We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Shall I Begin?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Where Shall I Begin?”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I acknowledge that I am not properly qualified to express adequately my experience of this gem, this bijou hotel. I must give a context for this review - I am over seventy; I spent over thirty five years as an officer in the British Army; I am not overly fond of 'modern'. I was with about twenty others. As I entered the Villa Rothsay, I stepped into a world furnished with items that would have been familiar to either of my grand-mothers! Victoriana is alive and well! The era of King Edward VII garnishes the ambience. Immediately it was apparent that 'Formica and fluorescent' happily were absent. I wish I could describe the furniture properly, but I simply do not know how, except to say it is comfortable and lovely to look at. My bedroom was just like a room at 'Grannie's house' and furnished identically! There was a TV, but I didn't use it. Not all is ancient: Wi-fi is free, fast and everywhere. Floorboards groan; doors creak - nothing so vulgar as numbers on the bedroom doors, so try to remember where your room is. All rooms have the obligatory bathroom en-suite. The drawing-room has splendid views and is enhanced by small balconies accessed through French windows. There is an 'Honesty Bar' that led me fiercely astray - I did sign properly for everything consumed of course, but helping oneself seems to involve drinking more. (Dear American friends - think Hilton or Inter-Continental and then think the absolute opposite). Comfort of course and every small hotel facility but such superb staff and service as the great hotel chains can only dream of. Food! Be warned the 'Full English Breakfast' emphasises the 'FULL'. After the first morning, I stuck to kippers and scrambled egg and toast! Supper or dinner, are treats that many Michelin starred establishments could not hope to emulate. In keeping with a certain eccentricity that pervades this wonderful place, the owner 'suggests' a menu - I only saw a written menu once in four days. If the items requested are not fresh, they will be denied. I truly believe that if a guest asked in time for 'Swan in Aspic' or 'Fricassee of Fresh Otter', it would be provided. Dear readers, if any there be, please forgive my rambling style. It is not inexpensive and may not suit all. Enter this truly magical place with an open mind and most importantly, with a large smile - it will be reciprocated a hundred times.

Room Tip: Crusty bachelors like me travelling alone: - Room 232. Couples of a certain age: - sea view with ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    18
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
31
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KovalamK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We originally booked a B & B back in December but unfortunately the day before we were due to go over e-mail it transpired that we were not booked in at all so the proprietor booked us into this hotel. It is very clean lovely breakfast and friendly staff. It is dated but that goes with the charm of the hotel. We have a lovely sea view, nice watching boats etc., go by. It is a 5-10 minute walk into Cowes where we found two lovely restaurants. Nice break, nice weather and we done some lovely walks.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeralaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a very large room - the bed was very comfortable, flat screen tv bathroom modern. The fittings could do with a lick of paint.
The breakfast was excellent- with fresh fruit and good cooked breakfast.
The owner was very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is rambling and it is rather like going back in time. But the prices are high-- I would say 'small luxury hotel' level but I would say it is a good B&B standard.

Room Tip: try and get a room with a sea view. We had a big room with sofa in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviddocklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

a festive gathering of friends was greatly enhanced by the atmosphere at and of the Villa Rothsay.The homely touch was everywhere and we were all put at ease and nothing was too much trouble .the Christmas dinner was of excellent and" homely" fare served with every attention to hospitality, Thank you so much.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yokle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I found the staff to be very friendly, polite and helpful. Room was clean and well presented. Breakfast selection was good and the cooked breakfast was very tasty.
Will stay at the Villa Rothsay again

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rodeohandude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with bags of atmosphere. Stayed here several times as hotel of choice for IOW. Christmas dinner is best ever as they know how to do it properly with massive turkey cooked to perfection. Spacious comfortable rooms. Oh and the owner makes you feel right at home even gave me a lift to the ferry. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRovingDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We live on the Island and this was our first visit to Villa Rothsay and certainly will not be our last!!
The hotel is a hidden gem where you can step back in time to another era but with all mod cons
The rooms are traditional in taste and spotless!
The food is excellent and fresh local produce served to you in a gorgeous dining room with magnificent views of the Solent
The owner and staff are superb and we had a great stay thank you
We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blusneakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.4 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
1.6 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
12.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
827 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rothsay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rothsay Hotel

Property: Villa Rothsay Hotel
Address: 29 Baring Road, Cowes PO31 8DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Rothsay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Rothsay Hotel & Restaurant is a characterful & charming boutique hotel located near to the Royal Yacht Squadron at Cowes with commanding views from it's many balconies and reception rooms, across the Solent towards the New Forest.The hotel has long been the choice of sailors and business personalities from around the World to meet their accommodation, dining and hospitality needs, as is evidenced by the huge collection of nautical memorabilia throughout the hotel.The 14 bedrooms are all en-suite and offer all mod-cons including LCD Freeview TVs and complimentary WiFi.The perfect place to 'get away from it all' and a perfect base to explore the magnificent Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Villa Rothsay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rothsay Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing