospitality needs, as is evidenced by the huge collection of nautical memorabilia throughout the hotel.The 14 bedrooms are all en-suite and offer all mod-cons including LCD Freeview TVs and complimentary WiFi.The perfect place to 'get away from it all' and a perfect base to explore the magnificent Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Rothsay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rothsay Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing