We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Woodvale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Woodvale
Ranked #8 of 29 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

We went tp woodvale for drinks only, however smelling the food getting served and seeing the specials menu, we ordered seabass and beef curry. The seabass was absolutely delicious, perfectly cooked and flavoured. You rarely get fish that well cooked. The beef curry was also excellent. The drinks are good. On a hot day, the cider is the best thing in the world..

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rvestergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    35
    13
    0
    3
See reviews for
40
59
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Four of us (two couples) stayed here at the end of March 2012. The rooms are really nicely decorated and the shower was brilliant. Very very clean as well. The food in the restaurant is also really good. I think the service let this place down. Just missing that something extra ... missing a personal touch. The lady serving us at breakfast seemed to just not care. A general attitude of all staff from what I experienced. Nice walk in to Cowes though... if its nice weather.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Room had excellent decor and comfy bed. Wonderful view and friendly atmosphere. Really enjoyed the breakfast, excellent food and unrushed.
We would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salongirlHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We attended the New Year's eve party at the Woodvale with friends. We have been here several times in the past when visiting friends but have not stayed before. The room was of a very high standard, a little disappointed we did not get a sea view, but it did not spoil the stay.

The evening was excellent - food was very good and the service was also excellent, everyone worked really hard. Apparently this is the first time the party has been held in the Solent Room as it was newly refurbished in 2011, it was very well decorated as were the tables. My only criticism was that the disco was quite loud so you had to shout to hold conversation, but otherwise the atmosphere was great.

We had a substantial breakfast the next morning with champagne which kept us going most of the day and we ate in the bar in the evening which again the food was very good.

A great place to stay as it is very central for Cowes which is a short walk along the seafront.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel which was perfectly ok, but the fans from the kitchen were qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed here 23rd September for the weekend, attending a friends wedding. I can the the location of this place is excellent, our room was over looking the sea. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raxso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed in the family 3 bed room and previously a double room last year. All rooms have been recently re-furbished and are of a high standard with quality beds and furnishings with good attention to detail. The substantial full breakfast is also served additionally with both a wide choice of cereals. All the staff are friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. There was also a good choice of food on the menu in the evenings at fair prices.

John, Oman

Room Tip: everything is provided that you should need
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnAndKate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

booked this for one night without much research - wow! one of the best rooms
& facilities i've been to on the isle of wight [not renowned for quality accommodation in my view]
the 2nd floor room was newly & immaculately furnished with a setee area and a fantastic
sea view. there was digital tv & free wifi both with good reception
in addition, a recently complete new breakfast room at 1st floor with again fantastic sea views - this is completely separate from the pub area at ground floor
the freshly cooked breakfast was excellent - the pub is available for evening meals
which is useful as there is little else in the way of eateries nearby - fair pub grub
the building is set overlooking gurnard bay & parking was'nt a problem during our stay
staff were very helpful & pleasant. only drawback for the physically challenged would be no lift available to the 2nd floor rooms

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roger m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.0 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
12.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodvale

Property: The Woodvale
Address: 1 Princes Esplanade, Cowes PO31 8LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodvale 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Woodvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodvale Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing