We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family get together at the Woodvale”
Review of The Woodvale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Woodvale
Ranked #7 of 29 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

4 star prices for 2/3 star service. We were asked to leave the bar and take our drinks to our bedrooms at 11.30pm on the Friday night because the staff were tired and wanted to go home. Sunday morning breakfast was served with gone off milk and although apple juice was on the menu none was available.A bit pricey at £110.00 per night. The landlord commented that it was quiet because it was out of season but we did not pay out of season prices. However room decor was lovely and housekeeping staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Might want to take your own pillows as those provided were very hard.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for The Woodvale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

We ate here several times on our holiday and every time we had a lovely meal. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We had 3 children with us and we felt very comfortable and welcomed and even our fussy eater was catered for without any trouble. We would recommend this to anyone. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We had a visit from relations who had sailed over from Portsmouth to spend a few days in Cowes.
We live on the Island and therefore did not stay at the Woodvale but had an evening meal there with our visitors.
The food was good and the staff were very friendly.
The only downside was a door out towards the Woddvale road side of the property, which had a closer that was not functioning and it banged annoyingly every time someone went through it, which interfered with our converstion as we were seated right next to it. Otherwise I would reccommend this pub to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsleofWightttwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is a popular beach front pub with five well equipped en-suite bedrooms, four of which overlook the Solent. It is not some pretentious gastropub but one which prides itself on an extensive pub menu of well sourced and cooked ingredients served in generous helpings.
The crab sandwiches and the breakfast sausages were particularly memorable..
The owners and all their staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
As geriatrics we did find the two flights of stairs to the top floor a bit challenging but help was readily provided with the baggage. By the time we left our companions were managing without their sticks so it seems the 'work out' did them good.
We arrived during dinghy week at the nearby sailing club so the free on-road parking was fully occupied. However we were helped to park on the grass bank owned by the pub.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smallcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Firstly, online booking was very easy. I always research everywhere on Trip Advisor and the reviews were good, so we were shocked when we arrived. If we had not pre-paid I would have driven away. Parking is on the road. The luxury b and b is above a very tatty looking pub. There is no separate reception so you have to tramp through the bar where your reservation is dealt with in full view of everyone in the pub. The stairs to the accommodation are quite steep so would be a challenge for the elderly. The room itself was very nice, but a bit small, but it was clean and so was the bathroom. We couldn't get the wifi to work but since we always bring our own dongle it didn't really matter. The menu looked really nice, and I had also checked this before we booked, but we did not fancy eating in the pub, which was very full and noisy, so we went elsewhere to eat.

The bed was comfy and if you are in the front, you must get a really nice view over the sea but we only had some houses and a wooden construction in the garden. One down side was that every time someone closed the fire door, every door on the landing slammed, including our bedroom door, which was very annoying during the night.

Breakfast is in the Solent Suite which was really nice and had super views over the sea. Breakfast was good and with a good selection, you won't leave feeling hungry. Think this room is probably also used as a function room, and it was newly decorated with nice furniture.

Overall the accommodation was good but we didn't feel you can describe somewhere as luxury b and b when its above a dingy pub.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Padders37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Having made it on this earth for 85 years I decided to ask my family to come to the Island and celebrate.We hired the "upstairs" room and it was great. A first rate place to have a private function. The service by staff was excellent, they were very attentive and our thanks go to the chef for a really choice of good food, well cooked and nicely presented. The family were full of praise for the choice of venue.

I would recommend the Woodvale it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank local128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I had our wedding reception upstairs at the Woodvale and we also stayed for 3 nights in the hotel. We would like to say that everything from start to finish was the best. The food was excellent the staff were friendly and helpful, the manager Kevin was absolutely fantastic taking time to make sure everything before, on the day and after went according to plan and that there were no problems. If we could award them with more than 5 stars we would. So we would like to thank Kevin and all the staff for doing such a fantastic job of making our day the best ever.
Thank You All
Mr & Mrs Harvey
(Kevin and Sandie)

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be roomy and who needs a room with a view when you only have to go outside the d...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.6 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
1.0 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
347 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodvale

Address: 1 Princes Esplanade, Cowes PO31 8LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range: £103 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodvale 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Woodvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodvale Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing